We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Ranked #17 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Quintanar de la Orden, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We have been staying with our son, and experience has been wonderful. The hotel staff warm, friendly and very professional. Being new site, you premiering all things. Transport very fast, it takes about 15 minutes to reach the center. The restaurant service of hihg quality and good prices. In short, celebrating our silver wedding had a good climax. From Toledo (Spain) I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javiercarrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSPC, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay in our hotel. It was a pleasure to read your positive words and the fact that you consider our hotel staff warm, friendly and very professional has motivated the entire team to continue to deliver the best possible service and hospitality.

We are very proud that you chose our hotel to celebrate your silver wedding and we very much look forward to having the pleasure to accommodate you and your family again during your next stay in Amsterdam.

In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    285
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
84
331
38
336
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during a work meeting. The hotel was opened only few days before so somethings was not ready or, I'll say "not yet available", like the breakfast selection was improving from day to day. It is located near the WTC just at walking distance. I found the hotel room very comfortable, modern and clean. The shower is in the bath, protected by a glass window, the furniture are really good. Minibar selection was quite good, but a bit expensive. The general looknof hehotel is reaaly nice, in front of a small water channel filled with birds... People at the reception were nice . i found this experience a good discovery. I'll come back for sure, next time I'll come in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfalcon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSPC, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are delighted to read you had a good stay at our hotel.

Due to the recent opening the hotel is improving each day, especially the breakfast menu is something that is evolving each day. Each day we are delighted to receive suggestions from our guests on how we could improve their breakfast time.

We are pleased to read that you find the rooms very comfortable as one of the hotel’s main goals is of course to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome.

We are flattered to read that you would come back for sure next time you will come to Amsterdam to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments to the entire team.

Again thank you very much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A very good experience at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, and, if you are a customer of Crowne Plaza, you will get the same taste.
My feeling was that, being opened (officially) from days when I checked in, a few things had to be tuned.
At the check in, at 2.20 pm, my room was not ready; I understand that the check-in time was at 3.00pm, but the hotel was not so crowded, in any case; anyway, after having a sandwich at the bar (very good sandwich) I was rewarded with a nice room, overlooking the small channel at the side of the hotel, with a terrace - unlickily I could not enjoy because of the weather.
The morning after, I wanted an omelette for breakfast, but there was no ham or cheese to feed into it, but the morning after, both were available!
So, good staying, in the end, staff members are very nice, friendly, and do whatever they can to make you feel welcome.
Room is more than comfortable, very quite, no noise at all
I will definitely go back soon, I'm recommending it, no doubt

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMSPC, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic review following your recent visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are delighted to read you had a great stay at our hotel.

As you wrote we still have some fine tuning to do and because of your review we know the areas which need improvement. Indeed the official check-in time is at 15:00 but we would be pleased to offer you the room on check-in when it is available. Due to the fact that we were just open we want to check the rooms very carefully to make sure the room is prefect when you enter.

The breakfast menu is something that is evolving each day. Each day we are delighted to receive suggestions from our guests how we could improve their breakfast time.

We are honoured to read that you would recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments with the entire team.

Again thank you very much for your positive feedback. We very much look forward to having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 MT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing