We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading name is no where near Amsterdam central.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #92 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Misleading name is no where near Amsterdam central.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Got here to be told they wanted a £200 deposit nobody had mentioned up to this point so luckily I had taken my card. Anyway not 1 member of staff spoke to me or my girlfriend for the entire 3 nights so I do not have much else to say. Breakfast was ok and room was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear TomB1987,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I'm distressed to learn of your dissatisfaction as we strive to fulfill and meet the needs of all our guests. I'm sorry to read that you had some difficulties with our location. Unfortunately I can't change the location, I can only emphasize that the City Centre is only 10 minutes by tram (Dam) On a bicycle (which we provide for rent) it is also only 10 minutes to the City Centre.

We do hope you will give us a new chance during your next visit to Amsterdam so we can prove this was an incident, and I would appreciate hearing your remarks in person.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    1,193
    354
    115
    86
See reviews for
355
1,493
99
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ramada Hotel

Very nice & well kept hotel. Very friendly & helpful reception. Our room was based on the 14th floor with a panoramic view of the city (nice at night time). Plenty of lifts and they are very fast. On certain floors there are ice machines to us, on the 17th floor there is a bar and restaurant. At the front desk they also sell cold food and snacks which is quite a bit expensive (as expected mini bar prices). They also have two fast PC's for internet access in the lobby (WIFI is available too)

They have a shuttle transport service from the hotel which is free from the airport to the hotel but from hotel to the aiport it will cost you € 5 per person (just make sure to look at the shuttle service schedule as if you need a specific time you will need to request it)

Also they provide you with maps & information which is an added bonus

Room

Pro's:
Very clean (Cleaners clean the room everyday, towels and toilet roll replaced)
Modern design (digital key card entry)
Decent beds
A/C
Nice window view
Flat screen TV with built in freeview (loads of british channels)
Very nice desk & chair
Kettle with free coffee & tea
HI-Speed internet access (if you have a laptop, you can use enthernet cable from the Cisco telephone or if you brought RJ45 ethernet cable there is a free data-port under the desk near the power sockets)
Fast WIFI with great signal reception

Cons:
Room is very dusty, you can see dust particuls at all times (no real ventalation, could be a problem for asthma suffers)
Small not a lot space
Dim lighting, no central light just full of little lights
Paper cups, bit of a let down as some china mugs would of made a world of difference
No window access, you can't open any windows to air out your room for some fresh air
No fridge, this is a must because you would like to keep your drinks chilled and I really hate
powder milk so first thing I did was buy a carton a milk which lasted 3 days before expiring! lol


Bathroom

Pro's:
Decent space with the basic facilities (sink, toilet & standing shower)
Nice big mirror
Power controllered shower very nice touch with controlling speeds & always provided hot water

Con's:
No actual shower door/curtain so it was very easy to wet the place. I had to put a towel outside the door constantly!

Area:

The hotel is placed in a nice peaceful area right next to a park where you take a stroll or go for early morning jog.

If you come out the hotel and take a left, follow up to the main road (jans) and take a right walk for about 5 minutes you will come into the town area with restaurants and shops

People complaining there is nothing near in the area is not true. There is supermarket called "Dirk van den broek" which has very reasonable prices for food (city prices are triple). Also a "McCains burger bar" sell that quick nice junk food! lol

Transport:

You can get a tram number 13 not to far from hotel (less then 2 minute walk) this will take you to central station or two stops before it you can get off at Dam Square.

Tips:

If your over for a long weekend and will be using public transport I recommend buying a 4-day travel pass for €21 (daily travel pass costs €7.50 and single is €2.80 for an hour). This includes metro, bus and trams (You can purchase these from the driver on the trams or at ticket machines in Central Station)

Make sure to bring €150 for deposit as the hotel requires this (we was there for 7 days) bring cash as they will ask you to leave a card with them if not (I don't like leaving cards due to stories about their card details being stolen)

There is a national hotel tax at 5.5% of your hotel cost. So make sure to leave some spare euro if you don't want to pay by card.

If your a fan of burgers there is a place not to far from central station called "Burger Bar" they do some really nice burgers and chips (I recommend you try the "Wagyu Beef Burger" really was something else.

Bring a Euro power plug adapter

Room Tip: If you can choose room on the top floor go for it as it has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DM_Traveling,

Thank you for your extensive review about your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. I also would like to thank you for sharing the correct public transport options with other travelers. The different day tickets for public transport are indeed a great deal as you can travel with all blue and white trams, busses and metros.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Me and my girl found a great 3-day deal online for the Ramada. After a smooth and quick shuttle pick up from the airport (really nice and funny driver), our check-in (friendly nice young lady) and the moment I stepped in my room we knew we made the right choice. Comfy, modern looking room. I payed a little extra up on arrival for a panorama view and a discounted breakfast deal. The room we had on the 15th floor had a marvelous view overlooking Amsterdam. After we checked in we took the tram to dam square, which is the heart of the city. The tram is just right next to the hotel and takes you there in 10/15min only. After getting back from the city we were really surprised by their 'Floor 17'. A sky/lounge bar with nice cocktails and a nice DJ (in weekends only). We actually could not fault the hotel and we will recommend it our friends and family who would like to go over for a weekend Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LiamGreenfieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear LiamGreenfieldUK,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Your review reflects our desired guest experience!

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

Best regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Ramada Hotel for 7 nights from the 20th to the 27th March.
We found the staff all very helpful and friendly and plenty of maps to guide us around on the trams. W e had read in previous reviews that we would be asked for 150 euro as deposit. we queried this with our Travel Agent and told we would not have to pay it as booked via them and not on the internet. This was not true, we were asked to pay but we refused and explained what we had been told. We did have to pay 197 euro for breakfast and City Tax.
What we did not like was the poor lighting in the corner room on the 16th floor, we could not read of an evening sitting on the seats. Only good light was on the bed. Also we only had cardboard beakers for drinks in the room. Even budget hotels in England have china cups and saucers. One day our room was not cleaned at all and another time cleaning lady came just after we got back so just refilled tea and coffee etc. Jean and Richard Ralph

Room Tip: Take some powdered milk
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jean Richard Ralph,

Thank you so much for your review.

I am happy to read that you found the staff all very helpful and friendly. Service and friendliness are very important to us, if not the most important.
I am genuinely sorry to learn that your room was not cleaned one day. This is of course unacceptable.
I wish you had made your complaint known during your stay so we could have acted at once.

We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

For a teambuilding trip we stayed for two nights at the Ramada Apollo Hotel. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Throughout our stay they managed to exceed our expectations. From checkin to the magnificant boardrooms on floor 18 overlooking the entire old centre of Amsterdam to their amazing bar and restaurant area Floor17. The service is of the highest standard with a nice little personal touch. Always one step ahead. I, for one, would like to recomment Ramada Apollo Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear AJD1982,

What a delight to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor.
I’m very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!. I will pass on your compliments about our Skybar Floor 17 and the meeting area on the 18th Floor to my team!
Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for only 1 night..
The security seemed not welcome when we first time arrived at ramada..we didnt notice that the spinning door cannot be passed if we brought even a small luggage..instead of helped us,he just flipped his hand,didnt do anything..
The front office did a great job..check in didnt face any trouble..The breakfast was so-so..nothing special..except the view..the view was hilarious..considering it placed at 17th floor..
Overall,stayed at ramada apollo just fine..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Septra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Recent trip to Amsterdam took us to the Ramada Apollo Hotel. Excellent rooms, very clean and caters well for the buisiness clientel as well. Shower and toilet excellent and checked every day including Saturday and Sunday. Restaurant on 17th floor with excellent breakfast in morning, and views to die for, At night bar and restaurant open, and looks like Las Vegas. Staff very helpful and friendly. Very quiet in the rooms, motorway outside my room, couldn't hear a thing. Tram 13 runs every ten minutes to the city, 15 minute journey. Park around hotel ideal for a walk, pets corner across the road, lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Peter C,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words.
We are very happy to get 5 out of 5. It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,774 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing