We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous hotel, amazing staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, amazing staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at this new hotel in June 2012 for a girls weekend away. Hotel is very new and fresh feeling, with all the reception area very clean and modern. The rooms are fabulous... spacious and stylish with fantastic rainforest showers!
The service was second to none, with a very warm, helpful welcome from reception staff. They also went above and beyond with helping us when a taxi driver tried to rip us off, and sorted the whole situation out. There are slippers and bathrobes in all rooms, and the mini bar is very reasonable also.
The only downside was the location, slightly too far from the centre for a city break. However we got the hotel for an unbelievable price on lastminute.com (£390 for 5 people for 2nights!!) and so didnt mind spending an extra bit of cash on taxis etc. I would definately recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your recent stay in Amsterdam and for sharing your experience through a Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to read that the style and decoration of our product and facilities appealed to you. Moreover we are happy that you experienced a seamless and hospitable service delivered by our staff.

It is a pity that our slightly remote location did not work so well for you despite the presence of the nearby located Amsterdam- Zuid station with its public transport options to downtown Amsterdam.

Thank you as well for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    304
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
98
367
41
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

New Crowne Plaza hotel in Amsterdam´s business district. It´s easy to reach downtown Amsterdam by public transport. The lobby, bar and restaurant are very stylish and all the staff I met during my stay were very friendly and greeted me everywhere.
The room was cosy, clean and comfortable. There was no noise from outside or from the corridor outside. I slept very well and would highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very rewarding to read that you liked the style of the hotel and that you had a good night’s sleep in one of our comfortable rooms. All Crowne Plaza hotels offer the Sleep Advantage programme which includes: upgraded bedding for a great night’s sleep, a range of complimentary extras including aromatherapy products to improve your sleep experience, dedicated quiet zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

But more important than offering a new and well equipped product we are happy that our staff made a good impression by assisting and acknowledging you in a memorable way.

Thank you as well for recommending us to other travellers. We certainly hope to be your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great addition to the Crowne Plaza family and I will give this Hotel my greatest recomendations. Stayed here for one night before a weekend in Amsterdam, due to all hotels in the city were full. Got upgraded to a jr suite as a Priority Club Platinum member, free internet and a lovely chocolate bar in my room. Had dinner in the bar and food was excellent...service great and a lovely atmosphere and menu priced very well! Was concerned about the location, but its 10 min from the airport and another 10 into the city centre with metro and train station 2 min walk from the hotel.To be honest it would have been easier staying here all weekend as the hotel we had in the city was a good 15 min walk...and not as great as this one...the only thing i would comment on was breakfast, as i came down 40 min before closing it seemed like they didnt top up any of the food, but all the plusses takes out the tiniest minus. I will defiantly be staying here on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guest Relation M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South with us.

Being a Priority Club member and loyal Crowne Plaza guest, enables you to compare the various Crowne Plaza hotels in a critical manner and recommending us with so many positive words is therefore very gratifying to us. We are very pleased that both our product as service were at your satisfaction.

Thank you also for your comment about the breakfast. It is our commitment to offer all of our guests a fully equipped breakfast buffet at any time during the opening hours of the breakfast. We sincerely apologize for not meeting this standard during your last visit. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to improve this point.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is located in the "financial district" of Amsterdam. If you are sightseeing and visiting the city for a few days and looking to be in amongst the hustle and bustle of the city centre... it is probably not the hotel for you. However, having said that... it is quick and easy to get into central Amsterdam using theTram (literally a 5 min walk from the hotel). Zuid train station is also located 2 min walk from the hotel!

We went over the weekend- it was quiet, we got a ridiculously good rate and the fact that it wasn't near the hustle and bustle worked for us!

The hotel itself was impeccable. Clean, modern, all the mod cons and of a very high standard.
Staff were welcoming, friendly and professional (you can tell they deal with "suits" all week).

All in all a great hotel... highly recommended we will definitely book again if going back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudandade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased to read that your experience with our hotel was positive.

Your comments regarding our friendly and professional staff and the reasonable price are highly appreciated. It was especially great to read that our quiet location in the business district worked so well for you.

As you mentioned our quiet location outside the city centre has definitely its advantages for leisure guests, being only a short distance away from the train station Amsterdam- Zuid with transportation options to reach Schiphol Airport within 10 minutes and the city centre of Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

Thank you again for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam has opened relatively recently and has a bright, modern feel to it from the moment you enter the lobby to the public areas and in the rooms as well.

It is located close to Amsterdam Zuid station which is one train stop from Schipol Airport. The train ticket from the airport is 2.5 euros. It is also close to the ring road so easy to access by car. There is an underground car park, which also makes it easy for those driving.

Whilst it has a bar and restaurant there are also a number of restaurants close by to the station, so there is a good range of places to eat at reasonable prices.

Amsterdam Zuid does not fit the image that most tourists have of Amsterdam. It is a modern, business district. That said the price of the hotel is considerably cheaper than those in Central Amsterdam and it is a short metro ride away from the centre, so for those looking for a lower cost way of staying in Amsterdam then this is a good option.

The bedroom I stayed in on the fifth floor was a good size, had good lighting and had a bathroom with a combined bath/shower where the bath was actually big enough to bathe in (unlike many hotel where the bath is notional).

There were a number of nice touches in the bedroom. On entering the bathrobe and slippers were presented on the bed in a welcoming way. There is an emphasis on having a good night's sleep, so not only do they not allow room cleaning to take place during hours when you could be sleeping (up to 10am for those wanting a lie-in), they also guarantee that if your wake-up call is not made within five minutes of the time you requested then they will pay for your night's stay. The wake up call is also not done by a machine but by a real person. They also provide two types of aromatherapy to help you have a good night's sleep - one for the pillow and one for the wrists. This is a nice touch given the importance of a good night's sleep particularly for business people.

The bed was comfortable and the room temperature was excellent.

Breakfast is served in a bright and airy restaurant. This is a very much a continental breakfast in that there is not cooked breakfast available, but there is a good range of yoghurt, cereal, pastries and cheese.

For a business trip or a lower cost city break then this is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive and extensive review regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South, covering all facets of the hotel and promoting its environment. We are confident that potential guests will benefit from the information that you have shared with them through Tripadvisor.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed a good night’s sleep at our hotel. Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr. Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. We are happy that you were able to enjoy this and the other features of the room.

Regarding your feedback about the breakfast, we would like to bring to your attention that besides for the items you already mentioned, we do offer cooked items at our American breakfast buffet at one o one restaurant. We are more than happy to show them to you during your next stay.

Thank you again for expressing your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

It is a truly great hotel (but beware: it's pricy!). The location is great even for tourist (close to the metro and tram 5 and one station away from Schiphol). But I would say the most of the guests are businessmen, because the proximity to Amsterdam Zuid business district and Amsterdam RAI exhibition grounds.

The rooms are big and modern, the hotel and surroundings are clean, the breakfast is very good. And there is an impressive atrium :)

Oh yes - the staff. I wish all hotels would have staff like there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. We are delighted to read that you overall considered our hotel to be “Superb”.

Even though it seems as if the Amsterdam- Zuid area is dominated by businessmen, our location outside the busy city centre combined with the many public transportation options nearby, are definitely a reason why the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is attracting guests for a leisure stay in Amsterdam as well.

It is fantastic to read that our staff made such a good impression and we are proud that they add so much value to our product.

Again we greatly appreciate your review and sincerely hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. The area is fairly nice, but there is not a lot happening. There are a number of small shops/kiosks at the Zuid station where you can grab a bite to eat. It is not far to the RAI conference centre: you could walk (~30 minutes) or shorten the trip by catching the train or metro one station.

The hotel itself is very nicely set up and the service very good. My room was quiet and the curtains could make the room more or less dark, even at day time. Breakfast was extra (17.50€) and was, for the most part, good quality. A couple of negatives at breakfast: i steered away from the scrambled eggs because it was the kind made out of some kind of egg powder mixed with whatever kind of fluid they mix it with and then headed up for it to congeal. In any case, you can taste the difference between "real" scrambled eggs and the fake stuff. But.. not a biggy.

The hotel had a small fitness studio, which was nice. The sparkling water in the fridge of the fitness studio was a nice touch.

Only main downside here: the staff don't seem to understand the phrase "do not disturb". I had it hanging on my door, but nonetheless they knocked, and when I didn't answer, tried to come into the room. After the first day I put the door-lock thingy on so they got the message.

Another amusing thing: when there was a fire drill, the mostly polish cleaning staff - who didn't speak any of the languages the evacuation order was given in (dutch, french, spanish, english, german) - kept on merilly cleaning whilst sirens were blaring! Maybe that is why hotel staff try to enter the room despite the "do not disturb" sign: maybe they don't understand it.

Joining up in their awards program meant that I had free internet and a free newspaper every morning.

Overall: if you're work is paying for it, this hotel is definitely a good place to be. If you are paying your own way, the 217.50€ per night including breakfast (and that was a "reduced rate") is a little steep. You may be able to get better value elsewhere, though your hotel and its district probably won't look like a mini-version of Manhattan. I'd recommend the hotel to a friend though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babelfish111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing such an elaborate review regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. As much as we appreciate positive feedback of our guests, we definitely also value you for pointing out areas in which we still have room for improvement.

As you mentioned the hotel is located in the southern business district of Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices or the RAI Convention Center. During the week it therefore is a very lively area with many nice places to have lunch or a drink after work. The nearby located “Gelderlandplein” offers a wide selection of shops and should you prefer the many entertainment options of downtown Amsterdam, the tram will bring you there within 20 minutes from railway station Amsterdam- Zuid.

We are happy that you are positive about the hotel and service but did notice your remark regarding the eggs at breakfast. You correctly mentioned that we do not use fresh eggs for the scrambled eggs on our buffet. We do use a high quality liquid egg product, which is made from fresh eggs and is treated with a pasteurisation process to eliminate the salmonella virus and to ensure the wellbeing of our guests. We do offer a large variety of eggs that are freshly prepared upon your preference at our egg-station.

Your remark regarding the ignoring of the “do not disturb sign” has been discussed with all relevant staff members to ensure that our guests can enjoy the rest they need. May I point out that we have a quiet zone available for our guests that require a room in a silent area; this can be requested upon check-in.

Also the observations regarding the reaction of the Housekeeping staff on the fire alarm are taken very seriously as we aim for our staff to project a professional image and to be aware of the procedures in case of emergency.

Thank you for becoming a Priority Club Rewards member. As a member you are eligible for many exclusive offers so please consult the website www.priorityclub.com for more detailed information.

We appreciate you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and hope to see you back soon in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing