We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rambling happily in the Ramada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #83 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Old Kilpatrick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Rambling happily in the Ramada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent Hotwired choice, modern; staff younger but excellent; comfy beds; brilliant Floor 17 with elegant bar, food, and even an (enclosed) Smoking Lounge! Food (buffet breakfast) was brilliant as were the views from 17. Tram 13 right outside and heads to Centraal passing just about everything! Speedy lifts, menu for everything on TV, lots of channels on it also!! Fitness Room etc also available...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peterlmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Peterlmurray,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. What a compliment you "Rambling happily in the Ramada"! We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our young and excellent staff.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    1,129
    334
    100
    79
See reviews for
326
1,420
92
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Beautiful Hotel in Amtserdam, good service, good welcome, super silent room, extra large shower, extra large bed, sauna and fit area, beautiful panorama from my 14th's room with ultra-large windows. I think is one of the best of whole Holland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andreacorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Andreacorre,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5!

I am really happy to read that you think that the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre is one of the best hotels of whole Holland! That is really a big compliment for us!

Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed via Thomas cook as part of a package for Chelsea football club to see the cup final. We had a quick check in and no problems with our room. The city of Amsterdam was a 20 min ride on the tram which is every 4mins the hotel is situated right next to Rembrandt park which is a great walk with plenty of wildlife and a petting zoo. Restaurant was on the17th floor with plenty of variety for breakfast ala in all a good stay,
About 20 mins from schipol airport

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Susan 1927,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities.

I am really happy for you that Chelsea won cup final!

We do hope to welcome you back soon to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Reception area is very nice. The room is a bit small- there's a suit case seat but if you open it to put your case on you basically can't walk round the room. There is max one and a half feet from the bed to the wall and bizarrely the headboard has been cut out so you can't even sit up on the bed and basically that's the ony place you can sit. So have been perching in the middle of the bed. Asked for a room with a bath and was asked to pay another 35 euros a night - also no wardrobes. So perfectly clean and adequate but all a bit strange and I wouldn't come back

Room Tip: Worth paying up for the executive room as that resembles more like a typical hotel room and gives yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Pippa C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

I take your feedback as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is a great option to save some money compared to the city center hotels - literally around half the price of comparable hotels in the city area. It's very convenient with a free shuttle from the airport ($5 for the return leg if needed), and it is 15 minutes by tram which goes directly to the central station. The tram stop is right behind the hotel on the main road - just a couple of minutes walk, and runs till around midnight.

The hotel itself has new rooms, with a modern feel, clean and comfortable, and friendly staff. Not sure if they were meant to be "traditional" but my only issue was the pillows which were too thick for my liking.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Falcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Falcey,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
I am delighted to read that the hotel was a great option for your visit to Amsterdam.

I will accept your compliments on behalf of my team members, who I know to be constantly seeking to make every guest feel at home.

We do hope to welcome you back soon at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good rooms. The lack of a mini bar in the room is compensated by choice you can directly buy at the reception before going up to your room. As it was rainy, we received free umbrellas for the day. You can also rent a bike or motor scooter from the hotel. Although a bit soutside, the tram No13 leaves directly in front of the hotel, with less than 10min to the Dam, City centre. The one way ticket is 2.80 and the dailly ticket is 7.50. They offer a free pick up service from the airport. Just head towards the hotel pick up buses leaving The airport. The transport back to airport needs to be booked in advance with a fee of 5,- per person.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Carmen S,

Thank you for your review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and our location between the airport and the city center. Thank you for sharing the correct public transport options and our bicycle / motor scooter rental at the hotel with other travelers.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotels in the center canals area were much more expensive. This hotel had a reasonable price and the tram is right in front of the hotel and reaches the center in 15 mins.
I couldn't find any good place to have breakfast nearby. You have to either walk 15 mins or take a tram. The other option is to buy the breakfast from the hotel but it was too expensive in my opinion. We usually took the tram to the center and had breakfast there but we end up having it quite late.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AhmadOOka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear AhmadOOka,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

I am sorry to read that in your opinion the breakfast in the hotel is too expensive. I can inform you that we offer breakfast for €12.50 instead of €17.50 when you book breakfast upon arrival at the reception for your entire stay.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing