We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect room, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #23 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South more than lived up to the reviews I read before staying there. The room and bathroom were very tastefully appointed and spotlessly clean. I was impressed by the efficiency and courtesy shown by the all the staff. The evening manager Martin went beyond my expectations in helping with ordering from a Dutch language restaurant website.

Overall each and every person at the front desk was not just courteous but genuinely friendly and helpful. It was very visible that the management and staff take pride in their hotel and their work.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uzair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Martijn in particular for his assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Thank you again for your rewarding words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel gets a 10 from me. We go regulary to a hotel, but such beautiful and wonderful hotel we have rarely seen in the Netherlands. the room was pretty big and clean. The service was excellent esspecially for check-in and check-out. Breakfast with fresh juice was very good too. I find that this hotel is a 5 star instead of 4 star.
Thanks to all your staff...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. It was fantastic to learn that you would rate us with a 10 and that we stand out in comparison to similar hotels that you have visited before.

We aim to keep our rooms and facilities on the highest level and to assist our guests in making their trip a success. It’s great to read that our staff service has contributed to making your stay memorable.

Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location is exceptionally good for the Amsterdam South business area - it is right in it. I think the train from the airport took just nine minutes and this is not an "under the flightpath" hotel at all. Public transport (if you need it) into the centre is not bad at all.

Nice rooms (you pay for it). Breakfast on my rate was not included and looked overpriced, so I skipped it - not that my employer would not have paid for it, but I could not quite bring myself to eat at that rate. And the conference I was attending nearby started with a light breakfast, so I got the best of both worlds.

Slightly strange WiFi set up - free if you register for the hotel loyalty scheme, otherwise you pay. At this rate, free "reasonable use" WiFi surely?

I'd stay here again, on business. Were it pleasure, I'd probably pick a hotel in the middle canal rings, closer in, but not right in town.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked pretty well located - nothing to watch out for that caught my eye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamthatDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with the travel community on Tripadvisor.

It is great to learn that you benefited from our location and the convenient public transportation options in the direct vicinity of the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the WIFI. Should there be anything in particular that you would like to suggest please let us know by emailing info.amspc@ihg.com. We take all feedback we receive very serious as it enables us to tailor our product and service to the preferences of our guests.

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hard to fault this hotel, lovely big room, great nights sleep even with the work going on outside the building. Cost an Arm and a leg to eat and drink here but the food is good, you will need to get a cab from here should you feel the need to go into the city and cabs are not cheap 45€from airport to hotel one way and 37€ back to airport. all in all very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happygolucky621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with the travel community on Tripadvisor.

It is great to learn that you benefited from our location and the convenient public transportation options in the direct vicinity of the hotel.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast and the WIFI. Should there be anything in particular that you would like to suggest please let us know at your convenience by emailing info.amspc@ihg.com. We take all feedback we receive very serious as it enables us to tailor our product and service to the preferences of our guests.

Thank you for your review and we certainly hope to welcome you back upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited Amsterdam for a last minute weekend away using a flight + hotel package booked through Expedia. The hotel is located half way between the airport and the city center, about an 8 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. There are trains passing through this station on route to and from the airport every 10 minutes making this a very convenient location when arriving late. The tram and metro connections to the historic center and museum district are very convenient, also within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Once you are on the tram it takes about 15 minutes to get to the museum district and about 30 minutes to get to Dam Square. The hotel seemed new and the rooms were quiet, modern, clean, and nicely decorated. Beds are very comfortable! Service was friendly and efficient. Since we were celebrating our anniversary the hotel brought up a complementary bottle of sparkling wine. This was a nice surprise!
This hotel is a great choice if you want great value without sacrificing comfort. We didn't mind taking the tram back and forth. In face, we enjoyed the views from the tram (and the chance to rest our feet while getting to and fro) so the location was not a problem for us. Tip- take the room with breakfast option, particularly if staying over the weekend. There are no local eateries open on the weekend within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentTraveler1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city center of Amsterdam. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Airport and available tram and metro connections between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city center make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for a business or leisure stay. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic center.

It has been a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the design of the hotel and that you were able to enjoy a good night’s sleep.

Thank you as well for your friendly remark about the surprise that was arranged for your anniversary. As it is our passion to assist our guests in making their journey a memorable experience, we were happy to contribute in this way to your special occasion.

We are grateful that you took the time to inform us about your stay and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the southern area of Amsterdam. Close to the airport and the RAI convention center.

The hotel is very clean and has a very friendly staff. The king size bed I had gave my wife and I one of the best sleeps either of us have in a long time. The bathroom has a huge bathtub but the way the shower door is setup on the tub makes it feel weird when taking a shower.

Had the breakfast buffet for 23 euros per person. All the food was good except the scrambled eggs. They tasted a little bit like flavorless foam.

They also have a nice bar to unwind in at the end of the day. Good selection of mixed drinks to choose from. Food is also available.

It's a short walk to a main tram station and a stop. Very easy to go down town and then hop on tram 5 all the way back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shad_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

While staying away from home it can be challenging to enjoy a good night’s sleep. It was great to learn that this was not the case for you. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

Thank you as well for your feedback about the scrambled eggs. It is very valuable for us to know what exactly can be improved on our product and service. With regards to your remark about the shower I would like to inform you that we have both rooms with walk-in shower as bathtubs so upon your next stay with us please indicate at check-in which option you prefer. We are always happy to consider and grant any guest requests upon availability.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've been to Amsterdam many times in the past and I hadn't really found a good business hotel yet. Too bad I had't found this sooner! Only negative is that it is far from the city center, but I would definitley return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herewego530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is great that our facilities and service are connecting to what is important for you in a business hotel.

Our location, despite slightly remote from downtown Amsterdam, is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport and the RAI Convention Center are only a few minutes away by public transport. On walking distance of the hotel you will find station Amsterdam- Zuid with fast metro and tram connections into town.

We definitely hope to welcome you back soon and assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,019 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing