We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic in every way!”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #37 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic in every way!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow! The attention to detail in every aspect is superb. Good quality all around us, and spoilt with wonderful foodstuffs! Greet was generous with her personal time too, we had places suggested to us to visit that we would not have considered. And what fun we had in the bikes we rented from her!! A must! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAPARRYJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a wonderful stay with Greet and Niels. The bed and breakfast is amazing and we really felt at home.
The kitchen had everything we needed, including coffee, tea, bread and nutella!
The bed was amazingly comfortable, we slept like logs! The art in the bathroom was also incredible, everything done by Greet, and we couldn't have been happier.
Greet and Niels are the sweetest people ever, they helped us in everything we needed!
We will definitely stay at Amphora again when we go back to Amsterdam!

PORTUGUÊS
Nós tivemos uma estadia incrível com a Greet e o Niels! O bed and breakfast é incrível, e nós realmente nos sentimos em casa!
A cozinha tinha tudo que precisávamos, incluindo café, chá, pão e nutella!
A cama é extremamente confortável, a gente dormiu como pedra! O banheiro é lindo, todo feito em mosaico pela própria Greet, e não podíamos estar mais felizes.
A Greet e o Niels são as pessoas mais legais do mundo, eles nos ajudaram em tudo que precisamos.
Quando voltarmos para Amsterdam, definitivamente vamos ficar lá de novo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela_Lutfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband, 17 yo daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and found the apartment to be tastefully decorated and well thought out. Neils and Greet offer that something extra by stocking you with ample provisions (breakfast and nibbles), welcome wine and good toiletries. The apartment is well equipped in all areas with plenty of space. The only criticism was the pull out sofa bed for our daughter was not that comfortable - not that she complained but if you were an adult, it could be tough on your back. Hosts Neils & Greet were friendly and helpful offering advice on restaurants and assistance to book cabs etc. The location of the apartment was fantastic - on a canal, walking distance to restaurants, many attractions and to tram stops. Loved our time here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I've just returned from a long weekend and stayed here will my family. We were made to feel very welcome by Greet and Niels who recommended places to eat and visit . The apartment was immaculate and made life very easy and flexible:easy to get to all the main tourist sites and flexible to be able to make your own snacks in the kitchenette.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have recently spent two nights at this fantastic B&B. The studio apartment is spacious, clean, beautifully decorated and so well equipped. Fresh ingredients for breakfast are provided each day as well as a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival! In addition, the B&B owns bicycles which you can hire out at a very reasonable rate and there is free use of a landline telephone for making external calls to places within the city (very useful for avoiding the high cost of using our mobile phones abroad).

The apartment is very private, secure and in a great location. The proprietors Greet and Niels were so welcoming and provided us with much information about the city and things to do. In addition, they were very willing to answer any questions and help with any problems - including when we managed to get locked out of the apartment quite late at night!

Overall, we couldn't have expected any more from this B&B and will definitely return on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a weekend staying here and you couldn't ask for more from your accommodation! It was clean, beautifully decorated and had everything you could need including a fantastic selection of food. Our hosts were so lovely and gave us great information about where to go. They were happy to help if you needed anything (Handy for us as we couldn't work out how unlock the bikes we hired from them!) You even get a souvenir from them at the end of your stay. Hoping to return to Amsterdam in the near future and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess3108Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After spending few weeks at Amphora B&B, I feel the great pleasure to HIGHLY Recommend it! The B&B is in the beautiful Jordaan area, great location -walking distance from tram\bus halte, the city center, and from cafe's and resturants. The appartment itself is designed and decorated beautifully, it is spacious , clean, and the kitchen is well equipped. The house owners - Niels and Greet are so kind and generous, and available for any question\request, and can suggest great resturants or special activities in the city. To keep short, if you are looking for a great place to stay during your holiday - this one is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#90 of 368 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#204 of 336 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#42 of 336 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#76 of 336 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing