We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #94 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

awful staff , very rude very unhelpful . service was really bad. the shuttle was supposed to arrive at 8 pm, it did not arrive until 10 pm and when it arrived it did not have enough room for people to sit. so some of us had to sit on the floor because it was the last shuttle and there was not any more. when we got to the hotel they told us that our rooms has not been confirmed although we got the confirmation online. it was 6 of us and the whole point of this journey was that we wanted to be in rooms next to each other, they put us in three different floors after waiting till 1 am at the reception for the rude and unhelpful staff to do our booking.
the whole stay was a nightmare and it was like a horror film.
never going there again and i will not recommend it to any one .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ava n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,142)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 3,142 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

when we got there before 2pm, we were told one room out of 3 was ready. we then got told we had to pay 150 euros safety deposit for each room, when we complained we were told 'well it was a four star hotel' - we wasnt informed our trip of the deposit. we put our bags in the room that was available then explored amsterdam as we were told our rooms would be ready on our return. at 10.30pm we came back to the hotel, one room was ready the other wasnt, so we waited for a porter to arrive with the third bed. Not happy - two beds were ok in the two triple rooms but the third person had to sleep on a metal camp bed for the duration of the holiday, the room was then very cramped. cups were plastic throw away ones, breakfast was good. we paid for one room to be deluxe but it was the same as the other two rooms. we stayed in the great western in march 2013 and it was far far more better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristol1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend to visit the ADE music festival for his birthday. Lovely smart and clean hotel, whilst the room was not large it was a perfect size for a couple and the bed was extremely comfortable meaning a few great nights sleep.
The hotel is not in the centre of town however getting to town was no hardship with the number 13 tram stopping right outside which took you all the way to centraal station. Town was also only a 35-40 minute walk.
We did not use the restaurant at all so could not comment on the food however those that we saw leaving the restaurant seemed happy enough.

We received a warm welcome when we arrived and were even more pleased when they told us we had a room on the 16th floor which had an amazing view of Rembrandt Park. Lovely to wake up to.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Amsterdam. It may not be the cheapest hotel but you got a lot for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliebou2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very good location!!!! just 10 minutes to City Center by Tram! and tram cost is just 2.80 Euros, and thats it... also, staff is very polite, nice, helping and good overall... Also well cleaned and i like the interior design of the rooms and the lobby... and the best part is, eating breakfast is on a 17th floor! :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the right side in the hotel... the once facing the center of the city, and try t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ygphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for a long weekend holiday. I'd recommend this hotel.

Even though the hotel is a little bit out of city center, it is very easy to travel to the center (Central Station, Dam Square etc.) via Tram 13. The tram stop is just in front of the hotel. It takes 15-25 min depending on when you go to the center.

Hotel looks and feels very new. Rooms are kind of small but sufficient for a young couple.

There is a complimentary shuttle service from Schiphol Airport. But they charge 5 Eur/p.p. to bring back you to the airport. I think it is a very reasonable price considering the effort and money you would spend taking taxi or public transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vladivostox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Had the most excellent martini on the 17th Floor at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam. One that even 007 would be more than impressed by. Mr Mark Horne (actual name) reputation is internationally acclaimed apparently and the results are in my opinion a most definite YES!! He works in the top echelon of the industry and if you ever find this guy I suggest you experience his skill and am certain Daniel Craig would like to meet and experience his Vespa's, he's the best in the world and I travel I! Stirred, not shaken of course. Mitch

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Pricey-712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

it 's the first time i been here.good location and wonderful room.The room look really nice and have a big bathroom. Big and good breakfast. easy public transport we had a great time in this wonderful city,bathroom is great, always clean, amazing huge shower. plenty of soap thanked to a very clever and nice dispensable soap mechanism. you won't run out of soap by those little bottle you find in every hotel ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,120 reviews
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $105 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing