We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #90 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, amazing view”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was great, and had an amazing view from the restaurant. The center is just 10-15 minutes with tram. Very good hotel for the price. I recommend it to everyone who are traveling to Amsterdam on business, or holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChowBaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ChowBaak,

Thank you very much for highly recommending our hotel.
This really means a lot to us. We are very eager to know what our guests think of the hotel and the service we offer. Great to learn we did a good job during your stay. we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    1,180
    347
    107
    83
See reviews for
338
1,478
99
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a newer hotel that was very clean and modern. I had a fantastic view of downtown Amsterdam from the 14th floor. The hotel is isolated with limited dining options nearby but next to a large park. The #13 tram is a block away and very easy, safe to use to get to the downtown area. My shuttle driver from the airport was a very nice American who gave me great suggestions and advice. Everyone spoke English very well. My main complaints were that the electrical outlets in the room had a shelf underneath so I could only use my longer phone charger in the outlet on the floor near the door. Also, my coffee/teas were not fully replenished and the bar of soap left because the dispenser was empty was taken after two days and not replaced. Also, there was an open space at the head of the bed so you weren't able to prop yourself up in bed. Not major problems, but inconveniences.

Room Tip: Try to get a view facing downtown Amsterdam. Beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Pros of hotel itself

Location is good only 15-20mins on tram to central station/daam square.
Quiet despite being next to motorway
Ice machine on some floors
Return shuttle bus to hotel/airport 5euros each
Rooms are new
Secure luggage storage area accessed by swipe card and luggage stored in wall units like at train stations with unique PIN number for access.
Free wifi

Cons of hotel itself

Customer service at reception lacking. Left waiting to be checked in despite plenty of reception staff unoccupied. On complaint of initial room that there was no tea and coffee facilities or fridge I was told there definitely was and to look again!
When my partner and I were waiting for our return shuttle bus my partner was rudely asked why he was sitting on one of the reception area sofas. It was obvious we were waiting for the shuttle to arrive!

Not a pretty hotel to look at. It's a converted concrete office block.
Still a lot of work being carried out in immediate area of hotel, pavements not complete etc.

We had booked a standard room and were allocated 822

Pros

NONE

Cons

Not big enough to accommodate both our regular sized suitcases.
No tea and coffee facilities or fridge in this standard room.
Only 1 pillow each and this was actually a cushion in size.

We were upgraded to a delux room 802 corner room

Pros

Large room easily accommodating two regular suitcases
Panoramic view over Amsterdam
Sofa area
Fridge to store drinks etc
Tea and coffee facilities
Flat screen tv with lots of uk channels

Cons

Safe didn't work in 2nd room
Paper cups only for tea and coffee expect proper mugs in a 4 star not takeaway ones.
Not replenished every day
No spoons on first night
No proper pillow instead 1 cushion each
Requested double bed but got two singles pushed together
Two single duvets not large enough
No continuous head rest at back of bed instead they are designed with an alcove in the centre. Makes it very difficult to read or sit and watch tv and keeps two people apart in bed. Not good for romance!
Aircon set at low temp, set so couldn't adjust to heat room, room often freezing in evening on our return from sightseeing.
Lighting is via spot lights but only round perimeter of room makes the room very dark and difficult to read in.
Limited toiletries like travel lodge or premier inn squeeze containers with one liquid does all!
No extras that you would expect in a 4 star.
Shower power- trickle if wanted hot, a stream if you could cope with cold
Limited hanging space
Alarm didn't work on tv despite setting it correctly
No daily housekeeping service
Some of the paintwork at entrance of room already shabby as was the standard room too. Terrible for a hotel only open a few months.
BIGGEST CON - very strong drainage/sewerage smell in bathroom. Had to keep door to bathroom shut at all times otherwise whole room became unbearable with smell. Reported the issue to reception next morning who told me there wasn't a smell or problem and sent housekeeping up. She came in and said she couldn't smell anything other than our shampoo!! Didn't think my shampoo smelt of sh@te! She said she would send in repair guy. On our return lots of air freshener had been used. This disguised the smell till the next morning when it was really strong again. Hotel deny problem but I have seen other posts on here also complain of bad smell. Something fundamentally wrong with hotel drainage system.

Overall

Not a 4 star by a far stretch.
Customer service 1 star - needs to improve dramatically perhaps the staff need to go back to the hotel training school located right next door.
Rooms need a rethink

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room go for deluxe or exec and ask for a corner room on a high floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidau, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel on a recent business trip. While the hotel has not yet had it's grand opening (which often means still working out the kinks) I was completely impressed with the total package it provides. From well equipped rooms in nice design (the bed is very comfortable) to a super restaurant, Floor 17, this hotel has a super price to performance ratio.

There is a free shuttle from the airport (and only €5 for the return to the airport) and public transportation just a few meters from the hotel entrance. Wifi is free and throughout the hotel. Breakfast was quite good and also on the 17th floor with spectacular views. The gym is on the small side but is very well equipped with the most modern Technogym equipment. There are plenty of places to have private conversations (good for business visitors) and the bar has a great ambiance. It feels like the 'it' place to be. Also if you need to have small business meetings for 5-50 participants, their facilities are very well equipped with reasonable rates. The sky lounge area adds a sense of luxury so book those if you want to add that special touch for your meetings.

And I cannot leave out an extra mention about the hotel, Floor 17. A great feeling with different zones for special ambiance. The food was fantastic although a bit expensive. But you're paying for more here than just filling your belly. We paid €130 for three people with main, dessert, two glasses of wine and coffee. Menu was a bit eclectic with a focus of course on fish and seafood.

The only downside to the hotel may be the neighborhood. I had read about it but witnessed nothing untoward. It is near a park in an 'up and coming' neighborhood and one perhaps should think twice before going jogging at night. For me this was not a negative point at all. Also the hotel is not in Amsterdam center so if you're looking for a hotel from which you can walk and visit the sites, this may not be your best bet. But if you want good value for money at a very high quality hotel which is great also for business events, then choose this one!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are only a bit more and great surrounding windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pommerli_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A big group of us stayed at this hotel and it was lovely. Everywhere was immaculately clean. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time.
The bar/ restaurant at the top was a pleasure to visit. The bar staff were friendly and the atmosphere was lovely. The food looked amazing.
We got cabs into the centre, costing between 15 and 18 euros a time. The tram stops right outside however.
To and from the airport we used the hotel shuttle which picks you up from a stop just by the airport entrance. You gave to use a call button to let them know you are there. Worth the 5 € per person.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, despite there being a mistake with my bill at the end ( I was charged for somebody else's room service). I would recommend you check it first. However, I do believe this is/ was a teething problem. It's the only negative thing I can say about the place. A really nice stay.

Room Tip: The deluxe room had a fridge and was slightly bigger. We couldn't see much other difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wow! During stay I enjoyed the excellent service in this hotel. Friendly staff, quality food, nice rooms with spectacular views.
Rate was à bit high but it was à business week with à large congress in Amsterdam. By tram the hotel is only 10 minutes from the city centre.
Special thanks to the staff in restaurant Floor17, and reception. Friendly and helpfull finding my way in the city. (Danny, Gina & Hans). Hans was very helpfull in my language (Italian).

Hope to stay here again soon, many thanks to all!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VincenzoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful and the room was clean and plenty of room for two. The location was nice and quiet and the tram stop was just around the corner from the hotel this was handy as it would be a long walk other wise.
The bar on the 17th floor had a lovely atmosphere and chill out music in the evening, the view of Amsterdam from there was amazing!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#123 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,737 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing