We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an amazing place in a lovely neighborhood!”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #39 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this b&b in july 2011, not short after it appeared! From the first moment I loved everything about it- the bed, the interior, the surroundings -Jordaan is one of the most beautiful areas of Amsterdam. The hosts were very friendly and attentive to our needs. It was my 1st impression of Holland and it could not be better! There I learned typical dutch word 'gezellig' and it was indeed gezellig to stay at Amphora. We still keep the little pieces of mosaic which we got as souvenirs. I am happy to read all the great reviews now after 2,5 years and I am even happier to add mine.

It has been 2 years since I have moved to Holland, but I still hope that there will be an opportunity to stay at Amphora b&b!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Анна З
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

It was raining when we visited Amsterdam but that was only a minor inconvenience largely because we stayed at Amphora. The B&B is in a great location, close to all the major sights and we needed umbrellas only for relatively short distances -- the umbrellas and raincoats were gracefully provided by Amphora (Thanks, Greet!). Several major tramlines are just a short walk away and there are many good restaurants nearby.

The room is cosy and well laid out. It was warm and comfortable enough for my wife and I plus our two kids and I reckon for it'll be very spacious for a couple. The bathroom is small but functional with beautiful mosaic artwork. Considering that the apartment is at ground level by a canal, it was really quiet at night and we all slept soundly the three nights we stayed, even when we left the windows ajar. The bed and pillows were comfy and our kids had no complaints about the sofa bed.

Greet stocked up the fridge, and was generous with the food, coffee, etc. Somehow, it felt really good knowing that the B&B owner was not trying to cut costs but instead, made sure we got everything we needed. We did not need to visit the grocery shop but there was one nearby. The guidebook in the apartment contains useful information including how to access the free wi-fi, and maps were available.

Best of all, it didn't cost me an arm and a leg especially in an expensive city like Amsterdam. Wished we would have stayed longer. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I recomend this apartment to anyone who looks for a cosy, nice and well situated place. Having the kitchen with all the stuff to cook was very handy for us given that there was a supermarket quite close to make our main meals even to get our sandwiches away with us. So there was no need of having meals out if we did not feel like as it normally happens travelling with kids.
I must mention owners hospitality as an extra point to stay here indeed.

Room Tip: there is one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mpintado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 night break in Amphora B&B in October 2013. Clean, spacious and well equipped canal-side accommodation. Handy for buses and trams. Greet and Niels the perfect hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveyBhoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I can easily say this was one of the best places I have ever stayed in and since my return home I have been recommending this place to everybody. Without the comfort, attention to detail and warm welcome from Greet & Neils made this a holiday to remember.
I stayed here with my mum & aunt. We arrived late in the evening to be welcomed with a lovely bottle of wine and a great recommendation for a restaurant nearby. The fridge was stocked with fresh milk, juice, pastries (fresh from the oven), ham, cheese, bread...and so much more! Greet made brilliant recommendations for markets, apple pie, restaurants...making our stay in Amsterdam a home-from-home.
I would without recommend this place to anyone...and I would stay there in a heartbeat if I got the opportunity again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is my second review of Amphora. I can't improve on my first one nor on those below. You, dear reader, have believe us, it is absolutely amazing. The place, the hospitality and friendship of Greet and Niels... It is an unforgettable treasure. Bench outside for smokers, and no bloody stairs. :D

Pops UK.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We choose this B&B for a short break in Amsterdam to go and see a concert at The Melkweg. This is a lovely little place in a really nice area away from all the hustle and bustle but still a short walk from some great places. The Anne Frank house is a short walk, as is the Saturday Market, the Van Gogh museum is within walking distance or a very short tram ride.

From the outset we were made to feel very welcome and there was food and wine waiting for us in the room to welcome us to the place. Greet was very helpful when going through the details of the apartment and the surrounding area even helping us find somewhere nice to eat on the Friday evening.

I will definitely be looking at staying here next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJDustB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Plantage & the East
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
Luxury Suites Amsterdam
#6 of 375 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Centrum
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments Amsterdam Suites
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Keizersgracht Residence
Keizersgracht Residence
#18 of 249 in Amsterdam
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $197 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing