We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Meal & Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant

Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant
Ranked #533 of 3,562 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Coventry
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal & Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant, what a great find. The food, service & price were all very good. Would certainly recommend for a relaxed bite to eat. You can only pay in cash.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    61
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The food is divergent and unique. And eating is an experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place has the feeling of home. And just like home, there is warm and good food as well. You can sit and simply ask for what is best to eat, and you will be served with delicious food. Being Tibetan, the food is divergent and unique. And eating is an experience. The service is good, and people are kind. It deserves 5 stars because it nourishes you also inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COPII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant, nice food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited here after searching for vegan friendly restaurants in Amsterdam. It doesn't open until 6pm though in case you turn up for lunch! The staff were friendly and when you order your food, they ask you how hot you would like it... if you like spicy food, you are in for a treat but their spice rating scale is probably on the top end of the scale as my mild to medium request was quite hot! It was still lovely though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppyplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident on our first night in Amsterdam and it was the best meal we had during our whole stay.

The service was great. The waitress was quick and very friendly. She asked how spicy we would like our food, and regularly checked up on us. She even brought us more rice free of charge when we ran out!

The food was absolutely gorgeous. We had some kind of cheese pastries and dumplings for starters which were both nice. The Tibetan curry was possibly the nicest curry I've ever had. My partner's curry was lovely too though. So much food we couldn't finish it!

Very reasonably priced for the amount and quality of food, and of course the service.

Would recommend this to anyone and will definitely be going back if we're ever in Amsterdam again.

Helpful?
Thank ScreamQueenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Super Service Super Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Rerservation made by our hotel ( no website) for 5 adults and 1 infant. Small, spotless and quaint. Waitress gracious, helpful and spoke English well. She went out of her way to help us with the baby providing a high chair and a toy. Made thoughtful suggestions about the menu. Everything we ordered was great. Tasty spring rolls, spinach and goat cheese dumplings and beef and coliander dumplings. Chicken curry, deep fried eggplant, sizzling prawns and rice noodles all flavorful and well prepared. Side of homemade chili sauce provided spiciness for dumplings. Washed it down with semi sweet rice wine. Great meal, nice service, interesting food. You should give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing