We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel but room cleaning poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #92 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 1209 from August 04th to 10th 2013

Pros:
--shuttle bus from airport very convenient, cost only 5 euros to go back to airport
-free wi fi
-tv channels were good for English
-great view from our room
-reception staff were very polite, accommodating

Cons:
-no phone number directory in the room for hotel services...had to go down to the front desk to ask what the phone number for the front desk was (dial 9) so we could get the password for the wi fi
- as we had no other phone numbers, did not call for room service as we did not know if there even was
-room quite small
-check in is late...3:00PM
-bed was uncomfortable
-pillows were uncomfortable
-no bar fridge in our room
-cleaning was poor....floor was not vacuumed daily, paper cups provided for tea and coffee were not thrown in trash if we left them on the desk or in the bathroom. We had to clean the hot water kettle
-shower soap ran out and was not replaced for 3 days
-a bit far out of town. location not bad, but a bit far out of town...about 20 minutes by # 13 tram to downtown, 4 minute walk from hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear rnmiddleeast,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about you stay with us.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our service provided by the reception employees.

The phone number directory in the room for hotel services are located on the television. I am really sorry to read that you thought there was no directory.
The points you make regarding the cleanliness of your room is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for this.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,685 - 1,691 of 3,224 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at the Apollo earlier this week with my daughter. We found it an ideal location, relatively quiet but convenient for the city centre - about 15 - 20 minutes on the number 13 tram, which was conveniently just round the corner, and ran about every 15 minutes. There is a free shuttle from the airport - you have to use the call button at the hotel shuttle stop outside the airport entrance. We were told one was already on the way, but ended up having to wait over half an hour. However, the money saved by getting the free shuttle paid for a cocktail later!! You do have to pay 5 euros for the return trip, and book in advance, but it was well worth it.
Our room was clean, comfortable, and a reasonable size. My only criticism is that, when leaning over to clean your teeth, there was a bit of a drain smell from the wash basin waste. Maybe a regular dose of bleach or soda crystals would help.
We were booked in for room only, and enquired about breakfast when we checked in. It's expensive, but 12,50 euros when booked on arrival, as opposed to 17,50 euros on the day, so we booked. Although expensive, we enjoyed it and felt the choice was good. Neither of us is keen on cooked breakfast, so can't comment on that, but we enjoyed what we had, including some delicious pancakes.
We did go into the bar on the 17th floor for a drink on a couple of evenings. It was fairly quiet, and they did check for last orders while we were there (about 11.45 I should think). Cocktails started at about 8,50 euros, and we enjoyed a glass of prosecco for 6 euros. I would say the prices were pretty typical hotel prices.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and we would certainly go back if visiting Amsterdam in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank mabDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear mabDevon,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

It has been a pleasure to welcome you to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here late December and loved it. The hotel was modern, clean and a good price.

It is a little out of the way but we enjoyed getting the tram into the city centre. Plus, the bar had some great views and lovely cocktails!

We would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the closer you are to the bar ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Emma B,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just back from a 2-night stay which was most enjoyable. Our room was on the 15th floor and so the views were exceptional.
Thr hotel is relatively new with many contemporary design features and it looked as if good quality materials and furniture had been used. Our room was not spacious, but perfectly adequate, and the bed was comfortable. Not all the features were to our liking - for example, the bed-head arrangement seemed odd to us and we would have preferred a more traditional bed-side cabinet or shelf; and storing the ironing board virtually eliminated the clothes hanging space.
The breakfast was first-rate, with plenty of choice, and seating options which allowed you to take advantage of the 17th floor views.
What impressed us most was the staff - efficient, friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the room safe when we arrived (quite late in the evening), but the duty manager arrived to deal with it even before I got back from telling reception about it!
The shuttle service from and to the airport was both very useful and a good bargain.
There was an all-day complimentary coffee service from a machine at the breakfast room entrance. Being Scottish, we made good use of this!
We would be happy to return here, if visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Scotty062,

Thank you again for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guests a couple of days. Hopefully you will return someday back to the lovely city of Amsterdam and our hotel.

It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We returned from a 3 night stay at the Apollo last week. The hotel is ideally situated, only a 10 minute tram distance from the centre and the tram stop around the corner-2 min walk from the hotel. We used the courtesy bus from the airport and back again -be sure to book your return which was brilliant and a great saving on a taxi fare of approx 35 euros. All the staff spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble. I have never stayed anywhere -even 5 star hotels where the staff were so fantastic. It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel with such wonderful views, brilliant location and superb staff. The hotel is only 8 months old and you can still smell the new carpets. The hotel doesn't have a pool but there is an outside pool just around the corner.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor _ room 1504 - excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plymouthss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Plymouthss,

“Excellent hotel and superb staff” what a great start for a review!
I totally agree that the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is ideally situated.

I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a Hotel Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!
I am over the moon to read that you have never stayed anywhere -even 5 star hotels where the staff were so fantastic!!

We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

to be had at this hotel, only paid approx £180 for a three night stay in a de-lux room and we were very satisfied with standard. Yes rooms are small but very nicely appointed and very comfortable beds! We didn't eat in restaurant so cannot comment on food. Having the tram stop just outside is so beneficial, takes you into centre in 15 mins. We paid 16 euros for a 72 hour pass and was well worth the money as an individual journey is 2.5 euro. Had a really nice stay in Amsterdam just wished we had stayed for 4 nights, lovely weather too :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisaoneill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear lisaoneill2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the lovely weather too!

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had an initial problem with the room tv which was not fixed as promised the next morning. Upon complaining to Reception, Duty Manager appeared and immediately whisked us off to a Corner Suite as compensation. Very impressed.

Bar staff very friendly, very clean rooms and helpful staff. Definitely will use again

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pokertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear pokertom,

I really enjoyed reading your feedback about your stay. Thank you for all your kind words and positive feedback. I will make sure that the entire team will be informed about this.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I am really happy that you will return to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,982 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,247 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $93 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing