We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unique apartment in the Jordaan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #25 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique apartment in the Jordaan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Greet was very helpful when we arrived. We came a bit earlier. The flat is very well located. Rich Breakfast ist provided, as well as wine, fresh fruit, makes you feel welcome at once. We liked especially the bench in front of the house. The beds are very good. The interior is very tasteful and stylish. Greet gave us valuable information about the surrounding area, the galleries, Westerpark, a special Museum exhibition, so our short trip to Amsterdam was really interesting, also for our teenage daughters. Greet is an inspiring, lively person and we would definitely recommend her flat in the Jordaan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pixie51429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) had a great stay at Amphora for a few days in July. Great location and the weather was fantastic as well. Greet and Niels made us feel home and we felt spoiled with all the little Dutch treats they had provided. Lovely and clean place, also the communication was great. I Highly recommend this B&B, hopefully we are able to come back soon again. Dank jullie wel :-)

Fam Bult, New York, USA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Words hardly capture the gorgeous and well appointed studio apartment that is Amphora B&B.

Well located on a canal in the appealing and very walkable Jordaan district, close to everything interesting, the studio is completely equipped, down to the espresso maker, Nutella, fresh bread, fruit and wine, cable, fabulous WiFi. Comfy duvet, pillows, the works!

The host could not be more helpful and welcoming, from the first communication recommending advance tickets (to avoid a five hour wait at Anne Frank house-- walked right in).

But more remarkably, since Greet is an artist, you are surrounded by great design and gorgeous art-- mosaics surround you in the bath and kitchen. The photos do not do them justice.

I was here solo but a family would be comfortable with the sofa bed for extra space, and certainly a couple would fine it ample.

Highest recommendation!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We loved Amphora for our 3 night stay in July! I think I would have booked it just for the fantastic mosaics in the bathroom and kitchen, but the location was perfect and we walked everywhere. Just 7 min to the Anne Frank House and about 25 to the Rijks Museum. Thanks Greet for the tip to buy Anne Frank House tours at least 3 weeks in advance online - avoided a 3 hour wait in line. Also for the tour of your studio/gallery. We loved the recommended restaurant "Foodism", just a couple blocks away. All booked the first night we tried, so reserved for the next night. Greet also arranged a taxi pickup to the airport and found a coupon that made it a great deal!

There were 3 of us (one 13 year old boy) and we had plenty of room. My only suggestion would be a shower curtain or door so water didn't get all over the floor by the bathroom sink. And maybe a floor fan, as there is no AC and it was pretty warm at night when we were there. The small fans did a good job though and we all slept great. It is quiet at night there, which is important to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed, they go over and above to make you feel welcome.
Although its in the city you don't hear any of the outside noise inside the unit.
The coffee they provide was fantastic, the only good coffee we had in Europe.
I would love to stay here again and definitely recommend Amphora.

Thank you Greet and Neils

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Highly recommend Amphora B&B for its:
> Location in the Jordaan district -- cafes, shopping, Saturday market, Anne Frank House.
> Close to tram stop for quick transit to museum district and easy walk to major shopping area.
> Nice accommodations -- quiet studio apt. on a canal with queen bed, kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi.
> Charming, warm and attentive host Greet -- she is delightful, informed, and dedicated to her guests' happiness. Thank you, Greet, we hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and everything was perfect. Family of four with 2 teenagers. The apartment was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my Son and I are both 6 feet tall and slept comfortably on the pullout couch. Greet spent time with us to make sure all of our questions were answered including how to get to 2 windmills, 1 which is a 5 minute walk that we would have never have found on our own. We visited most of the city but spent the most time in Jordaan, which is where the apartment is and which is close to all the good shops, cafés, restaurants and where our favorite Pizza (La Perla) and ice cream places (across the street) were. We were so glad that Greet recommended getting Anne Frank tickets in advance, which we ordered months ahead when we booked the apartment, as we were able to walk right in and the line for people without advance tickets was always a mile long at all hours of the day and night when we walked past. Coffee was amazing and they stoked the fridge with juice, milk, cheese and ham and gave us baked goods and eggs too. This is not a cooked breakfast B&B which was just fine with us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainkingcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#174 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#35 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#75 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchen with cooking stove, pots and panns, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam. Amphora Apartments is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous Nine Streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels". There will be no extra charges afterwards!For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing