We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant

Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant
Ranked #633 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Porrentruy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

On first view the Snow Lion doesn't stand out, but be prepared to be surprised! We chose the set menu and enjoyed a copious assortment of dumplings, beef, chicken and vegetables, all accompanied with white rice. The restaurant is clean and good value with lovely service, however I wouldn't suggest the Tibetan wine unless you are adventurous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderIJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic dumplings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This little hole in the wal restaurant is really a hidden gem. It's very reasonoble priced and the dumplings is really fantastic. But do not expect anyting mor then exactly what you order, what i mean it that it isn't even a small sallad with the dumplings like most of other restaurants have. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chat-a-lotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Snow Lion is one of our favourite restaurants in Amsterdam with consistently great Tibetan food served with a smile every time. Would recommend going early as it is a very small restaurant and always busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food, nice prices !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had diner at this restaurant, and must say that I was happy to make this choice. The food is a bit different then other asian food: and I liked it. I had a special meat dish and my companion a curry. Both dishes were good in taste, not to hot, well spiced. Also the starter was well seasoned: steamed dumpling with meat and nice dipping sauce.

The lady of the house was a well dressed and friendly host. Drinks (free tap water and nice bottle of wine) are good and prices are good (not to much, like other asian restaurants).

It gives you a good feeling, being welcome at this restaurant, informed by the host on the food choices. I recommend this restaurant to every one who want good food, nice prices and warm and friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GOlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An authentic piece of Tibet in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant late in the evening. We decided to try something new and wow - we were impressed. We were humbly and warmly welcomed into the restaurant. Although they were closing, the lady happily took our order and made our experience impeccable. When we received the food, we were very impressed by the quality, taste, and presentation. Everything was mouthwatering and delightful. The value for the food was priced accordingly. We are returning to Amsterdam in a few months and are definitely returning to Snow Lion. We recommend this restaurant to everyone!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Snow Lion Tibetan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing