We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, overcooked, dry chicken”

Rancho Argentinian Grill
Ranked #631 of 3,855 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
England
Level Contributor
316 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Disappointing, overcooked, dry chicken”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Enticed in by enthusiastic person in the street - telling us about a special that sounded good. Shown to table next to the bar that was used for storage and clearly was not big enough or pleasant enough to be used as a dining table. Then shown to a bigger table - obviously just trying it on. Server knew nothing about the special and did not offer to find out. Ordered from the menu. Ribs and chicken was served with the tiniest baked potato I have ever seen. Chicken was so dry and ribs were not much better - no sauces served with it. Enthusiastic person happened to be inside restarant and I asked about sauces and he ordered two 'on the house' - he also requested the fries that should have been served with a ribs main. Have eaten far better chicken and ribs in Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    238
    126
    45
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loud and ripoff”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We were ushered in by a tout and shown to a table for 4(there were 3 of us). The waitress was unhappy and moved us to a small table for 2 (we were clearly taking up space for more profitable people). We were totally cramped. We ordered chicken fajitas for 3 and got a pan of food that was in no way for 3, more like for 2. They charged us 4 euros for water. The waitresses were only interested in getting us out as quickly as possible. The chicken fajitas was mainly veg. Would not go there again. Floor was very wonky!

Helpful?
Thank iwanttobeanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I had a night out while my mother-in-law stayed at the hotel with our kids, so we ventured out to find a restaurant. Most places were full, so we walked into Rancho's.

I was worried because I had eaten at Argentinian steakhouses before, and I was not a fan. Let me tell you, this was nothing like those places! The food was outstanding, the presentation amazing, the staff were very helpful, although they were extremely busy, and the price was right. I definitely recommend trying this place out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There are better places to eat”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were hungry walking in the area. They have someone in the middle of the street attempting to bring in tourists. We wish we kept walking. The food was bland and the service was not good. Even the beer wasn't cold. Very slow service and rude too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Compdr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulos!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

On the advice of a friend I found this restaurant. I advise you to find and if you love beef. In Amsterdam there are several locations. I was in the one next to Rembrandt Square
The food is arranged on the plate so appetizing as a great restaurant.
Simply fall in love steak here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosioara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Argentinian Grill also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rancho Argentinian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing