We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #20 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Small touches like the aromatherapy kit on the bed is great. Hotel has a new feel to it at the moment and a good quality finish. Very convenient for the offices nearby. Airport and city are a short trip by train from the station 5 mins away - good location!

Comfy bed, nice spec bathrooms.

Only gripe would be water saving shower head means hardly any water comes out!! Showers are important for me.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SebastianVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate it that you have taken the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As you mentioned our location in the heart of Zuidas- Amsterdam is extremely convenient for guests visiting one of the many nearby located offices. In addition Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport which enables time efficient travelling and combining business with leisure.

It is great that you were able to enjoy parts of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake up calls.

Unfortunately though we noticed that the water saver in the shower, one of our actions to be green engaged, did not appeal to you. We value your feedback and will definitely take this into consideration when reviewing our procedures.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location-wise it's in the financial district and exhibition hall, 5 min from airport and 10 min to city centre with public transport. The hotel is new, so very modern and clean. Rooms are in balance, good bed, bathroom is clean, but the shower can be better (water pressure is too low) , amenities are from Rituals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that you discovered the advantages of the location of our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas. This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

We appreciate your remark about the shower and will definitely investigate the water pressure. If you would have the opportunity to send the reservations details of your last stay to info.amspc@ihg.com we can check which room you stayed in.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect for a business trip; practical, quiet rooms with good facilities. Definitely lacking in atmosphere though. Bar meals adequate but nothing to write home about. Room was a little tired with a few cobwebs that were missed, shower could have been more powerful also. Would stay again for business but not for pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipkins2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you consider us the perfect hotel for a business trip however your review points out that we can still improve our product and service in several areas.

Room cleanliness is of vital importance and contributes to making or breaking a hotel experience. We apologize sincerely for the deficient cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured that follow up with the Housekeeping department has been done in order to prevent this from happening again.

With regards to your comments about the lacking atmosphere and the quality of the bar meals we are happy to receive your additional feedback so we can act on it. The opinions and ideas of our guest are extremely important for us as these enable us to tailor our hotel product even more to the preferences of our guests. We would be happy to hear from you at your earliest convenience at info.amspc@ihg.com. This will also enable us to investigate in which room you stayed so the shower can be checked.

Thank you again for sharing some valuable feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is very corporate looking as it is surrounded by office and business locale .
But the rooms and decor is nice not too much. Breakfast has variety of choices. There is welcome drink kept at reception for thirsty guest. Rooms are spacious and clean. 10/10

Room Tip: No tips as there no complaints from this property .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDM2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay by writing a review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be an amazing hotel and that you had a comfortable stay in one of our modern rooms.

Great as well that you mentioned the welcome drink, which is one of the hotel’s rejuvenating touches. Our fresh and healthy breakfast is another way to re-energise after a good night’s sleep.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the Amsterdam South business center (Amsterdam World Trade Center), one train stop from the airport (5€ trip, stop Amsterdam Zuid), a good business hotel. Not the best location if you come to visit Amsterdam as it is off centered.
Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about how you perceived your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was a pleasure to learn that you consider the hotel to be good for business guests and that the service left a positive impression with you.

However I noticed that our location outside the centre of Amsterdam was not entirely up to your preference. Despite the fact that we are located outside the historic centre of Amsterdam, the nearby located railway station Amsterdam- Zuid offers several public transportation options to reach downtown Amsterdam within half an hour.

Should there be any additional feedback that you would like to share with us please do not hesitate to inform us about it at your convenience by sending an e-mail to info.amspc@ihg.com. We value your opinion highly and are more than willing to evaluate our product and service and develop areas in which we have room to improve.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night for the start of our honeymoon based on reviews here. We weren't disappointed. We arrived very early on the day (about 9am) and expected to wait a few hours at least before checking in. Not only was there a room available but they upgraded us! (I had mentioned during the booking process that this was our honeymoon). This was great as we were very tired after an early flight. After a few minutes in the room there was a knock at the door and a bottle of champagne (well, sparkling wine!) was delivered, free of charge. A very nice touch and was very much appreciated. The service in general was as good as I've experienced anywhere in the world and its a shame we only had one night there. The hotel is located just around the corner from the tram/train station which is very handy for travelling into the city centre. The room was modern with a very nice bathroom. We didn't eat in the hotel except for room service, which was very nice (as room service goes!). Overall delighted with this choice of hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BHcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South as the start of a very special journey for you. It was great to read that you were happy with your choice for our hotel after having consulted the reviews.

It has been our pleasure to enable an early check-in and even more to surprise and congratulate you with your marriage.

We are happy that the location of the hotel worked well for you and that you were able to enjoy a pleasant one night stay with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the near future should your travel plans bring you to Amsterdam again.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 2 nights, and these were absolutely great!
According to me, the greatest characteristics of this hotel are:
* Excellent and professional staff, from welcome desk to restaurant and housekeeping
* Very luxurious rooms with all needed amenities. Bathroom seemed to be recently renovated
* Great quality of sleep, with complimentary products for welness
* Great recognition for Priority Club Rewards members

If I could suggest one area for improvement, I would advise reducing the price of the parking. €40/night seems a bit high.

Overall, I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future when I return to Amsterdam, and I would strongly recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam to my friends and colleagues!

Thibault O.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thibault O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your stay with us. It is fantastic to learn that you had a great stay and that you pointed out some areas in which we excel in your opinion.

We also value and understand your remark about the high price of the parking facilities. The municipal parking garage nearby the hotel indeed charges high amounts, which is unfortunately an inevitable downside of travelling to- and in Amsterdam by car. But luckily the prices in the area around the hotel are of a more moderate level and public transportation options in the surrounding of the hotel are arranged very well.

We are extremely pleased that, despite this drawback, your overall experience was worth recommending us and might be a reason to return to us in the future. We sincerely hope to welcome you as our guest in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South again.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,963 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,282 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,043 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
413 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing