We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It is an amazing place in a lovely neighborhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #25 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is an amazing place in a lovely neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this b&b in july 2011, not short after it appeared! From the first moment I loved everything about it- the bed, the interior, the surroundings -Jordaan is one of the most beautiful areas of Amsterdam. The hosts were very friendly and attentive to our needs. It was my 1st impression of Holland and it could not be better! There I learned typical dutch word 'gezellig' and it was indeed gezellig to stay at Amphora. We still keep the little pieces of mosaic which we got as souvenirs. I am happy to read all the great reviews now after 2,5 years and I am even happier to add mine.

It has been 2 years since I have moved to Holland, but I still hope that there will be an opportunity to stay at Amphora b&b!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Анна З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was raining when we visited Amsterdam but that was only a minor inconvenience largely because we stayed at Amphora. The B&B is in a great location, close to all the major sights and we needed umbrellas only for relatively short distances -- the umbrellas and raincoats were gracefully provided by Amphora (Thanks, Greet!). Several major tramlines are just a short walk away and there are many good restaurants nearby.

The room is cosy and well laid out. It was warm and comfortable enough for my wife and I plus our two kids and I reckon for it'll be very spacious for a couple. The bathroom is small but functional with beautiful mosaic artwork. Considering that the apartment is at ground level by a canal, it was really quiet at night and we all slept soundly the three nights we stayed, even when we left the windows ajar. The bed and pillows were comfy and our kids had no complaints about the sofa bed.

Greet stocked up the fridge, and was generous with the food, coffee, etc. Somehow, it felt really good knowing that the B&B owner was not trying to cut costs but instead, made sure we got everything we needed. We did not need to visit the grocery shop but there was one nearby. The guidebook in the apartment contains useful information including how to access the free wi-fi, and maps were available.

Best of all, it didn't cost me an arm and a leg especially in an expensive city like Amsterdam. Wished we would have stayed longer. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I recomend this apartment to anyone who looks for a cosy, nice and well situated place. Having the kitchen with all the stuff to cook was very handy for us given that there was a supermarket quite close to make our main meals even to get our sandwiches away with us. So there was no need of having meals out if we did not feel like as it normally happens travelling with kids.
I must mention owners hospitality as an extra point to stay here indeed.

Room Tip: there is one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpintado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 night break in Amphora B&B in October 2013. Clean, spacious and well equipped canal-side accommodation. Handy for buses and trams. Greet and Niels the perfect hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveyBhoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can easily say this was one of the best places I have ever stayed in and since my return home I have been recommending this place to everybody. Without the comfort, attention to detail and warm welcome from Greet & Neils made this a holiday to remember.
I stayed here with my mum & aunt. We arrived late in the evening to be welcomed with a lovely bottle of wine and a great recommendation for a restaurant nearby. The fridge was stocked with fresh milk, juice, pastries (fresh from the oven), ham, cheese, bread...and so much more! Greet made brilliant recommendations for markets, apple pie, restaurants...making our stay in Amsterdam a home-from-home.
I would without recommend this place to anyone...and I would stay there in a heartbeat if I got the opportunity again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is my second review of Amphora. I can't improve on my first one nor on those below. You, dear reader, have believe us, it is absolutely amazing. The place, the hospitality and friendship of Greet and Niels... It is an unforgettable treasure. Bench outside for smokers, and no bloody stairs. :D

Pops UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We choose this B&B for a short break in Amsterdam to go and see a concert at The Melkweg. This is a lovely little place in a really nice area away from all the hustle and bustle but still a short walk from some great places. The Anne Frank house is a short walk, as is the Saturday Market, the Van Gogh museum is within walking distance or a very short tram ride.

From the outset we were made to feel very welcome and there was food and wine waiting for us in the room to welcome us to the place. Greet was very helpful when going through the details of the apartment and the surrounding area even helping us find somewhere nice to eat on the Friday evening.

I will definitely be looking at staying here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDustB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#174 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#35 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#75 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchen with cooking stove, pots and panns, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam. Amphora Apartments is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous Nine Streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels". There will be no extra charges afterwards!For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing