We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really really really good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really really really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. After staying at some really terrible hotels in Europe i've decided to stick with the chains and this one certainly didn't disappoint.

The hotel is in an extremely calm and quiet area of Amsterdam and is a 2 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid railway station. There are direct trains from here to Schiphol Airport and the Metro 51 also goes from here into Centraal Station! You can also catch the tram 5 into the city from just behind the station. It is dead easy to travel from this hotel so don't let the location put you off!

The room was spotless and extremely modern. I loved the decor.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The staff on reception would always say hello when we arrived back at the hotel in the evening. Even the cleaning staff greeted us as we walked past them on our floor.

I also ordered room service on the first night of the stay. It was after 11pm so I did not have the option of the full menu. The selection on the 24 hour menu was still very good.

I chose the Manhattan Burger and it was very tasty and the fries were lovely. I would definitely stay at a Crowne Plaza hotel again. Top marks!

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It especially pleases us that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza chain. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South we always aim to maintain the highest standards and to deliver a professional and personalised service. Therefore it is great to receive feedback of our guests, endorsing that we are successful in that.

Great as well that you had the chance to enjoy our food & beverage offer. The menus are composed with care and any suggestions or feedback we receive is appreciated highly and taken at heart.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you once more for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    300
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
89
352
40
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is a little way from the centre, but there is a tram just a 2 minute walk from the hotel, which stops right in the centre!! This also means being able to see alot more of Amsterdam that you wouldn't usually see staying right in the centre. The hotel staff were wonderful, very polite and even let us check in early as our room was ready, a very much appreciated bonus! The hotel is located by station Zuid (south station) which is quicker to get to from the Schipol airport than it takes to get to centraal station from the airport, very handy for catching flights!! The room was lovely and spacious, very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable i think i have ever stayed in!! Would definately recommend this hotel to any kind of guest, the staff were more than accommodating and would quite happily explain directions to different places we wanted to visit!! I would thoroughly suggest you book without hesitation, the area is lovely and peaceful so you get a good nights sleep!! Will definately return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure and honor for us to read that you would recommend us and are planning to stay with us again.

It was wonderful as well to read your comments about our staff. All staff members strive to assist our guests to make their stay a success and therefore it has been a pleasure to grant you an early check-in.

Great as well that you had a good night’s sleep in one of our carefully designed rooms. Perhaps you are aware that Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor in order to design the Sleep Advantage program. This program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. On http://www.crowneplaza.hotelsathome.com/ you can read everything about it and even order items to use at home.

Thank you again for your positive review and we hope to see you back soon.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is near the main line into Amsterdam, But in such a peaceful and quiet location. The rooms were beautifully appointed, and the bathrooms a dream. Just 5 minutes walk from the station and tram, with a remarkably quick service into the city centre by tram, and also a speedy service to Schipol Airport. Don't waste your money on a taxi from the Airport - just purchase a ticket to Amsterdam Zuid as Taxi's are quite expensive. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and pleasant and all spoke English to us. This place is a haven after a busy day in the City Centre. We just loved it. " Grandparents staying with granddaughters aged 13 + 16.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing the good experiences you had while staying in our hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your granddaughters loved the time you spent with us.

As you mentioned our location is indeed very conveniently situated in order to reach both Schiphol Airport as the city centre of Amsterdam within a short amount of time. The quietness and presence of several parks close by the hotel make it the perfect place to relax after a day of excitement and to make plans for a new day of exploring the city.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you back in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South if you will visit Amsterdam again.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were really concerned about our stay here as read that it was too far out from the city centre .. How very wrong. First train stop from airport and fantastic tram and metro links meant that it was really easy and convenient. maybe even easier than walking to a city centre hotel!! We even worked out that there was a night bus that will drop you a few blocks away although we never needed it as we were quite happy to come home by midnight most nights as this city tires you out... So much to see and do!! Hotel is fantastic should be 5 star. Had some fantastic sleeps in a huge and comfortable bed. We had a fantastic deal and were more than pleased and would use this hotel again without a shadow of doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy_kate_0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you overcame your initial reservation about our location and decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. Amsterdam has indeed an extensive public transportation and is very compact compared to other European Cities.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it especially pleases us that we were able to provide an oasis of rest and comfort after your explorations of the city. Our Sleep Advantage Program exactly aims to achieve that goal. After all, providing comfortable sleep is our core business.

Again, thank you very much for your review and I hope to welcome back in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
148 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent location, good breakfast.

The beds are superb, you are 2 minutes walking away from a train station, which allows you to take a high speed train to a variety of locations, or the metro to go to Amsterdam.

6 minutes by train from the airport.

A definite repeat.

On a side note, had a deposit taken off my card, and told it's a simple authorization - it was an actual charge. Almost a week since I asked for a refund, still haven't seen anything (and I'm a Priority Club member, so this is somewhat annoying). Still, will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor and for expressing your positive opinion about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the very near future.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the credit card authorization. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused.

In order for us to investigate your case and improve our service, we kindly ask for an opportunity to assist you in solving this matter.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com or call the hotel front desk between office hours on +31(20)5043666 and ask for the finance department.

We would highly appreciate it to get in contact with you and assist you in this matter.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a hotel! Will give you a short description:

1. Location: easy access to/from Amsterdam South Station (trains and metro are available).Water, mint and lemon wait for all the thursty guests in the lobby.
2. Staff: smiling, helpful and absolutely professional.
3. Rooms: clean with fresh frangrance. Addings: a spray with relaxing scent that you can spread on your pillow just before you go to bed to sleep.
4. Bathroom: big, clean.

You can't hear anything from the outside so you relax and sleep time is effective.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate feedback from our guest and we feel flattered when someone takes the time to write down the experience of their stay in our hotel.

It especially delights me to see you appreciate the service experience and that you qualify our staff as helpful, professional and smiling. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South we always aim to provide personalised and professional service to our guests. I will certainly refer your compliments to our staff.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Brand new hotel in the south of Amsterdam with an excellent location near the metro, train, tram and buses. Just 6 minutes and one stop from the airport, the hotel is located is in the new financial district where the new World Trade Center is built with a variety of cafes,and restaurants nearby. We arrived in the morning and did not find any problems checking in early. The front desk was lovely decorated with a stack of old suitcases, the staff was wonderful, extremely attentive and provided an outstanding service. The room was very comfy, excellent lightning options, very clean and soft bedding, many pillows and a lot of storage. Breakfast which was included, was very delicious with an egg station, fruits, pastries, many variety of cheese (of course you are in Holland), and some hot dishes. there an excellent gym with new equipments; they will have you sign a waiver though, in case something happened to you. Once it is signed they provided an energy drink and a protein bar, thing I found unique to this hotel. Overall if you are looking for a modern hotel in a quiet area away from the hassle and bustle of downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. By the way central station is only 15 min metro ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor for a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We were pleased to read your compliments about the interior of the hotel and the decoration of the room. Your kind words about the staff have been shared and were appreciated a lot.

Thank you also for positively mentioning our fitness package. As rejuvenation is an important theme within Crowne Plaza hotels, we are always searching for innovative ways to help our guests to regain energy and rejuvenate.

We sincerely hope to be your hotel of choice again if your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing