We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home away from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A BIG thank you to Greet + family for the immensely enjoyable stay at Amphora B&B. The comfy & cosy B&B is well located in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam which is walking distance to all the major sights of Amsterdam. We managed to walk over 20 miles during our short 3 days stay but it was reassuring coming 'home' to Amphora which has all the necessary mod-cons amplified by Greet's personal touch with the extra goodies and attention to detail. She also has great local knowledge having lived in Dam for over 25 years so her recommendations were very useful - especially eating at Foodism - a real gem of a restaurant just near the B&B. We loved everything about Amphora and the Mosaic tiling was stunning. Keep up the good work and we hope to return again someday soon! Thank you very much. Muneet, Rohit and Shashi!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muneet1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
59
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Greet's and Niels' B&B and were very pleasantly surprised to find such a great spot run by very welcoming hosts.

We particularly enjoyed the fact that - since we were dealing with major jet-lag - our breakfast was supplied so that we could prepare it ourselves at our leisure in the little kitchen which is part of this little bachelor pad on a canal.

Clean, well-appointed, comfortable, private, well-priced, well-located, with gracious and friendly hosts. What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank none r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amphora for 4 nights in late April - we were there for Queen's Day, which was a treat! - and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is a clean, stylish and very comfortable studio apartment with a tidy little kitchen, comfortable beds, and a gorgeous loo and shower. Greet provided everything we needed for breakfast, and was absolutely wonderful about accommodating my dietary needs (I cannot eat gluten or dairy products). Greet also very thoughtfully compiled a list of restaurants that would do gluten-free meals, complete with a map. This was very helpful and greatly appreciated. We were so comfortable and it was easy to find our way around Amsterdam, again thanks to the map provided by Greet. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POLSnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an excellent place to stay. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located and in a very quiet and safe area. Breakfast in the morning was a huge bonus! You could walk everywhere! The bed was extremely comfortable. Greet is a very good host, it felt like visiting a good friend. I would definitely recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in Amsterdam at the end of March for 3 nights and if I ever went back- Amphora is THE ONLY place we would stay. Our boys ages 7 and 5 absolutely loved it. We had fresh food in the kitchen, games and toys for the kids to play with, and it was an excellent location. Pictures of the bathroom mosaic do not do it justice. It was amazing in person. The design of the whole place was fantastic. It was truly our own apartment in Amsterdam- our own entrance from the street and everything. Even more amazing were the owners. They made sure we had everything we needed, and even baked us homemade goodies to snack on. They knew that where we currently live, we can't get fresh milk- she made it a point to bring us fresh milk daily, and even more when the kids drank it all. What a fantastic place, all at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peerey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9 April to 13 April of this year with mom and sister. Greet and Niels, the owners of Amphora B and B, were very welcoming and kind. They gave us a lot of information about the city and were available for any queries/concerns. Walking distance from Anne Frank house and other landmarks. Do ask Greet about her art gallery. She'll be happy to have you visit to take a peek. Room for rent has an artistic touch (see shower mosaics). Atmosphere is warm and inviting and will make you feel at home. Thank you Greet and Niels for helping make our European trip extremely memorable and fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigiCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#146 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#70 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#38 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#79 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchen with cooking stove, pots and panns, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam. Amphora Apartments is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous Nine Streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels". There will be no extra charges afterwards!For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing