We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Schinkel Haven

Cafe Schinkel Haven
Ranked #1,323 of 3,380 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Cafe Schinkelhaven enjoy a delicious lunch, dinner or drinks. Come and relax on our comfy couch, ma ak use of the wifi network and order a cup of Fair Trade coffee Bocca. Come watch sports or browse through one of the many magazines, or newspapers. In addition, we organize every Monday exciting pub quiz. Drum friends or colleagues and fight against other teams. We start at 20.30 And at 23.15 You know who is the winner. You stand also refreshed the next day. Goodbye, team Schinkelhaven! Kitchen is open from 11 AM to 10 PM. The bar is open every day from 11 AM to 1 in the morning. Friday and Saterday to 3 in the morning!
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a very nice Cafe/Pub Amsterdam style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a pleasant surprise was this place, in fact went there twice during our stay in Amsterdam.
The first time it was for a late lunch and we got a brilliant burger, just nicely done with all the trimmings and very flavoursome.
Then we went the second time in the evening after a long day of trekking he city and we had a proper meal: an excellent roasted cod very well garnished and a roasted poussin Mediterranean style. All very good and washed down by pleasantly cold Amstel!
Make no mistake this is a cafe pub, but they are the top of their game, I forgot to mention the staff there are excellent, nice and helpful and also very careful with their clientèle, worth going there everytime!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErPasquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsden Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

visited here while on business and was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and standard of service, which was attentive without being overbearing.

The steak was of very good quality and I would recommend a visit if in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonee Ponds, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best steak I have had...and I've tried a few !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderful steak in this great restaurant/pub in Amsterdam. After a walk through nearby Vondelpark I drifted into this pub early on their Trivia night but the staff were great and seriously the best steak, perfectly done on a small bed of al dente veg, with 'friet' as a side, just wonderful. Complimented the chef and the bar staff could not be more helpful...a lasting memory in Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keesie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice crew & location, bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located next to the park and the crew is friendly. Mostly shade though, and a bit overpriced. A nice selection of various beers and a decent place to sit if you don't feel like being surrounded by kids (on the other side of the street in the bar in the park).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, well presented, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Last night my friend and I both had a lovely meal each here. She had fish, cooked beautifully and served on asparagus, green beans, tomatoes and carrot with new potatoes and vinaigrette. Very tasty. I had steak served with same vegetables except for lovely chips instead of the potatoes. Friendly service, a pleasant ambience and all for less than 40 euros. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schinkel Haven also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Schinkel Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing