We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ramada Opollo Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #92 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is new ( only been opened for 6 months). It was exceptionally clean. The staff were excellent. The only downside was the food . What there was was tasty and well presented but not an extensive menu. The restaurant was on the 17th floor giving a wonderful view over Amsterdam. The rooms were lovely if a little on the cold side. The beds were large and comfy.

Room Tip: Go to a higher level for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Janice K,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 bullet review!
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and the hotel facilities.

The Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre Team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back during on one of your next trips to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 3,218 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Ramada Apollo for a week at the end of March. The weather was terrible with below freezing temperatures and a strong 20 -30 MPH wind many days. Other than the poor weather in Amsterdam, the hotel was excellent. It was a delightful experience. There were many positives for hotel including a very convenient tram No. 13 on the main street in front of the hotel. It is a short ride to downtown. The hotel shuttle to / from the airport was a huge advantage over many of the other places to stay. Free to use on the inbound and only 5 Euro to return. There is a very large supermarket called Derk’s and a bakery next door to it only 3 blocks away (a 5-7 minute walk). When leaving the hotel, go right on the main road with the tram to the first traffic light at the main square. The supermarket and bakery are in the left back corner of the square next to the round restaurant. I bought breakfast there every morning and found the prices very comparable to those in the US. The hotel is extremely quiet and I never heard another guest while in my room for a week. The queen and king beds were very comfortable and up to American standards (not the normal 2 twins pushed together as is common in Europe). I was upgraded to a corner deluxe room which was 30-40% larger than a standard room with a huge bath with a separate bath tub and shower plus a very large his / her double sink. The bath was double in size to those in the standard rooms. There is a lovely and safe park next door to take a nice walk which I did.

There were only a few negatives for the hotel. The worst one was that the receptionist (her name badge started with an “H”) would not allow anyone to check in the first Sunday I was there until after 3 PM. She insisted they were full and needed to clean the rooms. But after all night international flights, I and many other people were exhausted and forced to sit in the lobby for many hours. We all understood the need for other guests to check-out and the rooms to be cleaned. However, there were many people checking out and the house cleaning staff were continuously cleaning the rooms starting at 8 AM. Yet this receptionist repeatedly told me and others to only come back after 3 PM and never bothered to even check to see if some of the rooms were cleaned by noon or 1 PM. Out of frustration with the situation, I went to another receptionist at 2 PM and my room was available! I am sure H would have still refused to check for me. This is really a poor policy and more effort needs to be made to “fast track” early arriving international guest who have been on all night flights. Refusing to check the computer to see if an assigned room is available is poor customer service. Not all high floor rooms have great views. There is a large fabric sign on the outside of the building covering the entire windows of 4 to 6 rooms on floors 15 and 16 on one side of the building. Rooms with numbers 1523, 1623, etc. have this problem. It is like looking out through sheer curtains from the inside so avoid these rooms and others close to them.

Overall, the staff was excellent except for the one receptionist as noted above. H needs to be retrained in providing customer service and not routinely fall back on the most restrictive hotel policy as an excuse for not checking room availability.

Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are big upgrade from the standard rooms even on the lower floors. Go to the supermarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed999StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Ed999StLouis,

Thank you so much for your nice comments!

I'm delighted to read that our hotel was excellent and that It was a delightful experience!
That is exactly what we are ranking for!

I am sorry about the trouble you had with receptionist "H". Our cleaning staff start cleaning the rooms from 10 am on Sunday, so not at 8 am. Our receptionists always try to check in guests who come early to the hotel. Unfortunately it is not possible to check in guests so early when we are fully booked. I sincerely hope you understand this situation.

I sincerely hope the good things prevailed at the end of the day and that they will eventually make you decide to choose our hotel again for a future Amsterdam trip.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have a lot of praise for this hotel and Amsterdam in general.From the outset of our trip we were greeted and treated like individuals as opposed to customers by all.

Arriving at the airport you exit the main building passing the iamamsterdam sign and head right toward the general hotel shuttle/buses area and look out for A9 stop. From here you can communicate directly with the hotel via the intercom or simply check the departure times on the board.

When the shuttle arrived we were greeted pleasantly and the driver was courteous and inquisitive about our upcoming time in Amsterdam. It was a short drive, roughly 20 mins to the hotel.

The reception staff were both polite and informative upon arrival. The room was of a high standard with a modern feel and a great view over the city. Our room was lucky enough to have a bath and a shower which was fantastic.Whilst I can't comment on the restaurant in terms of the evening service there is ample selection on offer for breakfast accompanied by a great view of the city.

Access to the city is simple by crossing the road opposite the rear of the hotel and getting the tram (number 13 naar Centraal station) from the middle island towards the city centre. It takes roughly 20-25 mins. Facing away from the hotel this is the tram that is going right.

The hotel is not ideally located but the access to the centre is relatively straightforward so this is compensated for.

Overall, a wonderful hotel to return to after a long day walking around

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear StuartJ1,

"Fantastic" what a great start for a review!

I am so delighted to read that you have a lot of praise for the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre!

Your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with the entire team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Warm regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very well situated hotel - with easy access to the centre of Amsterdam, via the brilliant tram service which runs frequently and is very easy to work out!! Hotel itself very smart - excellent restaurant on the 17th floor, with brilliant views over the city - food god but expensive. Restaurant staff were very helpful, explained each dish and its origin when they brought it out. Reception staff not particularly friendly, and no information given about amenities etc.. Room servicing left a lot to be desired though - glasses not removed/changed daily and no toilet paper!!!!! For a hotel of this standard, felt this was a little poor. Very odd mattress 'topper' which kept moving in the night!!!!
Free courtesy bus from the airport to the hotel - you can leave your luggage on day of departure (no charge) and book the courtesy bus back to the airport for €5 each - good value.

Room Tip: It really doesn't seem to matter in this hotel as all rooms seem to have a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esmerelda337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Esmerelda337,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed 7nights from 22-29th March. On arrival, we used the shuttle service which is located at the A9 bus/coach stop (when exiting Schiphol airport, you will see a massive red and white 'Iamsterdam' sign, take a right to find the A9 stand). Pick up times are every 40minutes between 6:20 and 22:45. It would be best to contact the hotel where they can give you a full timetable of the shuttle service. The shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel was free of charge however it cost 5euros per person from hotel to airport. We had a very friendly driver, who gave us excellent information about the hotel and area.

The hotel reception is exactly as pictured in the professional photos which was a reassuring delight. At the desk we were greeted by pleasant reception staff. Check-in was quick and simple. We were aware of a potential deposit charge so we came prepared. As we were staying 7 nights we were asked for an 'accidental damage' deposit of 150euros. We didn't want to use our credit card so a cash deposit was given and an invoice was printed out which we presented to get our deposit back on check-out. We were issued with hotel city map, 2 digital key cards and a room on the 14th floor with spectacular views.

We booked a standard, queen bed room (we added a note during booking asking that they make sure the bed is actually a queen bed and not two single beds pushed together). The room was a bit on the compact side in terms of movement space but this didn't spoil our cosy stay. As the hotel is less than a year old, the interior design of the room is very modern and chic.

Main room: queen bed, wall mounted 32inch hdtv, chair, desk with cupboard, table lamp and waste basket, telephone, kettle, tea and coffee, lounge chair, small wardrobe space, security safe, iron and iron board, few coat hangers.
Bathroom: toilet, sink with single lever tap mixer, stand in shower, wall sized mirror, hair dryer, hand towels, bath towels, floor towel and small waste bin.

The queen bed had quality pillows and bedding, with beds made everyday and bed linens changed on the 3rd day. Overall thumbs up as we had a comfortable nights sleep each night. There are also 2 adjustable reading lights at the head of the bed.

32inch tv had many british freeview channels including BBC1&2, ITV, CH4, Film4 etc.

Reports of paper cups for the tea and coffee makers is true which is a bit of a let down. The milk was powdered! Not being a fan of the powdered milk we bought a small carton of milk, poured the milk into an empty bottle, used the carton filled with very cold water and placed the bottle of milk into the carton to keep it chilled. It's unfortunate the room doesn't have a small fridge or chiller. There is only two sachets of sugar which is not enough so we bought extra sugar.
TIP: bring your own mug, or buy a souvenir mug in the city (i did both).

Wardrobe space was only enough for 1 person (I prefer to take out all my clothes from my suitcase for easy access).

I hadn't read any clear reviews detailing a security safe in the room so it was a bonus to find one in our room. I was able to fit my 15inch laptop and other important things.

The lighting in the room was on the dim side. The room had spot lighting around the sides of the room but not a central main light.

The room was quite dusty which may be a problem for asthma suffers. We were unable to open any windows to air out the room. There was temperature controller which seemed to have an automatic setting as it didn't want to co-operate.

The power shower was the best I've experienced, easy temperature and pressure control and 4 different functions. The only let down was the shower was more or less open space and so it can't be helped that water will run out onto the floor; there isn't a sliding door or shower curtain to close. The hotel is well aware of this aspect as a floor towel is laid out everyday. The hand wash and shampoo dispensers was empty but there is a note to contact reception if you need these refilled. I prefer bringing my own toiletries.

The bathroom sink and space was excellent. A one lever mixer for the tap is just so much more easy and convenient to use than two separate hot and cold ones.

There is a preinstalled hair dryer however the strength of the dryer is not suited for ladies with long thick hair. There is also is UK 3 pin socket just underneath the hair dryer which was excellent for my own hair dryer and hair straighteners.

Towels are replaced everyday regardless, even if you leave them hanging up if you don't mind reusing them the next day.

Free WiFi is one of the main reason for booking this hotel and it didn't disappoint. The signal was very strong and there was also the telephone's ethernet cable which I used and plug into my laptop for hi-speed internet.

Tram 13 is very frequent and just outside the hotel on the main road 'Jan Evertsenstraat'. This stop is named Admiraal Helfrichstraat. Each stop has a name and is announced when travelling on the tram which makes it easy to find which stop you need to get off. Tram 13 goes all the way into the city to the last stop Centraal Station in about 15 minutes. You can buy a 1hour pass for 2.80 euros or a 24 hour pass for 7.50euro from the driver at the front, or the tram conductor in the middle.
I don't think you can buy the 48 hours € 12.00, 72 hours € 16.00 or 96 hours € 20.50 passes on the trams, we got ours at a ticket machine at Centraal Station.

Yes the hotel is a distance from the heart of the city, but with the ease of Tram 13 it is nice to come back to a peaceful location away from the noise.

After reading a few reviews stating that there is nothing near the hotel, this is simply not true.
When you exit the hotel to the main road 'Jan Evertsenstraat' take a right (Centraal Station direction) and walk about 10 minutes. You will find all the restaurants, fast foods and even a large supermarket called 'Dirk van den Broek'. This supermarket is located in the far right corner of an open square area. A god send for those travelling on a budget.

2 days before check-out we enquire about booking space for the shuttle to the airport. We are given 2 vouchers for the shuttle and told payment would be made on check-out.
Check-out was quick and simple, we handed our deposit invoice and signed it to say we had received our 150 deposit back. 5.5% city tax for 7 night amounted to 19.05 euros. 10euros shuttle service.

We flew by KLM airlines from London Heathrow which gives a generous allowance of 23kg luggage, 12kg cabin luggage and 1 extra accessory bag so it was more than enough allowance.

We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryDarrenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear MaryDarrenTravels,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us!

I am happy to read that you definitely recommend the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre to others.

Best regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spoke to Robbert before we set off to confirm reservation and see if we could get an upgrade to a different room as wanted to make this trip a lil special.... and boy did Robbert hook us up.. We got to the hotel and checked-in to what we were told was the best room in the hotel... on the 16th floor, corner suite OMG what a room it was. Absolutely stunning room, humongous bed and massive bathroom with a walk in shower and a really deep bath which we could swim in lol... seriously we were both gob smacked, and the views from the 5 floor to ceiling windows was insaneeee. We could see entire Amsterdam from our room. At day it was stunning, by night it was like being in Las Vegas (as someone mentioned below). Room service was great, food was with us in about 15-20mins. All the hotel staff were great too and very very helpful. The tram outside the hotel was so simple and easy. 2.80euro to Central Station and runs every 15mins.
Thanks again for making this an absolutely amazing anniversary and thanks to Robbert for giving us a nice suprise by the upgrade :-)
Will definately be back again and definately be staying at the Ramada Apollo Hotel.

Omar G

Room Tip: Tram 13 from Centraal Station at 2.80euro single will get you outside the hotel in about 5-10mins G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Omar G,

WOW!! Thank you so much for this fantastic review!

For us it is a real compliment that you had "A Dream Wedding Anniversary" in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre!

We always do our utmost to make anyone’s stay as pleasant as possible and it is especially a big honor when our guests are celebrating such special occasions.
I will share your feedback with our entire team and Robbert in particular!

I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon to our hotel and hopefully we will be able to make it another special stay for you.

Warm regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Efficient and friendly hotel.
Great value.
Superb views from the 17th floor.
Very comfortable large bed.
Room sound proofing particularly good.
Excellent breakfast, large choice of beautifully presented dishes.
Children's Petting Zoo opposite entrance to hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Eleganteee,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5!

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#63 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,974 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,237 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $94 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre. It's impossible to imagine Amsterdam-West without us. Our top floors provide you with the best view over the entire city. From Floor17, our renowned restaurant and skybar, the view is perhaps even better. Why not climb the stairs to our Rooftop Bar and drink a cocktail while enjoying compelling views of Amsterdam? You work hard and you are looking for a meeting room on the 17th floor, with a spectacular view of Amsterdam. Sports enthusiast? For you, we have a 24-hour fitness suite and boot camp sessions. Why not challenge us with your requirements? Our hotel is located right next to the Rembrandtpark and the A10 ring road. If you are using public transport, this will take you from the hotel to the centre of Amsterdam in just 15 minutes. Our shuttle bus will take you to Schiphol Airport in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing