We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel, very busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #83 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is lovely, really nice rooms and bathrooms. very clean. Also very busy. Has a topfloor bar/restaurant open in the evening which is ridic expensive. If you miss dinner there isn't anywhere nearby to eat as its quite a secluded place, we ended up gettin takeaway via reception. The breakfast runs out of food and takes a while to be replenished and there are queues to get to the food. Sometimes can't find a seat at breakfast. China Airlines takes over part of the restaurant.
Other than the fact its mega busy its a nice place to stay just a little bit out of town when it comes to sightseeing. The I Amsterdam card gets you free travel included with the price so as long as you don't mind a 20 min half hour tram ride its not so bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydiver22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear WKD811,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.

I’m however quit surprised regarding your comments towards the location of the hotel. Within a 5 minute walk, there is a lovely square with multiple restaurants and the tram ride should only take 12 minutes to the Dam Square.

Your constructive feedback towards our restaurant and bar area, are however highly appreciated. We will absolutely use your comments to improve our services and facilities.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us your comments.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    1,002
    288
    85
    64
See reviews for
300
1,189
84
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fantastic hotel, very clean, huge rooms, clean bathrooms, really modern and superbly designed.

Staff are really friendly and helpful. Had one slight issue of a light flicking on/off and this was fixed immediately.

One girl (I believe her name is 'Fleur') I want to say extra thanks, really helpful and just brilliant at the front desk!

Easy one tram access in/out of town. Would return for sure

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rourke24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Rourke24,

What an excellent 5 bullet rating on Tripadvisor! That fact that you were over the moon about the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is a big compliment to the whole.

In particular, I will share your comments with my colleague who is mentioned. Thank you very much for these wonderful words!

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again anytime soon.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel at the last minute but were very glad we did. It was a tram ride away from Dam Square and all the tourist hubs but the advantage of this is that we were closer to more reasonably priced local restaurants and we saw more of the city. If you buy a 24 hour tram ticket then it is easy to pop in and out of the centre and the stop is 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

We had a double room with an extra bed for our son and it was warm, clean and comfortable. A lot of aircrew stay here so it must be good! It was very quiet at night and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet with the views over the city.

If the weather had been warmer, there is a nice little park near the hotel for strolling.

If you want to travel to the airport on the hotel shuttle, book early as it was full.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Michelle S,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor! I’m glad that we were able to provide you with such a pleasant stay as mentioned.

The tram stop is indeed just around the corner and the shuttle bus to the airport runs every 40 minutes. This shuttle service can be booked at the Reception Desk and has availability for 8 guests at a time.

Again, thank you very much for leaving our future guests such a useful review.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After reading other reviews on this page I was a little concerned about this hotel. However, the service we received was second to none. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful and always very polite. The room was wonderful and we had a brilliant time despite my partner collapsing in reception due to sciatica. Would highly recommend this hotel. Although it was not in the city centre the tram is just down the road and very easy to get to the city. Amazing stay thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boldie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Boldie2014,

What an amazing review! Thank you very much for sharing all these wonderful words regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre with the rest of the world.
I’m especially delighted with your compliments towards the service delivered, since this is one of our main focus points!

It was a pleasure welcoming such an appreciating guest and I do hope to do so again!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very much a Hip style hotel in architecture but modernised and upgraded. Rooms are Funky & functional. The Rooftop terrace is a nice escape for cocktails or luncht -
The restaurant is highly rated and very good. Food in the bar is also very good. The Gym is is excellent, and there is a park (Rembrandpark) very close where you can run/walk/bike.

Neighbourhood is very upcoming with nice squres and cute restaurants.

Easy walk to the city or just take the tram

Service is very professional and efficient - staff are nice and friendly.

So a great place for a great Deal!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Melle S,

Thank you very much for leaving us such an amazing review. I will definitely share all these words among the Ramada team!

On the 19th Floor, we did indeed recently open the highest Rooftop bar in Amsterdam. This rooftop bar does not only provide you the best cocktails in town, it definitely shows you every spot in Amsterdam!

Again, thank you very much for staying at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to welcome you back once more.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in late May. My goodness what a beautiful hotel as soon as you walk in you are greeted with a clean and modern looking hotel. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and even had bolt cutters for my friend who had lost her keys for the padlock.
The rooms were clean and tidy and very welcoming, the location is good if you want to use the trams which are just five minutes or way or want to walk.
I was a bit surprised to see that there was a farm opposite the hotel but this does not take anything away from the hotel.
I went to their Sky Lounge on the 17th floor for a sumptuous dinner on the last night and the food was AMAZING and worth every penny.

My only issue is that the taxi firms that the hotel call for you are very expensive and I would suggest getting a price BEFORE getting into the taxi. Ended up paying 38Euros for a taxi from the hotel to the airport, not impressed!
Overall I was VERY happy with the hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Sandra N,

Thank you very much for sharing all your amazing comments on Tripadvisor. A 5 bullet rating like yours really means the world to me and my team!

The farm across the road, situated in the Rembrandt Park, is actually a petting. Especially for our guests travelling with children, this is a real nice farm to visit.

Regarding the taxi I would like to inform you that this is a normal price to pay for a ride to the airport. The taxis, used by the reception, are absolutely most reliable in Amsterdam.
Again, thank for leaving us such a pleasant review and I do hope to welcome you back in the (near) future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was mid way from the airport & the city centre. We were picked up from the airport & delivered to the hotel. The driver was friendly & gave us a few tips. Although it is out of town, the tran stop is but a couple of minutes away from the hotel. They run so frequently its a pleasure to use. I would recommend buying the day passes, these are great value for money.
Desk staff were nice & pleasant, the foyer is quite modern & the hotel is clean throughout. My only concern was having to take a deposit , but It was explained that they take a swipe of my card but unless I charged to my room there wont be any use for it. We didn't & they're was no problem.
The room was small but it was fine, big bed, nice bathroom. All you could need really, some glasses in the room would have been helpful. other than that spot on.
My husband & I stayed B&B, this was a great option, the breakfast supplied was amazing. We really couldn't believe the selection provided. We were fully expecting the usual continental but this far surpassed our expectations. I have travelled a lot, both work & pleasure, this was by far the best breakfast Iv experienced. The views out over the city were fab too.
There was a few Euros to pay for the shuttle back to the airport, & this again was pleasant & prompt.
If you have a little time to kill I would recommend a stroll through the park opposite. A lovely way to kill a bit of time until we left.
Over all a great experience, we are looking to return to both Amsterdam & the Apollo hopefully with a similar deal in the Autumn. Great first experience of this city

Room Tip: Quiet throughout
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lasqueezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear lasqueezee,

Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely and extended review on Tripadvisor! A 5 star rating like yours is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team.

I am especially delighted with your compliments towards the service delivered, since this is one of our main focus points. Next to this, I am very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the facilities on Floor 17.

It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to welcome you once more.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.8 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#115 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing