We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel located at walking distance from RAI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Katy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel located at walking distance from RAI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Yes walking distance, you will have to walk about 20 minutes but I considered it as my daily excercise, i did not have time to visit the hotel Gym.
the food at the restaurant was very nice, the drinks and food at the bar were both very good.
very nice furnished and large rooms, modern building, extremely clean. the staff was very helpfull. ther is parking underground, TV cable (this is the only thing that sucks)
the shower is tricky, you will notice that.

Room Tip: any room is good, i stayer on the 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minicooper5Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South worked well for you considering the fact that you were visiting the RAI Convention Centre. Due to our location in the heart of the Amsterdam Zuidas, we welcome many guests that are visiting one of the nearby offices or the RAI.

Great that you liked the style of the room and the building itself and that you were able to enjoy a selection of our food and beverage offer in the restaurant and bar. Thank you as well for your feedback about the use of the shower. As you probably experienced all in-room phones have an “instant service” button which will instantly connect you to an employee who can assist you with all your questions and requests.

We regret to read that the television was not functioning properly. In order for us to check what did not work it would be great if you could provide us with some more details by emailing info.amspc@ihg.com at your convenience.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    282
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
320
37
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wife and I were back in Amsterdam for an afternoon and evening prior to catching a flight back to the US. This hotel was conventient to airport, but was 10K points less "expensive" than the downtown one or another IHG property near the airport. First impression was that it was a bear to find- following my Garmin GPS-, but once we got there it was great!! (I think some recent construction in the area has some roads re-worked since my maps were updated.)

Even though I was staying "free" on Priority Club points, they upgraded us to a premium room instead of the standard one I'd reserved. The concierge was very helpful to us in figuring out the train schedule from the adjacent station to the airport.

Parking a car would have been expensive at the garage in the building next door, so be mindful of that charge if you are driving. The resturant was surprisingly good at dinner, and also had a nice (but expensive-by USA standards) spread out for breakfast in the morning. Hot and cold food was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Plaza level", 2 floor, are considered premium, but were very comfortable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wag55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Fortunately your first impression of the hotel was good despite the fact that you did not find the location easily. As the Zuidas area is developing rapidly there is indeed a lot of construction going on that might cause trouble with navigation systems.

It has been a pleasure to upgrade you, being a highly valued Priority Club member. We are happy that you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay in the room. Great as well to learn that the food and beverage selection of the restaurant was appreciated by you.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with the travel community and we hope to welcome you back again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid-November 2012 at the end of our trip to Europe. As, by then, we were quite worn-out, we really appreciated the modern amenities and great service at this hotel. Close to the tram into Central Amsterdam, we found the hotel accessible enough and a great value compared to hotels in the city center. The room was very clean and had everything we could hope for, including a very nice restaurant/bar. The service was top-notch and we appreciated that the items in the room's minibar were actually AFFORDABLE, something we have never experienced at other hotels. The front desk staff were very helpful, particularly in helping to arrange our cab to the airport at 4:30 am. If you are looking for a quaint local establishment, look elsewhere. However, if you want a modern full-featured hotel that is an unbelievable value, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you selected the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to conclude your trip through Europe.

Moreover it was fantastic that you appreciated the hotel’s facilities and that the location with nearby public transportation options worked well for you.

Your comment about the staff service is highly appreciated as well and a compliment for the entire team. At Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South we always aim to assist our guests in everything they require to make their journey a success so to receive a confirmation that we succeeded at this is great.

Thank you again for your positive words about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South; we absolutely hope to be your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend city break. An excellent choice, free parking over the weekend, close to tram line and just a 20 minute minute trip inot the city centre and a lovely room.
The hotel staff were very helpful, the hotel new, very clean and so quiet at night, slept like a log!
Would certainly use it as a base to visit Amsterdam again. Excelllent value for money at the weekend as mainly a business hotel during the week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your leisure break in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was a pleasure to read that you discovered the advantages of our location outside the busy centre of Amsterdam such as free parking in the weekend in the surrounding neighbourhood and the chance to enjoy a rejuvenating night’s sleep. As you mentioned, the city centre, with its excitement and cultural offer, is only a short tram ride away.

Great as well that our staff members and the hotel in general left such a good impression with you. We certainly hope that we may welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel has all you need that at high quality. Not luxury but very good. Fast reception, very clean and well equipped rooms which even offer windows to open. The gym is a bit small but has all you need. So, when you do business travel and need to stay in that area it is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UHen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that the service and facilities of the hotel were corresponding with your travelling needs. As it is our goal to offer our guests the option to combine a productive trip with moments to re-energise, we have added some items to the hotel gym in order to allow our guests to do an even more complete work-out.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back as our guest upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a business hotel, this one is outstanding. The hotel is new and modern. The rooms are a nice size for a European hotel and very nicely appointed with excellent, large desk, very comfortable, plush bedding and a modern, large bathroom. The door to the room is extra thick, which in part explains why I could hear no noise from the hallway or neighbors. The room lighting is first class, and the design and decor of the room as nice as most any business hotel I have seen in many travels. The staff is determined to please and the restaurant efficient with good food and friendly service. The lobby bar is a very attractive place with excellent selection of whiskeys and a friendly, efficient bar tender. Unfortunately the hotel is a bit far from Amsterdam city center, but if you are doing business in this area of town, this hotel is certain to please you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBSTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. The title of your review was an absolute honour as well as the fact that you qualified Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South as an outstanding business hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that the room lay- out, design and facilities appealed to you and allowed you to enjoy a comfortable and quiet stay in your room. Great as well that you were able to enjoy a selection of our food and beverage offer.

At Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South all staff members aim to assist our guests in making their trip a success by combining the best facilities with great service. It is fantastic that you observed this spirit.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

located in an office area which is not so fun and yet has a nice location with good transportation to all main attractions.
you need to plan your day because it is quite far from the center (about 20 min) and yet the very high standard of service the team leaded by very lovely managers on board made our stay great!

Room Tip: plan your days before you leave the hotel! allways take an umbrella when you stey that far from cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvikagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

As you mentioned the hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Centre are only minutes away. As development of the area continues I hope the neighbourhood will tailor more to your needs in the future.

To read that despite these drawbacks the high level of service of staff and management made your stay worthwhile is a great compliment. Please be informed these words were received with great pleasure by our management and staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing