We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good in parts!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #77 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good in parts!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

As others have said, this hotel is lovely inside(who cares about the outside). Room was on the 3rd floor and very modern. The only gripe we had was that the pillows were more like cushions and my head kept falling off it in the night and also no teaspoon or milk in the room. Beds extremely comfortable, shower and bathroom brilliant.

Now comes the nasty bit. For our evening meal we opted for the buffet which was 25 € per head and we were asked for this before eating, but we were absolutely appalled with what was on offer - either salad or soup to start, only one main course to choose from which was beef curry and noodles, fruit salad, cake, or chocolate mousse for desert. We were told by the waitress that had we come a bit earlier we could have had lasagne too but this had all gone. We complained and the manager was sent over. She agreed it was not good enough and gave us a refund of half the amount we paid. The hotel need to sort this out but I suppose there is a captive market with no decent eateries around the area. Breakfast next morning was certainly not up to scratch either with very little to choose from if you didn't fancy meat, cheese and salad for breakfast. Just glad we were only there one night and shan't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Ours was very good and on third floor and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanbean6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Hari_Ganapathy,

Thank you very much for these wonderful words on tripadvisor! A 5 bullet review like yours is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team.

I’m especially delighted with your compliments towards our staff since this is one of our main focus points.

It was a pleasure welcoming you in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again in the (near) future!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    952
    267
    80
    59
See reviews for
276
1,105
82
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

the room was a welcome relief from the "small rooms" prevalent across major cities in Europe. the staff was very friendly. The breakfast spread was nothing to complain about. If you are flying in, do use their shuttle service, saves a lot of money and trouble! only wish they had the service on till 11 in the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Hari_Ganapathy,

Thank you very much for these wonderful words on tripadvisor! A 5 bullet review like yours is a big compliment to the whole Ramada team.

I’m expecially delighted with your compliments towards our staff since this is one of our main focus points.

It was a pleasure welcoming you in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre and I do hope to do so again in the (near) future!


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Recently refurbished hotel - which could offer decent room quality - at least in theory. However poor maintenance level: problems with heating, water on the carpet, no hot water in shower, lights could not be switched off. The only positive things about the room - beds are quite good, windows are soundproof. Had to change rooms in the middle of the night as staff was not capable of fixing the problems.
Staff rather uncoordinated, not very professional.Room was assigned even though reception knew that maintenance (water on carpet) in that room is an issue, colleague was assigned a room that was already in use by someone else.
Breakfast - a real deseaster which is only beaten by the unfriendly, unprofessional service in the bar. Located on the 17 floor the bar would offer a great view of the city, at least in theory. However the staff seems to do everything to defend their precious ingredients against guests who dare to order something - unprofessional, unfriendly, almost hostile.
in addition: hotel is massively overpriced (175 € per night).
A clear NO-GO - among my personal top-10 negative hotel experiences !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGR-FRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear MGR-FRA,

I’m very sorry to read about your rather negative experience at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I do understand that this has been discussed with several members of staff during your stay. Unfortunately, we were not able to provide the service expected. Please contact me in person so we can discuss this matter.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed while on business. From the outside it looks like an awful old tower block but inside the welcome was friendly. Views from the 17th floor would be good if there was anything nice to see, but it's just apartment blocks everywhere. Convenient for the airport hence the large amount of airline crew staying there and having parts of the restaurant cordoned off for them. Also I have never had trouble getting a seat at breakfast at 7am in a hotel before but I did ever morning here. The place was full of what appeared to be tour groups and it was packed. Restaurant service at lunch was very slow. Room service was a pathetic menu of two main courses and it failed to arrive. The bedroom was ok but no mini bar so no chilled water and the shower head in the bathroom would only point at the wall. The bathroom door was massive and got in the way while the step up into the bathroom was just plain dangerous. Highlight for me was the airport courtesy bus driver who was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Richard B,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to write us a review on tripadvisor. I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed the service provided by our shuttle driver.

I would also like to thank you for providing us with your constructive feedback; this can be used to constantly update our level of service.

On the other side, I’m very surprised that you were able to only spot the apartment blocks from the 17th floor. The view from our top floor does provide a view over the whole city of Amsterdam.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a lovely hotel on the outskirts of the city but easily accessible by tram 13 from the city. the stop is right next to the hotel and trams are very frequent. Our room on the 3rd floor was lovely and very clean, but as other reviewers say the hanging space is very small and dominated by the ironing board and iron! However adequate for short stays. Rooms very quiet, beds very comfy and bathroom nice with walk in shower though shower pressure not great. TV in room excellent with all BBC and most ITV channels available. excellent free WiFi throughout hotel. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good and on 17th Floor with lovely views over the city. Try the delicious bread that you cut for yourself! I would like to give some 'constructive criticism' for management to be aware of, but would stress this did not in any way spoil our stay. On our last morning, Monday, when we went for breakfast at 8am there were insufficient staff clearing and wiping tables resulting in guests clearing dirty plates onto window sills. I did find a very obliging waiter who came and cleaned our table. then more staff appeared but if you left food on the table unattended to go and get something it was liable to be cleared away, so we took it in turns but our poor coach driver lost all his food when he went to get a coffee!! Need to get the clearing away balance right! Maybe if waiters were assigned a specific area of the dining room they may be aware which guests had finished and which had merely wandered off for more coffee or food! Room serviced well except used item not always replaced like toothbrush beakers and tea/coffee/sugar etc. Milk in dining area much nice than powdered milk in rooms. These comments are just to help you make the hotel even better and did not detract from our wonderful stay. Many thanks .

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the view request on on upper floors but even 3rd floor had nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boudewijn M, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jeffrosie,

Thank you very much fir this tremendous review on tripadvisor! A 5 bullet reward like yours really means the world to me and my team.

Next to these wonderful words, I would also like to thank you for providing us with suggestions to update our level of service. This will definitely be shared among the team.

Again, thank you very much for leaving us a review and I do hope to welcome you back in de (near) future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The location of hotel is bit out side from town, but not made problem since very easy to reach central amsterdam or central station, just walk to the corner and take tram to city. Nice view from the room you could have few of amsterdam. Room clean and comfort. Breakfast in 17 floor you will enjoy nice view of whole amsterdam.

Helpful?
3 Thank ong_giri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear ong_giri,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us a review on tripadvisor!

I would also like to thank you for providing such useful information to our future guests regarding the public transportation.

It was a pleasure welcoming you as a guest, and I do hope to do so again in the future.


With kind regards,

Boudewijn Martens
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Ramada Apollo for 3 nights over a long weekend in Amsterdam. The hotel is very conveniently located, with the No 13 tram stop nearby, which takes you right into Central Station. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking the nearby motorway - not a romantic view, but the sound insulation was so good that we never heard any road noise. The beds were extremely comfortable, amongst the best we have slept on in a hotel for a long time. The room was well equipped with a room safe, a kettle and the wherewithal to make tea and coffee, although proper cups would have been nicer than the cardboard ones provided. Brits should take their own tea bags and milk, because the tea provided was not as we know it! Once we got the hang of it, the air conditioning kept the room temperature just as we like it. Breakfast, which was comprehensive and of good quality, was taken on Floor 17, which gave a panoramic view over the city. We visited the bar, on the same floor, in the evening, and had the same breathtaking view, of the city at night. Although a limited range of food was available, we felt that it was expensive,, so hopped into the city for evening meals. Service was polite and efficient throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller130853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Traveller130853,

Thank you very much for all your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

The fact that this bed was extremely comfortable is from great importance to us! Also your compliments regarding the delivered service will definitely be shared among the Ramada team.

It was a pleasure reading your review and all your suggestions for our future guests.


With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
0.8 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing