We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Modern and comfortable business hotel; a 20- minute tram ride away from the city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable business hotel; a 20- minute tram ride away from the city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Crowne Plaza Zuid is an excellent value for money if you consider what hovels you get in the centre for the same rate. Check-in was painless and efficient with very friendly staff, the room and bathroom we spotless. Everything from a minibar to toiletries, ironing board or bath robes can be found in the room. There is a good choice of TV channels as well, if you prefer to stay in at night.
The property is close to the A-10 dual carriage way, so getting there by car is easy. Parking not necessarly, as the hotel charges a whopping €43 per day. On weekends the situation is a bit more relaxed to find free parking as all the office buildings nearby are deserted. There is also an appartment block just south of the hotel, we we parked our car at nil cost.
For getting around you can purchase tram and metro tickets at Amsterdam Zuid station (€7 for 24 hours), which is just a three- minute walk away. The city centre can be reached by tram, metro or bus, which all run regularly.
I can thoroughly recommend staying at Crowne Plaza South, it will definitely be my fisrt choice on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All room windows seemd to be sound- proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We thank you sincerely for reviewing your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to see that you were content with the price – quality level that we offer and that the staff service and facilities were also at your satisfaction.

Great as well that you discovered the alternative parking possibilities. The municipal parking garage near the hotel indeed charges high amounts, which is unfortunately an inevitable downside of staying in Amsterdam with a car. But luckily the prices in the area around the hotel are of a more moderate level and public transport is arranged very well.

Thank you for recommending us to other travellers and we look forward to your return visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    303
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
98
367
41
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is very new and the service is great. Drinks from the Manhattan bar are very reasonable.

Very much a boutique hotel with excellent interior and received a room on the 6th floor which was nice

From the airport the train to Zuid takes 8 minutes and cost only €3.

Only slight downside was that I did there was no Platinum elite recognition.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to read in your Tripadvsiro review that you enjoyed staying in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Thank you for being so positive about our interior. It has obviously been selected with care but we highly appreciate it that our guests also confirm this.

Regrettably you were not content about the recognition that you received being a Platinum member. As we value all our members highly we kindly ask you to send your details to info.amspc@ihg.com at your earliest convenience, so we can investigate if there is any discrepancy in our system relating your membership. We would highly appreciate it to get in contact with you.

We are grateful that you will recommend us and we definitely hope to be your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam again.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all, even though it's location is not a central one, the transport links are great, having Station Zuid (serves tram, tube, bus) 5 min away, so a 10-15 min tram ride took me to the heart of the city. Hotel is new(1-2yrs), modern and chic, Staff went the extra mile, no matter what i asked them, all with a big smile on their face. From the simple coffee in the morning to paying with a different currency and 2 credit cards at check-out.....i tried their patience and politeness in all the ways, and they did not dissapoint, especially the front office people. Food wise, i only had breakfast, where they have a good selection of hot and cold food, plus a chef station(great guy...great omlettes)...so it was def worth it. Come to think about it, i honestly cannot find anything bad or average to say about this hotel. Looking forward to my next trip there and those heavenly beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deckter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Reviews of our guests are a great motivation for the entire team to continue to aim higher and work better together.

It was truly rewarding to learn what positive image the staff members left behind. It is our goal and passion to assist our guests in making their trip memorable and successful.

Great as well that you enjoyed the breakfast. A healthy breakfast is the perfect start of an active day. For the perfect end to your day, our Sleep Advantage programme with Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy, may be a good help.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice when you return to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

New and modern hotel in an upcoming business district of Amsterdam. I very much enjoyed my stay here. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the food as it wasn't very good but the hotel is located near a train station and there's plenty of restaurants around it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and informing us about your stay with us in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff members were able to assist you at your satisfaction.

However it was concerning for us to learn that you were not impressed by the food we served you. As we take our guests impression very serious, we would appreciate to receive your specific feedback. Kindly inform our Food & Beverage Manager through info.amspc@ihg.com about your observations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff where superb, very helpful and I would Definitely recommend it to anyone. Great location for all tourists and definitely worth the money, would book again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mckiea77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your brief yet very positive review on Tripadvisor.

Your complimentary words about our staff are highly appreciated and we are very happy that you consider us one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in. Being recommended is the best advertisement a hotel can get and it only stimulates us to continue to focus on maintaining and improving our product and service.

We sincerely hope to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks in Europe, and this hotel was my favorite from our entire trip. The rooms are laid out well, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and they provided great customer service. It would have been nice to be closer to Amsterdam in some ways, but on the other hand this hotel would have been a lot more expensive. It is located right by a train station, and it took maybe 10 minutes to get into the city. It provided a nice quiet oasis for us. Plus, all day train tickets are very affordable (I think only 6 Euro) so we often came back to our room to rest.

I especially appreciated the infused water in the lobby. I'd fill up my water bottle with the mint water and it was a nice treat all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMS0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to read your Tripadvisor review in which you mention our hotel to be the favourite one you stayed in during your trip to Europe. It is a compliment to know that our customer service contributed to that.

Great as well to read that you positively experienced our quiet location outside the busy city centre, also thanks to the very efficient public transport options that are situated close by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South when you visit Amsterdam again and thank you again for your kind words.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located if you need to go to Amsterdam by car (right off the highway).
Connection by public transport (tram, Metro) to the city center is quick and easy, you have to walk for 5-10 minutes to the nearest stop.
The hotel is located in a very trendy business area, the buildings there are quite interesting to look at, not your average office buildings.
The hotel itself was surprisingly design and trendy with an interesting architecture, I had expected it to be more of an average business hotel. The rooms are pleasantly decorated in modern design but still have a cosy feel, definitely very nice room to stay in. The (standard) rooms are rather spacious and absolutely calm. Personally I liked the little extras you get for free, I loved the pillow spray and fragrant roller pen for better sleep, nice idea! Staff was friendly. The only minus points are the overpriced breakfast (20€) and overnight parking fee (around 40€, probably this is normal in Amsterdam?), the room price we paid for a double room was very reasonable (120€).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistache1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel – we are happy that you found the time to share your experiences with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the area around it. Did you know that it is possible to experience the “Zuidas” and its daring architecture during an architecture walk?

Great as well that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities. As a hotel should ideally be your home away from home it is important for us to know that you felt comfortable staying in one of our rooms.

Thank you as well for your feedback about the parking and the breakfast. Due to the high traffic pressure in Amsterdam, the prices of the public parking spaces are kept very high. Please be aware that there are options around the hotel where parking is possible against a lower rate.

Regarding the breakfast I can inform you that we offer the possibility to enjoy a smaller and therefore less expensive breakfast in the bar of the hotel as of 8 am. You might consider this upon your next stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing