We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Experiences I've Ever Had at a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #102 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I must say my stay at the Ramada Apollo Hotel in Amsterdam has to rank in the top 2 hotel experiences that I have ever had. The rooms were very clean. Hotel had great amenity options, an airport shuttle, free wifi throughout the hotel, and modern style rooms. The hotel is also located about one to two minutes walk away from the # 13 tram that takes you to Central Station (Amsterdam city centre). Train ride takes 10-15 minutes to get there. While all those things are great, what put this experience over the top was the outstanding customer service we received from the staff. Especially from Raymond and Stan. They went way above and beyond to accommodate our needs and we greatly appreciate them for it. When you are looking for a nice, clean hotel at a good value in a convenient location in Amsterdam, I recommend the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBrown84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,729 - 1,735 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The ramada is a very nice modern hotel. The double room was nicely decorated and very clean but perhaps a little small.

We had requested a room with a view of the park on a high floor which we got number 1608. Unfortunately this room was directly under the stairs in the skybar so heard people clunking up and down. Wasn't anything to complain about much though and we did ask for it!

The hotel is outside the city in a residential area but tram 13 takes you to central station in about 15 mins. We purchased the Iamsterdam 48 hour card at the airport which was great for getting around.

The park beside the hotel is lovely. The zoo is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear julza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service and product.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had the best stay ever!

What a wonderderfull hotel & friendly staf!!
The reception staff helped us out with our special requirements and made our stay really pleasant!

We stayed here for 3 nights and had dinner in Floor17 every night.

Floor17 is a very nice bar & restaurant and the staff is very professional, friendly and courteous.

A very special thanks to roy & mark for making us lovely cocktails everyday!

A really big plus is the breakfast area, to wake up with fresh coffee and the best view over Amsterdam from the 17th floor is really amazing! The staff here is also really polite and friendly!

Thank you Ramada & Floor17

Room Tip: Take a top floor room for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mellin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mellin22,

What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.

How nice that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and of course the city Amsterdam especially for your special occasion. Your kind words about the hotel itself and the bartenders Roy and Marc are really appreciated. I will make sure that Roy and Marc are informed about your positive comments. It is nice to hear the hotel met up all your expectations and that you had a great stay in Amsterdam.

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for a two night break. The free shuttle from the airport was brilliant. The unexpected free upgrade to an executive suite on the twelfth floor with its gigantic bed and stunning views was a wonderful surprise. The hotel facilities were excellent and everything was spotlessly clean. The bar on the seventeenth floor served divine cocktails, and had brilliant views of the city with a chilled out vibe ( and a smoking lounge!).
We bought 48 hour travel cards from the tourist information on arrival at Schipol for only twelve euros which meant we could hop on and off the trams all weekend. The hotel is ideally situated on line 13 and is only about fifteen minutes from Dam Square.
Really enjoyed this break, am totally chilled now! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite. I would pay the extra and book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

karen273,

Thank you for granting us the maximum score. That's a very generous gesture!

I am happy to read that you really enjoyed your break, and that you are totally chilled now!
It is the biggest compliment that you would stay in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre again!

Thank you so much!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Ramada Apollo
Amsterdam
6 Aug. 2013
N 52 22.068
E004 50.657

Very nice hotel, Service personal very friendly and helpful. The rooms to me was 5 star ++. The wife fell in love with the bath room (WC). Breakfast was outstanding and to make it better it was on the 17th floor where you got an outstanding view of the area.
This hotel was booked by Cosmo Tours.
Thanks
Emry & Virginia Latimer

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Emry L,

Thank you very much for granting Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 5 bullets! It is very important for a hotel to produce good reviews as people nowadays will check Tripadvisor first before booking a room.

Your comments about the room; that they are 5 star ++ are really appreciated!!

I am proud we made a difference and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute and we thought our stay was very average with some good things to note and disappointments which I will list below. Our stay was from August 4th to 10th.

Pros:
- Modern and bright room with lots of electrical outlets for your laptop/mobile/ipad and even in the bathroom for the curling iron.
- Great channel options on the flat screen tv
- Comfortable bed
- Iron and ironing board in the room (but you have to take it out of the cupboard and place it on the floor so you have space to hang your clothes.
- The tram was a short, less than 5 minute walk with every 15 minute service and about 15mins to the main square (Dam Square) and 20mins to the central train station. Just beware that if you stay out past 9pm the service becomes every 30mins. Tram costs 7.50 euros daily or 12.50 euros for 48hrs or 2.80 euros for a one hour pass.
- Friendly staff for the most part.
- Convenient free shuttle from the airport and only 5euros per person for the return trip, which must be booked ahead of time. It runs every 40mins from about 6am.

Cons:
- Hotel is located a bit outside the main area and very dark at night. It's also not convenient to drop off your shopping and head back out to the main area after being out all day due to the distance. Many times we really wished we could just relax in the hotel for an hour or so and then go back out but it didn't make sense so we just stayed out for an extra couple of hours or so.
- Not much in area for restaurants or shops
- Small, tight room for 2 people
- Poor headboard layout so both people are at far ends of the bed.
- uncomfortably soft and small pillows (got a cricked neck my first night)
- Poor customer service from just one male reception person a couple of nights ago. I asked for an extra pillow from reception as I got a cricked neck and was told to use a couple of towels! I asked to still please send up an extra pillow, which never came so I had to call again and his colleague (tall blond) brought one up personally.
- Poor room service. I left 1/2 cup of tea to come back and still find it on the desk later that night and they never remove used paper cups. They vacuumed just once during our stay. The shower dispenser soap was empty for 3 days and they also just replaced 1 small square of a bar of soap for the sink on one occasion so we used that for the shower as well.
- No room fridge
- Little options for tea and coffee.
- No mini bar
- No hotel guide/information package available. Not even a pen or pencil to write with although there was a very small notepad. There was no notation on the phone so we didn't know how to call reception (dial 9). We had to ask the next day upon heading out as we were not given the wifi code upon check-in. We also didn't know if there was room service or if there was, what was available so we just never bothered. This is a last minute wish after returning at about midnight wanting a snack.

The hotel appearance inside is a 4 star in my opinion but everything else makes it a 3.5 or a 3 star. It seem as if it's going through growing pains of staff training. I would possibly stay here again but first look for something closer to the center. I would recommend it to friends but would let them know the above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mi_AahDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mi_AahDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our product.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 1209 from August 04th to 10th 2013

Pros:
--shuttle bus from airport very convenient, cost only 5 euros to go back to airport
-free wi fi
-tv channels were good for English
-great view from our room
-reception staff were very polite, accommodating

Cons:
-no phone number directory in the room for hotel services...had to go down to the front desk to ask what the phone number for the front desk was (dial 9) so we could get the password for the wi fi
- as we had no other phone numbers, did not call for room service as we did not know if there even was
-room quite small
-check in is late...3:00PM
-bed was uncomfortable
-pillows were uncomfortable
-no bar fridge in our room
-cleaning was poor....floor was not vacuumed daily, paper cups provided for tea and coffee were not thrown in trash if we left them on the desk or in the bathroom. We had to clean the hot water kettle
-shower soap ran out and was not replaced for 3 days
-a bit far out of town. location not bad, but a bit far out of town...about 20 minutes by # 13 tram to downtown, 4 minute walk from hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear rnmiddleeast,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the reception employees.

The phone number directory in the room for hotel services are located on the television. I am really sorry to read that you thought there was no directory.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for this.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,002 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,182 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,335 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#114 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $87 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing