We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool
1 review
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed three nights weekend of 9th/10th Nov.

Don't have any moans except perhaps silly bar prices, for tiny drinks, but suppose this is the way they are served. Room quiet and clean . Location 15mins from Dam Square. Tram every 15mins. We were not charged this 150 Euro refundable thing....and the paper cups people have mentioned, are clearly there (along with the plastic lid) , so you can take your coffee out with you.

Dont have prob with this hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dezg1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear dezg1971,

Thank you very much for sharing your Ramada experience with the rest of the world.

We do highly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the near future!

With kinds regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    1,113
    326
    96
    79
See reviews for
319
1,396
91
360
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at the Ramada for 3 days in mid November and it is an excellent hotel in a very convenient position. Room , views , reception, breakfast all very good .
Room was small but very well laid our , excellent en suite
Reception staff efficient and friendly
Breakfast plentiful and taty with lots of choice and the view amazing !
The only bad experience wa on the night we returned rain soaked for a drink in the bar after drying off. A very unfriendly woman asked if she " could help me" as I entered the bar area and told me the bar was "full" and there were "no seats" . We could see quite clearly there was plenty of room and I explained we did not need a seat to enjoy a drink so walked into the bar where there were tables and very large unoccupied areas ! This experience really ruined our day and surely this hotel needs to realise their customer service needs to extend to all areas.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steamboatglossop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Steamboatglossop,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I´m very surprised with your experience in our restaurant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will certainly look into this unpleasant closure of your day.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in person if there is anything I can assist you with in the near future.

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The sky bar is not all it's cracked up to be. Bar is good but restaurant is over priced. Chef obviously got a carbonater for his birthday, I got pea foam for amuse bouche, foam on top of my risotto then a meagre tasting carbonated cream which was labelled as ice cream. The rooms were fine but we stayed 3 nights and had 2 single beds with single duvets pushed together and the beds were never properly made by housekeeping. Just shaken out a bit. I've never experienced that before. Used cups and glasses weren't replaced and when we requested replacements we were told we could collect them from reception (ten floors down). I would be inclined to say book another hotel. Location was handy to catch a tram into town though.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklesandspangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sparklesandspangles,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience in the restaurant did not meet your expectations. The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident, and I would appreciate hearing your remarks in person!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Cracking hotel. Make sure you book in advance for the best deals. Cost 35 euros in a taxi from the airport and the tram number 13 serves the hotel really well. Definitely eat at Radijs nearby. The view for breakfast must be one of the best in Amsterdam from floor 17. It is a little crowded and they obviously take block bookings from chinese tour operators. I did find it a little random how Asian travellers had their own section for breakfasts. Staff were great and the selection of fresh tea was super. The luggage room has free lockers. Bed was comfy and room had a great view from floor 7

Room Tip: Go high!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmeads21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear bigmeads21,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5.

We do indeed offer a separate area for some of our guests. If you would like to receive more information about this, please do not hesitate to contact me in person.

I do certainly hope to welcome you back in the near future. We will certainly do our outmost best to make this next stay even more memorable.


With kinds regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We found the hotel very comfortable, good value for money and the staff extremely helpful and courteous. Although the tram goes from almost outside the hotel to the city centre we very much enjoyed walking in either down the interesting main road or slightly less directly via parks and the more "suburban" canals - particularly good for reaching the museum quarter.
The breakfast room was crowded but the breakfasts very good and the views stunning. We also used the excellent hotel shuttle to and from the airport.
Strongly recommended for a short break stay

Room Tip: On the 14th floor we had good views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janandjohn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Janandjohn76,

Thank you very much for granting Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 5 bullets! It is very important for a hotel to produce good reviews as people nowadays will check Tripadvisor first before booking a room.

I will certainly share your experience with all members of staff of the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in early November and had a wonderful time.

Room was small but adequate for what we needed, we tended to use the hotel as a base and so didn't spend much time there. Spotlessly clean and a great shower!
Our room was on the 11th floor so we had an incredible view of the city, would recommend getting a room as high up as possible!

Breakfast is served until 10.30 on weekends which was great to be able to have a lie in! Plenty to choose from, traditional cold meat and cheese, pastries, cooked English breakfasts, smoothies and fruit. Restaurant was on the 17th floor so great to eat your breakfast with such an amazing view!

Staff were friendly and welcoming and did everything to make our stay comfortable, including borrowing us an umbrella in the rain!

There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes you direct into the heart of Amsterdam, which takes about 20mins. Found lots of people seemed to complain about this in the reviews, but we felt it was a nice introduction to seeing the city.

Recommendations of things to do:

The Heineken experience

Canal boat ride

Anne franks house

Would highly recommend getting an I Amsterdam card, (available from most tour shops) costs about 50 euro for 48 hours but includes entrance or discount to most of the museums and covers your tram tickets, it definitely saved us a lot of money, you'll need to go to about 4 museums to get your money's worth which is easily doable in 2 days.

A great stay - would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Rhian1990,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a good time in the city of Amsterdam.

Thank you for choosing our hotel! It’s great to read that you will return! That’s the biggest compliment we can get!

With kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was on a business trip, and I always appreciate it extremely well if the basics are just good and fit for purpose.

And this hotel had that all well set up:
a big and long bed (1.80 wide and 2.2m long!!!)
nice shower and bathroom
stylish room

We had a business meeting as well, and the meeting room was really nice. Beverages and snack supplies were above expectations: fruit, juices, coffee, tea, sweets, cookies. Just very good.

The only remark I have for this hotel is: change the set-up of your breakfast area! The hotel was crowded with Chinese, and it was just chaos in the breakfast area. Getting your food (which was good) with people crowding the cramped space, walking back and forth, not clear where we they could sit, bumping in each other and so on. Please fix this, and everything is perfect.

Room Tip: I had room 909, and it was very very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaviera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte Xavreist,

Hartelijk dank voor het uw mooie woorden op Tripadvisor. Ik ben erg blij om te lezen dat uw verblijf goed is bevallen! Ik hoop dat wij u in de toekomst wederom mogen verwelkomen als onze gast!

Ik ben erg blij om te lezen dat u zo heeft genoten van uw verblijf. Uw aanbevelingen over onze mogelijkheden zijn geweldig en zullen dan ook zeker besproken worden! Ik zal uw ervaringen met trots met mijn gehele team delen en hoop u nogmaals te mogen begroeten als onze gast!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#121 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing