We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - very professional staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location - very professional staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed twice for business last 2 months. Easy access to Schipol airport and city centre by train or taxi. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Recognition of Platinum loyalty members good. Very comfortable rooms, beds and bathroom very good. Club room and lounge not really worth the money as there is very little offerings there and unattended at most times.
Hotel area really quiet and there are both restaurants and some attractions in walking distance. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0ggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for sharing your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is great that you were able to benefit from our easy access to the airport and the city centre. We are also grateful for your feedback about the Clublounge as it helps us to continuously work on improving our product and guest service.

Thank you again for your positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    314
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
102
377
44
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Well
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

They have hanger labels in their rooms that say its the little things that make a big difference of which unfortunately for them I am a true believer!

This they don't deliver & is what spoiled it for us as I had taken a suite for the weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday weekend costing one thousand pounds "your see why I mention the money in a minute."

We flew out on the Friday evening so didn't get to the hotel till 8.30 pm, where we dumped our bags in the room had a quick freshen up & immediately hit the bar " ordering plenty of champagne & niblets, this along with some rather average meals, we did I might add quite heavily all weekend."

On Saturday evening we topped up our monies at the reception as we had hit over 300.00 pounds, we left a further 150.00 behind to cater for our last night, so we as anyone can understand "wanted to see out my wife's birthday on a high, so ordered more champagne, food & some final coffees."

Now why I mentioned the Monies & Remember the labels that its the little thing that make a big difference?

Having now already happily handed over 1450 euros with the crown plaza, these are the last words I wanted or expected to hear? I'm very sorry sir but you can only have one end of evening coffee not two as " WAIT FOR IT THIS WOULD TAKE YOU ""2"" EURO OVER YOUR 150" absolutely beyond any customer retention skills that I can thing of!!!

I shall now makes sure We/I spend the 70+ personal & business stays per year "not in a Crown Plaza."

PS Amsterdam is a great Country & a very beautiful place for lovely romantic walks by the waters & beautiful building with some great bars to sit & watch the world go by, will will 100% return very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms, we took a Suite very nice & very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC200612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to extensively review your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you chose our hotel to celebrate your wife’s birthday but unfortunately this experience turned out to be a disappointing experience for you. We apologise sincerely for not being able to meet your expectations.

Despite the fact that our staff members are properly trained to follow standard operating procedures, it is a fact that flexibility in certain situations is desirable and required.

In order for us to improve our service, we kindly ask for an opportunity to discuss your experience.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com. We would highly appreciate to get in contact with you.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stay here every time we are in Amsterdam, even when we are not on business. It is built for business travelers, but makes a convenient, clean and friendly base, even when on vacation. Just a few steps from Amsterdam South Station, with train, metro, tram, and bus options. A quick walk to nearby convenience stores and restaurants (most focused on local business lunch crowd). We like it.

Room Tip: I have stayed in many rooms here, they are all consistently good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback about your stay with us. It is great to know that we are your hotel of choice both for business as leisure stays.

I am happy to hear that you could easily use all the transportation facilities located around the hotel. It is a fact that the hotel is ideally located with Schiphol Airport and the city centre of Amsterdam only a short train- or tram ride away.

Thank you again for your very nice comment. We hope to welcome you again in the future when your business- or leisure trip brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is in a business district and a short walk from the Amsterdam Zuid station. If you are looking to be in the throes of the tourist action, this hotel is not for you. It does provide a quiet escape from the noise and crowds. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. Restaurants and shopping can be found in a five minute walk from the hotel. I will definitely choose this one again.

Room Tip: The train from Schipol airport is very convenient and inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your findings about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

As you mention the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is located in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development: Amsterdam Zuidas. The location is unique and nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

As the area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation there is a nice selection of facilities such as restaurants and shops available nearby the hotel. This offer is only going to be extended in the future making the area livelier.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Staff is unbelievable. Really happy to help the guests. Michael Bitiary was great at the hotel bar. Was kind enough to translate the Queen's last speech. Made sure my food was hot and my drinks were cold. Made me feel like I was visiting friends. Would recommend this hotel! close to the train station so you can get anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMICCI207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review and your complimentary words about our staff members and Michael in particular. Of course we have shared your review with him and the rest of the team.

Compliments of guests are the greatest reward for any hotel employee and the fact that you felt like being in the company of friends while staying with us is great. It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

In the business district south of Amsterdam it takes about 20 minutes by tram to get to the central tourist area. Room was spacious and well equipped. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. The gym was great, latest equipment and water/snacks available. Manhattan bar was stylish
Breakfast was the only disappointment. Adequate choice but the staff weren't helpful and anything not on the buffet took ages to come - even a cup of tea. Would recommend this hotel for the business user but not really for someone wanting the pampered feel of a holiday break.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seemed to be a little bigger but there isn't really a view to plump for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

It was great for us to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in one of our rooms and that most of the facilities you used and the service delivered by our reception staff left a positive image with you.

However it is concerning to read that you had a negative experience during breakfast due to insufficient replenishment of the items on the buffet and a disappointing service by the restaurant staff. Please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that this is not a representation of our usual breakfast experience. Your valuable feedback has been discussed within the team and actions are taken to prevent situations like these from happening again in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and that you choose to experience our breakfast once more. We will do our utmost to make it memorable in a positive manner.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
226 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a great hotel. Easy to find from Amsterdam Zuid Station, a short walk away. The front desk staff were exceptional, really helpful and friendly. Rooms very modern and comfortable, and absolutely spotless. It's really easy to get around by Metro, train or tram. We used the number 5 which is very frequent. Breakfast, which we had on Sunday was excellent, and a plate of cheese with wine the night before was also good.

Away from the crowds, but just like coming home to friends, well done everyone at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Zuid, we will return....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to read your most kind review and to notice that you rewarded us with such a high rating.

Your kind words about the front desk staff are extremely rewarding for the great service they aim to deliver every day. In addition it is great to know that you liked the lay-out and design of our rooms and that you experienced the benefits of our location.

The biggest reward of all was to read that you felt like coming home to friends when entering the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We hope that the fact that we were your temporarily home away from home will be a reason to return to Amsterdam and stay with us again soon. We look forward to welcome you back!

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Volkshotel
#43 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing