We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique apartment in the Jordaan”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #34 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique apartment in the Jordaan”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Greet was very helpful when we arrived. We came a bit earlier. The flat is very well located. Rich Breakfast ist provided, as well as wine, fresh fruit, makes you feel welcome at once. We liked especially the bench in front of the house. The beds are very good. The interior is very tasteful and stylish. Greet gave us valuable information about the surrounding area, the galleries, Westerpark, a special Museum exhibition, so our short trip to Amsterdam was really interesting, also for our teenage daughters. Greet is an inspiring, lively person and we would definitely recommend her flat in the Jordaan.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pixie51429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
59
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) had a great stay at Amphora for a few days in July. Great location and the weather was fantastic as well. Greet and Niels made us feel home and we felt spoiled with all the little Dutch treats they had provided. Lovely and clean place, also the communication was great. I Highly recommend this B&B, hopefully we are able to come back soon again. Dank jullie wel :-)

Fam Bult, New York, USA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Words hardly capture the gorgeous and well appointed studio apartment that is Amphora B&B.

Well located on a canal in the appealing and very walkable Jordaan district, close to everything interesting, the studio is completely equipped, down to the espresso maker, Nutella, fresh bread, fruit and wine, cable, fabulous WiFi. Comfy duvet, pillows, the works!

The host could not be more helpful and welcoming, from the first communication recommending advance tickets (to avoid a five hour wait at Anne Frank house-- walked right in).

But more remarkably, since Greet is an artist, you are surrounded by great design and gorgeous art-- mosaics surround you in the bath and kitchen. The photos do not do them justice.

I was here solo but a family would be comfortable with the sofa bed for extra space, and certainly a couple would fine it ample.

Highest recommendation!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We loved Amphora for our 3 night stay in July! I think I would have booked it just for the fantastic mosaics in the bathroom and kitchen, but the location was perfect and we walked everywhere. Just 7 min to the Anne Frank House and about 25 to the Rijks Museum. Thanks Greet for the tip to buy Anne Frank House tours at least 3 weeks in advance online - avoided a 3 hour wait in line. Also for the tour of your studio/gallery. We loved the recommended restaurant "Foodism", just a couple blocks away. All booked the first night we tried, so reserved for the next night. Greet also arranged a taxi pickup to the airport and found a coupon that made it a great deal!

There were 3 of us (one 13 year old boy) and we had plenty of room. My only suggestion would be a shower curtain or door so water didn't get all over the floor by the bathroom sink. And maybe a floor fan, as there is no AC and it was pretty warm at night when we were there. The small fans did a good job though and we all slept great. It is quiet at night there, which is important to us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank twoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed, they go over and above to make you feel welcome.
Although its in the city you don't hear any of the outside noise inside the unit.
The coffee they provide was fantastic, the only good coffee we had in Europe.
I would love to stay here again and definitely recommend Amphora.

Thank you Greet and Neils

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sage M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Highly recommend Amphora B&B for its:
> Location in the Jordaan district -- cafes, shopping, Saturday market, Anne Frank House.
> Close to tram stop for quick transit to museum district and easy walk to major shopping area.
> Nice accommodations -- quiet studio apt. on a canal with queen bed, kitchenette, TV, free Wi-Fi.
> Charming, warm and attentive host Greet -- she is delightful, informed, and dedicated to her guests' happiness. Thank you, Greet, we hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights and everything was perfect. Family of four with 2 teenagers. The apartment was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my Son and I are both 6 feet tall and slept comfortably on the pullout couch. Greet spent time with us to make sure all of our questions were answered including how to get to 2 windmills, 1 which is a 5 minute walk that we would have never have found on our own. We visited most of the city but spent the most time in Jordaan, which is where the apartment is and which is close to all the good shops, cafés, restaurants and where our favorite Pizza (La Perla) and ice cream places (across the street) were. We were so glad that Greet recommended getting Anne Frank tickets in advance, which we ordered months ahead when we booked the apartment, as we were able to walk right in and the line for people without advance tickets was always a mile long at all hours of the day and night when we walked past. Coffee was amazing and they stoked the fridge with juice, milk, cheese and ham and gave us baked goods and eggs too. This is not a cooked breakfast B&B which was just fine with us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainkingcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#199 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#124 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#88 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#39 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing