We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amphora Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Amphora Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #25 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was an excellent place to stay. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. It is centrally located and in a very quiet and safe area. Breakfast in the morning was a huge bonus! You could walk everywhere! The bed was extremely comfortable. Greet is a very good host, it felt like visiting a good friend. I would definitely recommend anybody to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadian_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
58
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were in Amsterdam at the end of March for 3 nights and if I ever went back- Amphora is THE ONLY place we would stay. Our boys ages 7 and 5 absolutely loved it. We had fresh food in the kitchen, games and toys for the kids to play with, and it was an excellent location. Pictures of the bathroom mosaic do not do it justice. It was amazing in person. The design of the whole place was fantastic. It was truly our own apartment in Amsterdam- our own entrance from the street and everything. Even more amazing were the owners. They made sure we had everything we needed, and even baked us homemade goodies to snack on. They knew that where we currently live, we can't get fresh milk- she made it a point to bring us fresh milk daily, and even more when the kids drank it all. What a fantastic place, all at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peerey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 9 April to 13 April of this year with mom and sister. Greet and Niels, the owners of Amphora B and B, were very welcoming and kind. They gave us a lot of information about the city and were available for any queries/concerns. Walking distance from Anne Frank house and other landmarks. Do ask Greet about her art gallery. She'll be happy to have you visit to take a peek. Room for rent has an artistic touch (see shower mosaics). Atmosphere is warm and inviting and will make you feel at home. Thank you Greet and Niels for helping make our European trip extremely memorable and fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigiCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Amphora b&b for 3 nights in the easter holydays and we can say it was perfect! The B&B is fantastic: very quiet, beautiful, with everything you can need to stay confortable like your home, near to the dam square and to a lot of good places for eat.
The breakfast was amazing! the owners gave us every day a very big and delicious breakfast, and you can find also different things to eat in the B&B (everything is for free).
The owners are very friendly, helpful and kind, they gave us a lot of important informations about Amsterdam (before we arrived and when we were here) and for easter they gave us a little gift and some chocolate eggs just to make us feel like home...we really appreciated that and if we come back to Amsterdam we 'd like to stay again here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thanks again Greet & Niels for a terrific stay in Amsterdam!!! We would not hesitate to stay at Amphora again if we return to Amsterdam (from Australia!). The plentiful breakfast provided/bathroom mosaic/attention to detail in the Apartment and the actual Jordaan area were all lovely. Would recommend to anyone, it was more than we could have hoped for for our stay (as a family of 4) in Amsterdam ;)

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank AGradisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed 5 nights at the amphora BB. Not only it was perfect, clean and very cosy but also, the owner was extremely kind and careful to my coeliac disease.
I had fresh bread, all the stuff for a tasty breakfast and even a wonderful soup.
I really advice this place for coeliac (and not coeliac) tourists!!!


Sono stata 5 notti in questo BB. Pulito, accogliente, bello! Ma soprattutto la proprietaria è stata gentilissima e attentissima al fatto che sono celiaca. Pane fresco senza glutine, cereali per colazione e anche zuppa calda al rientro!
Consiglio vivamente questo posto a celiaci e non!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaajjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I will try my best not to gush - but it will be difficult - our stay at Amphora was so wonderful!! We stayed at Amphora for 8 nights , and this place has everything going for it. Firstly, the location - it is on a quiet street , opposite a canal. However, it is a mere 15 minutes walk from the central Dam square and 3 minutes to the tram stop. It is very close to the very moving Anne Frank House, and to the Westermarkt area.
The room is pretty big, very comfortable, and decorated with Greet's artistic flair. And travelers with little kids would understand how my son felt when he opened the bottom drawer of the closet and found it full of toys and a Lego set. " What kind of hotel is this?!" he asked me, awed.
The room has a living area, a kitchenette, and a sleeping area and bath. Breakfast is self service, but Greet and Niels visit with fresh bread and pastries every alternate day. In fact, though the room and location are superb, I would say the best part of the whole experience is the wonderful hosts - they help with travel advice, shopping advice - it's like staying with very close friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsybloood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Jordaan
Petit Prince
Petit Prince
#147 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#38 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#74 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#34 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Bed and Breakfast

Property: Amphora Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lijnbaansgracht 91, 1015 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our apartment in the center of Amsterdam (the Jordaan) in a canal house at the ground floor. It is a one room apartment of almost 40 m2. You have your own private entrance. We have one apartment, so you don't share anything with other guests, you have total privacy. It has a private bathroom, a separate toilet, a kitchen with cooking stove, pots and panns, coffee/tea facilities, a fridge, a microwave, a hairdryer, wireless internet, ironing equipment, a double bed, a double sofa bed, a baby cot on request, a baby chair on request (both no extra charges), a large dining table, a sitting corner with a sofa, toys for the kids (puzzles, lego etc), a flatscreen TV with a DVD player, an iPhone / iPod docking station, telephone (and intercom), etc. It is a totally furnished apartment to give you the feeling of a home of your own in Amsterdam. Amphora Apartments is within walking distance of the Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Dam Square, the famous Nine Streets and much more. The price includes all taxes, welcome wine, unlimited use of coffee and tea facilities, lemonade for children, our famous dutch "stroopwafels". There will be no extra charges afterwards!For our tripadvisor guests we have a free bottle of wine on arrival. Do mention this when you book with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing