We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Dragon City

Dragon City
Reserve with
Dragon City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,053 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: The Wong Family started Dragon City over 30 years ago. In a small street just next to the Dam Square, the Wong’s started for their own. Dragon City identifies it self as a Modern Chinese style. Mixing the lovely “Dutch Chinese” with the Authentic Chinese cuisine with some accents of different oriental styles. “we strive to please our customers with service and delicious food. It is in our philosophy to try out best to make you happy as the customer”
Stavanger, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Good food, and very good service. Could very well come back! However, drop the dessert, may be desserts arent a Chinese tradition?

Helpful?
Thank Viking_VD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    55
    32
    2
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quite authentic”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is near the Dams square which is very famous for being an expensive area. I was craving for some Chinese and decided to try Dragon city even though from outside it looks like a usual tourist trap. The food was pretty good and the prices were quite low as well. The service and ambience was just alright.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanning Island, Republic of Kiribati
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese Cuisine and good price in the touristic area !”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

was a god experience and it s a reaally chinese taste here with good price
around 10€ beer 2€
unexpetected in this tourist area!
an adress to keep in mind !
for the owner; please update your website with english language thanks

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BaliGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chinese Restaurant.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Run of the mill Chinese food of a standard you get in any Chinese anywhere. Main and a drink €15 a head.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank captainbeecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Roast Duck”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I was standing outside CAU contemplating whether to try its steaks but my stomach craved for something soupy. So I thought I'd just get a simple bowl of noodle soup at this quaint Chinese place across the road.

The menu boards outside shouted all their tourist meal deals like all other small establishments. Not a turn on for me but a simple bowl of noodle soup was all I wanted.

Told the waitress to get me a bowl of noodle soup with her favorite topping. Roast Duck with vermicelli soup came. As is tradition, I tasted the soup 1st. Bland. OK, maybe it wasn't a good idea. Then I tried the duck, a generous serving that covered the bowl. Wow! Crispy skinned and tender meat. It was Zhang Cha flavored. A special smoky styled preparation. Think Hickory smoked to get the idea. It is usually something they will proudly announce, but here its just Roast Duck. This dish is normally served with plain rice so as not to take away from the strong yet complex flavor of the duck. This explained the bland vermicelli soup. Put together, it flavored the soup and softened the intensity of the Zhang Cha. PERFECTION! The trick is I guess to have a little of everything at the same time. Or to enjoy the skin 1st before it goes soggy, then infuse the soup with the rest of Duck.

If they called this Just Roast Duck, think how understated the rest of their menu must be.

BTW I didn't once see a grumpy reaction face on the staff's face. All smiles all the time to everyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank DerekGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Dragon City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dragon City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing