We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, customer service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #91 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“OK, customer service lacking”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I guess the fair thing to say about this place is that it was 'fine'. It's obviously a brand new place (we were pretty sure that we were the first ones in that room ever) and I understand that not everything will be perfect. However, there were quite a few things missing / wrong with our room and when we asked about this the reaction at the reception was incredibly rude and unhelpful. To be fair, at some point we were helped by a girl who was incredibly helpful and professional. But we also encountered some terrible service, which really rubbed me the wrong way.

The location is not the best, but it's easily accessible. The big plus is the breakfast / restaurant place at the top with magnificent views.

A decent place, but they definitely still have quite a bit to learn about customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    1,168
    344
    107
    81
See reviews for
333
1,470
99
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

my wife and i went for our anniversary to this hotel.we found the staff so helpful from the driver who drove courtesy bus from airport to all the staff in hotel,special mention to robert!!!.rooms were clean,warm,modern and spacious.breakfast was very good though chicken sausages were a new experience for us.people who wrote bad reviews off this hotel,what do u want???we will return to this hotel if in amsterdam again.

Room Tip: all rooms r gd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank id2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pillows they as we were told stuffed in a case so the case stripe flows same way as bed take them out as we suffered bad necks plus we had to take middle base out bed as not comfy but suppose that a preference......if U have mobilty issues bit if a walk to tram .......apart from that xcllnt hotel great staff NATHALIE in 17 bar was a gem !!! Lovely lady....

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chevvy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was there all of August for business. Was put on 3rd floor in SMALL room by elevator. Since I spent an entire month there, I requested a bigger room. If you're only staying for a few days and want to save money, the small room is OK. I stay in hotels a lot and this was definitely one of the smallest rooms I had ever been in. Once in bigger room I was happier. Comfy bed, ask for different pillow as they are big and hard. Breakfast on 17th floor is not worth it's money, very basic!! For a new hotel, their fitness room is just OK. Other then that, location was pretty good, I cycled into town. Tram 13 stops running at midnight, so beware! And yes, tram does take 15 to 20 minutes into the city center...
Staff is friendly and will try to help as much as they can. Had a very pleasant experience with one of the employees at the front desk. I recall his name being Hichem. Very polite and very professional. If any problems, I found myself always going to him, as he made things happen! I would stay again...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Veerle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
422 reviews
385 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Ramada Apollo Hotel lies directly on the circular highway of Amsterdam, 20 minutes by public transport from the city centre.
The hotel is modern and new. With its 400 rooms the service is impersonal and trimmed to cater for a maximum of guests with a minimum of staff. The rooms are small; even a cupboard could not fit and only shelves were provided to put the cloths. Instead of a double bed two single beds were pushed together. The mattresses were too soft and tend to slip off. Sleeping comfort was not the best. Wi-Fi is free and works well. The bath room is small with no toileteries provided except a squeeze bottle of shampoo/shower gel.
The breakfast is served on the 17th floor and costs € 17.50 which is expensive for the selection of food provided.
There are is no public parking space possible around the hotel which requires the use of the hotel garage at € 25.- for 24 hours.
We would stay again in this hotel but only at the promotional rate of under € 100.- which is frequently offered on specialised booking sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Hotel is new.The room size is normal and very clean.If you want amenities in the bathroom you have to ask for.There is not minibar yet.The staff very helpful.The Hotel is far away from the city center,but the tram station is only 10 meters away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boubouGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice hotel situated well away from the city centre although easily accessible by tram(no 13) takes you right into Amsterdam central. Tram stop opposite hotel.
If you like walking you can walk to most of the attractions, just follow the canals you cannot get lost. The people are very friendly and chat away to tourists, try the restaurants on the route back to the hotel away from the city centre. They are cheaper and pay more attention to customers. The Bagel Bean is lovely for coffee and Bagels, place is spotless and staff are great.
Rooms in Ramada are nice and modern, if staying ask for a room on the upper floors, fanatastic views. Hosekeeping is not great you have to ask for towels to be changed and bed not made up,pillows are massive ask for smaller pillows unless you want a creak in your neck!!!
Staff are friendly and helpful, particularly reception staff.(One young lad working in the restaurant in the evening was arrogant and not helpful at all).
Shuttle bus available to take you from airport (5 euros each) phone hotel to arrange pick up.
Do the open top bus tour to get your bearings on locations of the attractions and you get a canal cruise for a wee bit extra. Lots of photo opportunities.

Room Tip: ask for upper floors, use hotel shuttle bus to and from airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mevcg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#106 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,706 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing