We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise find; great spot”
Review of Amphora Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphora Apartment
Ranked #38 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Greet's and Niels' B&B and were very pleasantly surprised to find such a great spot run by very welcoming hosts.

We particularly enjoyed the fact that - since we were dealing with major jet-lag - our breakfast was supplied so that we could prepare it ourselves at our leisure in the little kitchen which is part of this little bachelor pad on a canal.

Clean, well-appointed, comfortable, private, well-priced, well-located, with gracious and friendly hosts. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank none r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Amphora Apartment
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 142 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amphora for 4 nights in late April - we were there for Queen's Day, which was a treat! - and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is a clean, stylish and very comfortable studio apartment with a tidy little kitchen, comfortable beds, and a gorgeous loo and shower. Greet provided everything we needed for breakfast, and was absolutely wonderful about accommodating my dietary needs (I cannot eat gluten or dairy products). Greet also very thoughtfully compiled a list of restaurants that would do gluten-free meals, complete with a map. This was very helpful and greatly appreciated. We were so comfortable and it was easy to find our way around Amsterdam, again thanks to the map provided by Greet. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POLSnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast has all the comforts of home in a cozy little space. Greet and her husband Niels are wonderful hosts. Located in the heart of the Jordaan neighborhood right on one of the famous Amsterdam canals, and within walking distance to just about everything in the city of Amsterdam, you won't find another like it. There are local eateries nearby and lovely little shops in this lively neighborhood. A comfortable bed, private bathroom, and cozy living area with kitchen made the place feel like home away from home. Oh, and waking up to the surprises in the basket of fresh goodies was truly part of the charm. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. We won't forget the Amphora or our stay in Amsterdam... it was magical.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an excellent place to stay. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located and in a very quiet and safe area. Breakfast in the morning was a huge bonus! You could walk everywhere! The bed was extremely comfortable. Greet is a very good host, it felt like visiting a good friend. I would definitely recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in Amsterdam at the end of March for 3 nights and if I ever went back- Amphora is THE ONLY place we would stay. Our boys ages 7 and 5 absolutely loved it. We had fresh food in the kitchen, games and toys for the kids to play with, and it was an excellent location. Pictures of the bathroom mosaic do not do it justice. It was amazing in person. The design of the whole place was fantastic. It was truly our own apartment in Amsterdam- our own entrance from the street and everything. Even more amazing were the owners. They made sure we had everything we needed, and even baked us homemade goodies to snack on. They knew that where we currently live, we can't get fresh milk- she made it a point to bring us fresh milk daily, and even more when the kids drank it all. What a fantastic place, all at a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peerey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9 April to 13 April of this year with mom and sister. Greet and Niels, the owners of Amphora B and B, were very welcoming and kind. They gave us a lot of information about the city and were available for any queries/concerns. Walking distance from Anne Frank house and other landmarks. Do ask Greet about her art gallery. She'll be happy to have you visit to take a peek. Room for rent has an artistic touch (see shower mosaics). Atmosphere is warm and inviting and will make you feel at home. Thank you Greet and Niels for helping make our European trip extremely memorable and fun!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MigiCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Amphora b&b for 3 nights in the easter holydays and we can say it was perfect! The B&B is fantastic: very quiet, beautiful, with everything you can need to stay confortable like your home, near to the dam square and to a lot of good places for eat.
The breakfast was amazing! the owners gave us every day a very big and delicious breakfast, and you can find also different things to eat in the B&B (everything is for free).
The owners are very friendly, helpful and kind, they gave us a lot of important informations about Amsterdam (before we arrived and when we were here) and for easter they gave us a little gift and some chocolate eggs just to make us feel like home...we really appreciated that and if we come back to Amsterdam we 'd like to stay again here

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#109 of 371 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
Jordaan
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
#47 of 337 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 337 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#79 of 337 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#43 of 337 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#8 of 337 in Amsterdam
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Apartment

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $243 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartment is in the famous Jordaan-area in the center of Amsterdam at the ground floor of a 19th century canal-house. It is a studio of almost 40 m2. You have your own entrance from the street, a private bathroom, a private (separate) toilet, a kitchen with coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave etcetera. There is a double bed (box-spring), a baby cot and a baby chair on request (no extra charges), a large dining table and a sitting corner with a sofa that can be converted in a double bed. The apartment is professionaly cleaned and your bed(and sofa) are made upon arrival. There are two towels and soap and shower gel for each person. There are toys for kids of each age, a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), wifi etc. The studio apartment will give you the feeling of a home of your own. Amphora Apartment is at 5 minutes walking distance from the Anne Frank House; Madame Tussauds, the Dam Square and the famous Nine Streets are at 10 minutes and the large musea (Van Gogh, Rijks-, Municipal) take a 25 minutes walk. Of course there is also public transport nearby as well as bike rental. Price includes all taxes and unlimited use of coffee and tea. For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. We guarantee you a very pleasant and comfortable stay. Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amphora Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing