We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dutch Pub”
Review of Cafe Gruter

Cafe Gruter
Ranked #1,138 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $34
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Dutch Pub”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I used this place quite a lot on my last trip to Amsterdam. Good bar with efficient staff. Good bar food, both snacks and main meals. I enjoyed the hamburger. Plenty of locals. Not the cheapest in town but this is a fairly upmarket part of Amsterdam. Tram Stop No2 right outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Food and beer in a real local”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in Amsterdam for a long weekend and took the opportunity of meeting up with a younger relative who recommended this cafe (pub) as being a genuine taste of Amsterdam. It was not far from our hotel so off on the tram 2 and one stopped right outside, once in we took a seat and we could tell this was a cafe frequented by locals who were actively eating and drinking various beers of different colours. We ordered cappacio of beef as a starter followed by the burger, chips, sauces and salad, - both were great. The only problem maybe because this was a Sunday evening was the length of time to serve - nearly an hour before our main course, that said it was worth waiting for delicious and hot. The beers we tried were really tasty and I can only say if you want something that is genuine try this little cafe

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EborWarwickshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best burger in town”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Best burger in town!
Eco beef, homemade, harissa mayonaise, everything is yammie!
Great value for money too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank laurenAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“an excellent genuine pub”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Good beer. Excellent service. Very good food and a very warm welcome. Excellent value. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm local pub with good food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was raining hard so instead of venturing far, we decided to eat in the cafe below our lodging, Park Boutique B&B, at Willemsparkweg 75. What we found was a warm and dry, Cafe Gruter. There was no empty table in the front, so we were seated in the very back booth behind the bar. We were served promptly and continuously by some very friendly youngish locals. The bar has a great selection of danish beers both in bottle and on tap. The food was hot and tasty just as we requested. We stayed a couple of hours and plan to return if we are ever again in that neighborhood. Note - the tram stop is just 100 feet from the doorway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jl1100f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gruter also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Gruter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing