We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #37 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Amphora B and B for the last three night of our 15 day trip in The Netherland everything was beyond excellent. Right away Neil's warm greeting and useful information and recommendations set us at ease. The room is clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with many of Greet' mosaics. Lastly knowing that our departure was to be really early the last morning, Greet prepared us some fresh croissants and doughnuts to ensure we had something to eat before we left for our journey home. This B and B is in a great location in a more quiet area of Amsterdam but with in walking distance of the Central station, restoration and museums. Bicycles are available for those of you that would like to get around a little faster and further. We highly recommend It to anyone looking for accommodations in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late May 2013. The welcome from Greet was very warm and genuine and she gave us a lot of really useful information about things to see and do. This B&B has everything you will need, from wireless, to DVD's and games. It is very well finished and exceptionally clean and comfortable (as well as warm - we were there during a mini Ice Age). The breakfast supplied was more than adequate, in fact, it was overkill; we just couldn't get through it all. There were also noodles, biscuits and chocolates supplied so we actually saved a fortune on eating out. Of course, the highlight of the apartment is the mosaic mural work of which Greet is justifiably quite proud and makes for a different kind of shower experience. The location right on the canal is also very good - there are plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops around, and if you are arty, there are galleries nearby. We also found that if you are even mildly fit, walking all the way to the Central Train Station or the Red Light District was a pleasant exercise.

All in all, having such great accommodation made our whole Amsterdam experience less stressful. I can highly recommend Amphora and its hosts to any Amsterdam visitor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A BIG thank you to Greet + family for the immensely enjoyable stay at Amphora B&B. The comfy & cosy B&B is well located in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam which is walking distance to all the major sights of Amsterdam. We managed to walk over 20 miles during our short 3 days stay but it was reassuring coming 'home' to Amphora which has all the necessary mod-cons amplified by Greet's personal touch with the extra goodies and attention to detail. She also has great local knowledge having lived in Dam for over 25 years so her recommendations were very useful - especially eating at Foodism - a real gem of a restaurant just near the B&B. We loved everything about Amphora and the Mosaic tiling was stunning. Keep up the good work and we hope to return again someday soon! Thank you very much. Muneet, Rohit and Shashi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muneet1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Greet's and Niels' B&B and were very pleasantly surprised to find such a great spot run by very welcoming hosts.

We particularly enjoyed the fact that - since we were dealing with major jet-lag - our breakfast was supplied so that we could prepare it ourselves at our leisure in the little kitchen which is part of this little bachelor pad on a canal.

Clean, well-appointed, comfortable, private, well-priced, well-located, with gracious and friendly hosts. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank none r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amphora for 4 nights in late April - we were there for Queen's Day, which was a treat! - and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is a clean, stylish and very comfortable studio apartment with a tidy little kitchen, comfortable beds, and a gorgeous loo and shower. Greet provided everything we needed for breakfast, and was absolutely wonderful about accommodating my dietary needs (I cannot eat gluten or dairy products). Greet also very thoughtfully compiled a list of restaurants that would do gluten-free meals, complete with a map. This was very helpful and greatly appreciated. We were so comfortable and it was easy to find our way around Amsterdam, again thanks to the map provided by Greet. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POLSnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an excellent place to stay. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located and in a very quiet and safe area. Breakfast in the morning was a huge bonus! You could walk everywhere! The bed was extremely comfortable. Greet is a very good host, it felt like visiting a good friend. I would definitely recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#200 of 368 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 368 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#204 of 336 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#43 of 336 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#77 of 336 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Property: Amphora Apartment
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing