We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great choice for a trip to amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a great choice for a trip to amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

located in an office area which is not so fun and yet has a nice location with good transportation to all main attractions.
you need to plan your day because it is quite far from the center (about 20 min) and yet the very high standard of service the team leaded by very lovely managers on board made our stay great!

Room Tip: plan your days before you leave the hotel! allways take an umbrella when you stey that far from cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zvikagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

As you mentioned the hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Centre are only minutes away. As development of the area continues I hope the neighbourhood will tailor more to your needs in the future.

To read that despite these drawbacks the high level of service of staff and management made your stay worthwhile is a great compliment. Please be informed these words were received with great pleasure by our management and staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    282
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
319
37
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With a limited choice on the Zuidas of Amsterdam between the "sleeping factories" of Holiday Inn and Novotel, the Crowne Plaza, next to Amsterdam Zuid station is a welcome addition. A good and comfortable business hotel with clean well designed rooms. The only thing that is disappointing is the breakfast offering.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DutchLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

I am very happy to read that you consider us a welcome alternative to the other hotels in the vicinity.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the breakfast. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused. Should you be willing to share any recommendations regarding the breakfast with us, please send them to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy to consider your suggestions and would appreciate to receive them.

We very much hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review and feedback.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Crowne Plaza South is a fantastic hotel - we stopped here for 2 nights with 3 children. On arrival the service was exceptional. Charlotte and Henrick the reception staff are brilliant. They advise perfectly about sight seeing/ trams etc. The rooms were exactly as requested when booking - interconnecting with an extra bed. The beds are fantastically comfortable. The hotel is very well located, nearby to several trams stops and only 15 mins to to centre of Amsterdam. The parking can be expensive at the hotel but one of the top tips is that parking on the road is free at weekends. On leaving, Henrick even looked into our travel route to advise of any issues. Fantastic hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. It is great to hear that your family and you had such a great stay with us. And thank you for giving us your recommendations.

It always pleases me to read that some of the staff have made such an impression that they are remembered by name. I have made sure your kind words were immediately shared with them and the rest of the staff.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I attended an international conference at this hotel recently and was very impressed with this hotel and its staff. From Schiphol Airport, the hotel is only one-stop away via the train, then a short three-block walk to the hotel. It is located in a cluster of high-rise modern office buildings, so the sidewalks are wide and smooth (easy to roll your suitcase). The staff was very helpful, with immediate, personal attention to make sure my computer could successfully connect to their free Internet connection--important but rare excellence on this point!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the central atrium are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and informing us about your stay with us in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were extremely exited to read that you experienced immediate and personal attention from our staff. This will contributed to a positive and memorable image of our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

New hotel in a suburb but with very easy links from the airport and into the centre of Amsterdam. The train from the airport is only one stop. Trams and metro into the centre are very frequent and take about 20 minutes.
There are a few restaurants nearby but I would venture into town for a better selection.

The customer service in the hotel is excellent. I couldn't fault them.
The bar is reasonably priced with a good selection.
Breakfast is overpriced at €22.50 and there isn't a great selection.
Rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable with everything you would expect from a Crowne Plaza. My room was on the 10th floor and was very quiet.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for those who don't mind being away from the hassle and bustle of Amsterdam central.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and informing us about your stay with us in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff members were able to assist you at your satisfaction.

However it was concerning for us to learn that you were not impressed by our breakfast selection. As we take our guests impression very serious, we would appreciate to receive your specific feedback. Kindly inform our Food & Beverage Manager through info.amspc@ihg.com about your observations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had to spend a night in Amsterdam and decided last minute to use my Priority Club points in order to book an hotel.
It was short but perfect. I immediately got an upgrade and a room on the last floor. Also got a complementary drink, as well as internet, thanks to my status on the PC program. Personnel was VERY friendly and smiling.
Room was very nice, bathroom also, and above all very clean.
I travel a lot and see a many hotels, but I had to write something positive about this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steevekow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your experience with us on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful we were still able to surprise an experienced traveller as yourself with our service and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We are grateful for giving us the opportunity to show our appreciation for your loyalty. As a Platinum member of the Priority Club you are our most important guest and it is great to read the provided benefits receive are approved of

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I always say the service can always cover up lots of negativities and if everything is wonderful than it can be a cherry on top. The moment I arrived and till I checked out I can't pick on anything sighh lol. Just the small lil things and their patience with me made it all the more pleasant. My room was beautiful and had evrything in it. Breakfast had both hot and cold food also the chef at the counter was wonderful. Was a superb stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will refer your kind words to our breakfast chef; he will be delighted to receive your feedback.

I am also happy to hear our service was the “cherry on top” of your experience rather then a cover up.

Hoping to welcome you back in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#35 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing