We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an amazing place in a lovely neighborhood!”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #33 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It is an amazing place in a lovely neighborhood!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this b&b in july 2011, not short after it appeared! From the first moment I loved everything about it- the bed, the interior, the surroundings -Jordaan is one of the most beautiful areas of Amsterdam. The hosts were very friendly and attentive to our needs. It was my 1st impression of Holland and it could not be better! There I learned typical dutch word 'gezellig' and it was indeed gezellig to stay at Amphora. We still keep the little pieces of mosaic which we got as souvenirs. I am happy to read all the great reviews now after 2,5 years and I am even happier to add mine.

It has been 2 years since I have moved to Holland, but I still hope that there will be an opportunity to stay at Amphora b&b!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Анна З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was raining when we visited Amsterdam but that was only a minor inconvenience largely because we stayed at Amphora. The B&B is in a great location, close to all the major sights and we needed umbrellas only for relatively short distances -- the umbrellas and raincoats were gracefully provided by Amphora (Thanks, Greet!). Several major tramlines are just a short walk away and there are many good restaurants nearby.

The room is cosy and well laid out. It was warm and comfortable enough for my wife and I plus our two kids and I reckon for it'll be very spacious for a couple. The bathroom is small but functional with beautiful mosaic artwork. Considering that the apartment is at ground level by a canal, it was really quiet at night and we all slept soundly the three nights we stayed, even when we left the windows ajar. The bed and pillows were comfy and our kids had no complaints about the sofa bed.

Greet stocked up the fridge, and was generous with the food, coffee, etc. Somehow, it felt really good knowing that the B&B owner was not trying to cut costs but instead, made sure we got everything we needed. We did not need to visit the grocery shop but there was one nearby. The guidebook in the apartment contains useful information including how to access the free wi-fi, and maps were available.

Best of all, it didn't cost me an arm and a leg especially in an expensive city like Amsterdam. Wished we would have stayed longer. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I recomend this apartment to anyone who looks for a cosy, nice and well situated place. Having the kitchen with all the stuff to cook was very handy for us given that there was a supermarket quite close to make our main meals even to get our sandwiches away with us. So there was no need of having meals out if we did not feel like as it normally happens travelling with kids.
I must mention owners hospitality as an extra point to stay here indeed.

Room Tip: there is one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mpintado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 night break in Amphora B&B in October 2013. Clean, spacious and well equipped canal-side accommodation. Handy for buses and trams. Greet and Niels the perfect hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveyBhoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can easily say this was one of the best places I have ever stayed in and since my return home I have been recommending this place to everybody. Without the comfort, attention to detail and warm welcome from Greet & Neils made this a holiday to remember.
I stayed here with my mum & aunt. We arrived late in the evening to be welcomed with a lovely bottle of wine and a great recommendation for a restaurant nearby. The fridge was stocked with fresh milk, juice, pastries (fresh from the oven), ham, cheese, bread...and so much more! Greet made brilliant recommendations for markets, apple pie, restaurants...making our stay in Amsterdam a home-from-home.
I would without recommend this place to anyone...and I would stay there in a heartbeat if I got the opportunity again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is my second review of Amphora. I can't improve on my first one nor on those below. You, dear reader, have believe us, it is absolutely amazing. The place, the hospitality and friendship of Greet and Niels... It is an unforgettable treasure. Bench outside for smokers, and no bloody stairs. :D

Pops UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We choose this B&B for a short break in Amsterdam to go and see a concert at The Melkweg. This is a lovely little place in a really nice area away from all the hustle and bustle but still a short walk from some great places. The Anne Frank house is a short walk, as is the Saturday Market, the Van Gogh museum is within walking distance or a very short tram ride.

From the outset we were made to feel very welcome and there was food and wine waiting for us in the room to welcome us to the place. Greet was very helpful when going through the details of the apartment and the surrounding area even helping us find somewhere nice to eat on the Friday evening.

I will definitely be looking at staying here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJDustB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
327 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#88 of 367 in Amsterdam
847 reviews
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#207 of 335 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 335 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#32 of 335 in Amsterdam
217 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#79 of 335 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing