We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #89 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay and have no complaints whatsoever. Reception staff were very friendly and on check in we were upgraded to a room on the 14th floor with spectacular views.The room was lovely with a king size bed and plenty of hanging space once we had found it behind the bed, we also had an ironing board and iron which was a bonus. The tea and coffee making facilities were handy although after reading previous comments I did take my own cups as the ones provided are paper. We travelled by ferry from Hull and the coach from Rotterdam dropped us off near Central Station, we only had to wait five minutes for a tram (number 13) and we were in the hotel within 15 minutes. The tram stop is only 2 minutes from the hotel. We bought a 24 hour pass on the tram which can be used on the trams, buses and metro. We only had one drink in the hotel bar on the 17th floor as the prices were quite high but it was worth it for the view and my husband was happy because they have a separate smoking room, not always available in hotels. We spent most of our two days in the city and found prices hadn't changed much since our last visit although they are a bit higher than the UK. We had a meal in an Italian restaurant just off Rembrandtsplein, two starters, two pastas and a litre of house red for just over 50 Euros which wasn't too bad. Breakfast in the hotel was very good, selection of cereals, fresh fruit & yogurt, scrambled & boiled eggs, sausages and mushrooms and also the continental choice of meats and cheeses all topped off with pancakes and maple syrup. A very enjoyable stay and we would certainly use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BorofanMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear BorofanMiddlesbrough,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review! I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities. Thank you for mention the friendliness of my colleagues; Service and Hospitality are our top priority!

We hope to welcome you back in the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    1,149
    337
    104
    80
See reviews for
329
1,440
94
373
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay booked through a Travelzoo offer. I agree with most other comments, the hotel is in a nice quiet location, very well appointed rooms and excellent breakfast choice. Stunning views from the breakfast room which is on the 17th floor along with the bar and restaurant. We ate in the restaurant the first evening and whilst it is expensive it is well worth treating yourself for a special meal - very nice bar which was quite busy every evening but great ambience. The staff throughout the hotel we're all very friendly and we would definitely stay again if we came back to Amsterdam.
We bought the 48 hour Amsteredam card and it was really worth it - it includes all tram and bus travel, most museums and galleries and even a canal cruise. It cost us 52 euros each but it would have cost a lot more if we had paid for all the places we visited.It also included the zoo which would have cost 20 euros on it's own and is well worth going to - especially the butterfly house.
We will definitely return to Amsterdam again but when it's a bit warmer, it really was freezing cold!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CheshireValR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear CheshireValR,

Thank you so much for this very nice review.

I am happy to read you enjoyed your 3 night stay at the Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre!
It is also very nice to read that you definitely would stay with us again once you visit Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent.
Would go back again in a heartbeat.
To the manager on staff from March 11th through March 14th:
Everyone at the hotel including the restaurant staff were top notch.
Especially the bartender(Forgot his name) on the evening of March 13th who served me a Dutch Explorer(I think it was the bartenders own recipe).
Exceptional drink:
I think that he used elixers from Bolls?
Had four of them.
Usually not a big drinker, but very tasty.
Great Job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Steve N,

"Would go back again in a heartbeat" what a fantastic start for a review!

It is correct that our bartenders use the elixers from Bolls, I am really happy to read that you liked the drinks so much!

I will share your feedback with our entire team and I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just come back from a 4-day break booked through Travelzoo. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on a bed and breakfast basis and the cost with flights with Easyjet was £169, which was very good value. We had a lovely room and the breakfast is more than continental, offering boiled eggs, scrambled and sausages along with the usual yoghurts, fruit, cereals, lovely bread etc. The only fault I can find is that on the Monday we didn't have our room serviced as by the time they came around at 5pm, we really didn't want the upheaval. They had a lot of rooms to be serviced but I think 5pm is way too late especially if you have been out all day and want to relax.

I appreciated all the comments I had read on Trip Advisor as this helped us in our planning such as the shuttle from the airport to hotel, buying a 4-day tram pass at the airport or 21 euros etc. The tram system is amazing and really we never had to wait longer than 5 mins for a tram, often it was much shorter. Amsterdam is an interesting city to visit, we only wish it had been warmer as it was absolutely freezing! Get early to Anne Frank house as by the time we came out the queues were long and that is in March! The Van Gogh exhibition is showing at The Hermitage at present
as Van Gogh gallery is being developed, but is worth seeing as it really shows Van Gogh's artistic development from his early days to the end. We also went to the Rijksmuseum, which showed Rembrandt and Vermeer. It did feel as though Amsterdam is undergoing complete renovation as both museums are under re-construction but I imagine once they are open after April it will be better.

The costs of entry to the galleries does add up so if you were intending to do a lot of visits, it might be worth purchasng the Amsterdam card. It made me appreciate how lucky we are here in the UK as the London galleries and museums are free (other than exhibitions) and you could spend a lot less visiting in London. Amsterdam is quite expensive compared to the UK so you do have to think about where you eat but we had an Argentinian steak meal for 2 for around 55 euros and a chinese for 42 euros. KFC seemed a lot more expensive than here and drinks were pricey, however, it shouldn't put you off visiting as we had a great time and would certainly come again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and although overlooking a busy road, it was quiet in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Denise I,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect.

Therefore your remarks are very much appreciated. I will share your feedback with the entire team.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Kindest regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This excellent hotel is a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown Amsterdam, but extremely conveniently located to enjoy all of the city' delight. The tram station (and Metro buss stop) is one city block away ant the ride to the city center takes less that ten minutes, even during the heaviest commuter times.

Rooms are nicely decorated in the generally up-beat "Euro-funk" furnishings that are a bit Spartan by North American standards, but clean and highly serviceable. One small tip. When you first arrive and look for a closet to hang up your coat, it is an open affair and located just behind the head of your bed! A motion detector turns the light on and off whenever you reach into the space. Takes a little getting used to.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and was wonderful, and the views of the city from it's17th floor location were stunning. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

Free wi-fi in the rooms and all restaurant and lounge areas..

On caution...ice machines are only located on certain floors and there are no ice buckets in the rooms. Cups are located at the machines, but the one on our floor remained empty for the duration of our three-day stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes apart from perhaps the location - yes it is a little out of town, approx 10-15 minutes via tram ( service no 13) but the Tram is pretty much on site just outside the hotel. The only issue with this is that obviously its slightly inconvenient and will cost you around 7 euros per 24 hr for tram tickets, tram stops service at midnight so after that a taxi cost us 17 euros from dam square back to the hotel on the one occasion that we stayed out late.

The reception staff are very helpful and accomodating, when we arrived for our 3 night stay the receptionist we encountered (sorry cannot remember her name) she proceeded to give us a few options as what which room we would like to choose to stay in, we were offered a room on 16th floor or a room on the tenth floor which was on the corner and so although slightly smaller in size we would benefit from views across two sides. We decided to take the corner room and wow it was wonderful the windows covered two walls and the decor was dark and cosy with various lighting options to create an ambience. The bathroom was clean and modern the bed was king size and comfortable and the tv was flat screen with various channels including bbc news and with tea and coffee making facilities as you would expect.
We didnt get any maid service cleaning our room on any of the days that we stayed here which was wierd especially since we always applied the sign on the door to request it each morning, I didnt raise a complaint because we didnt stay very long and It didnt bother me to much but perhaps any longer and it could have become an issue, I also forgot to mention it when checking out because we were in a rush so hopefully the hotel will see this review.
We didn't use the restaurant apart from for breakfast because we were always out and about during the day but breakfast was very enjoyable, perhaps a little overcrowded during popular times (9am-10am) we did sometimes struggle to find a table and the staff although trying the best they can had difficulty keeping up with clearing tables quick enough for awaiting guests. so a tip would be to perhaps consider avoiding this rush hour if you can and be a little bit earlier (breakfast is 7am - 10am 10.30 on sat) The food available at the breakfast buffet consisted of a choice of hot and cold options including scrambled egg, sausages, boiled eggs, toast, cereal and cold meats, coffee and fruit juice.

We did visit the popular bar which is located on the highest floor near the restaurant.
The bar has a great buzz with many people enjoying the atmosphere the views and the freshly made cocktails, a very nice place to have a nightcap with jazz music and even a smoking room if are that way inclined.

As a couple having a weekend city break in the wonderful city of Amsterdam we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definatly consider booking it again in the future despite the small inconvenience of the location it is still well worth a visit.

I hope this review is helpful :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DanielNRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Myself and 3 friends have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Its a little further from the centre than we originally wanted, but after reading the reviews we decided to book it.
I am glad we did, as its a lovely hotel and with tram 13 just around the corner, it made it so easy to get around and at 16.50 Euro for a 3 day pass, it was great value. The rooms were lovely, everything clean. Just a few things which stopped me from giving it a 5 rating, firstly, the restaurant has a very limited choice & is not cheap, I paid 22 Euro for a Hamburger and chips but the quality was good. I think if they widened the choice more quests would eat there. Secondly, the cleaners did unfortunately leave my door open all day while I was out. Luckily nothing was taken & the reception were very apologetic. Lastly, its a shame you can not purchase a coffee in the lobby area. If you want a coffee you have to go up to the bar on the 17 floor, its a lovely area, but not enough seats to relax and have a coffee with friends when its busy.
The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, their pancakes were delicious. Nearly all the staff were lovely especially Gina who greeted quests every morning. Also a waiter called Tieste (i think) was lovely. Staff such as these should be acknowledged as it makes a stay so much more pleasant and helps a hotels reputation. The waiter called Mark at the bar could learn something from the others, as he defiantly needs his people skills improving. The hotel lays on a free shuttle from the airport to hotel, but it costs 5 Euro each to return to the airport, this was very handy.
All in all we had a lovely stay and would defiantly recommend this hotel to others.
I would defiantly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank oscar01Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
2.0 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing