We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #92 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we recently stayed in the Ramada hotel, the hotel provide a shuttle bus service from the airport to the hotel which was very handy. the staff at the hotel were very friendly. The hotel its self was modern and clean, the rooms were a great size and the beds comfortable. great views over the city from our room on the 12th floor. would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sara229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I greatly appreciate your comments posted on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear your stay at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre was an enjoyable one.

Many thanks for your kindliness and we look forward to accommodate your future travel needs.

Kind regards
Imre Heijboer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    1,193
    354
    115
    86
See reviews for
355
1,493
99
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This new hotel (opened August 2012) is likely to be a success in spite of being 20 minutes by tram from Amsterdam Station. The hotel is only two minutes from Tram 13 Stop which offers a frequent service to the Dam and Central Amsterdam. It is amazingly quiet which suited we two senior citizens. We declined the promotional offer of breakfast at 12 Euros rather than 17 Euros each because it was a requirement it should be taken for each of the three days. We would have happily have tried for the first day if it had been offered at the same price! We used the bar, which like the restaurant is situated on the 17th Floor - the top and were given a most warm welcome from the young and enthusiastic staff. We graciously turned down, however, the invitation to join them for the DJ evening on the Friday. Our room on the 11th Floor overlooked the city and had all the facilities that we required, from the hair dryer, ironing board, free wi fi, good shower and comfortable bed. It suited us perfectly and we would happily stay there again. Unfortunately, we were unaware of the free courtesy bus from Schipol Airport but willingly paid the 5 euros each for the return trip which was undertaken with courtesy and friendliness.

Room Tip: Facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank objective_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for posting your comment on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one!
We would love to welcome you again soon at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.

With kindest regards,
Imre Heijboer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day break in The Dam!! Stayed at the Ramada Apollo... Great hotel ... not in the centre like it describes, however there are frequent trams just outside the hotel which takes you straight in to the centre of Amsterdam within 20 mins.
Hotel is brand new, so everything is clean, tidy and great value for money.... Can't fault the staff as very polite and helpful...
Arrived early and allowed us to check in at 11am instead of 2pm.... rooms are very modern and stylish... English channels, internet access on the TV... all free of charge. Clean towels every day, maid very helpful and tea and coffee facilities in the room which are replenished everyday.
Fab 17th floor bar and restaurant which does great cocktails and free shots... great views overlooking Amsterdam Rembrant Park ....However did not eat there as too many great restaurants in the town centre :)
Hotel offers pick up and drop off at the airport for just 5 Euros each way per person... Bargain!!! Totally worth arranging, as new hotel taxi drivers and locals not familiar with location.
If you get the train from the airport its the 2nd stop so don't make the mistake of going into the town centre as it's out of the way and you have to come back on yourself. A taxi can cost around 16 Euros.. so well cheaper arranging hotel transfers :)
Cheap to get around on the trams at 7.50 Euros for a 24hour tram pass .... the number 13 takes you in to Amsterdam Central and by Dam Square...
So if your looking for a bargain hotel worth value for money well worth booking this hotel :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side of the building overlook the park!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KellyPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imre H, General Manager at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Kelly Pritch,

Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre would like to thank you very much for taking the time to remark on your stay.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay! Thank you for leaving your comment, reviews as these encourage us on continuously improving our service.
I look forward welcoming you again at Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre.


Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a 2 night at the Ramada Apollo in August of this year, a newly opened hotel in a peaceful location.
The room was nice, clean and modern with amazing view of Rembrandt park, and right around the corner from two tram stops. The coffee served in Floor 17 is amazing, with great views if the city so definitely worth a visit - and the staff there seemed very friendly as well. The hotel transfer to/from the airport is a great idea and certainly took away an confusion we had about how to get to the hotel. The transfer coach driver was very friendly, professional and a credit to the hotel.

The biggest critisism of our visit is the advice provided by a member of the reception staff, who told us that the closest tram stop to the hotel was Postjesweg, so we took a tram back to here very late at night and found ourselves in a unknown location from which we had to find our way back to the hotel through a park in pitch darkness. The correct stop is in fact Adm. Helfrichstraat (tram 13 from Central Station).

Other minor points are: we'd have liked it if the complimentary teas/coffees in the room were replenished every day. There were no vegetarian food options in the bar on Floor 17.

Overall a great base to explore the city, we'd return to this hotel.

Room Tip: A high a floor as possible, facing Rembrant park for the views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JayK102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you don't mind staying outside the city centre the Apollo Ramada hotel is good value for money.This is a new hotel that offers a shuttle service which provides transfers to and from the airport (5 Euros). My hotel room was clean and staff were efficient and helpful. Breakfast could be purchased for 17 euros and I was also given the option of prepaying 12 euros per day as long as I paid for breakfast for my entire stay.

Tram13 is less than a 3 minute walk from the hotel and takes you into the city which is approximately 3km away. A 24 hour ticket can be purchased on the tram for 7 Euros; this allows you to use this service as many times as you wish to while the ticket is valid. It's an economical way to explore Amsterdam and see the local attractions.There are also 48 and 72 hour GVB / tram tickets available at Amsterdam Centraal station. Trams stop running after mid-night but a night bus runs hourly if you decide to stay late in the city to enjoy the night life.

Room Tip: I requested an early check in but this was not possible for the "room type" I had reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank millieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Blown away by the rooms contemporary design , layout and features. Free wifi, plenty tv channels , a bath tub, shower and extras. Couch and Rotating tv , ironing board, ecxess cupboards, wonderful views from room of the park nextdoor and city. Quiet part of amsterdam. Staff were very courteous n professional. I entered the room with my wife with wows and smiles. 4 and a half star anywhere in the world. You should stay here without hesitation and best of all the price. I got King size Executive room for the price i would have paid for two nights in other cities and with lower class rooms.Will be back for certain. The best in town.

Room Tip: Room with panoramic view 1313.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Geraldattila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We're just back from a 4 night stay.The room was clean bright and quite big and the bathroom was huge with a great walk-in shower.We had a very good view of the city from our room on the 13th floor.The restaraunt on the 17th floor had a very good choice food in their breakfast buffet with a choice of hot or cold food.The Skybar was very spacious with a good choice drinks.The staff were very friendly and helpful on where to go in the city and how to get there.If you go to the Skybar look out for Christine and Carli as the were very helpful and very cheerful.The bar also has designated smoking room.

Room Tip: Inthe skybar the 360 degree view is absolutley brillant especially through the telescopes aroond the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,773 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre

Property: Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Address: Staalmeesterslaan 410, 1057 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular 4-star hotel, containing 446 rooms, is not only one of the biggest hotels in Amsterdam, but also the biggest Ramada hotel in Europe. The imposing building is situated only 15 minutes from the historic city centre and is ideally located on the Amsterdam ring road and next to the RembrandtparkRamada Apollo Amsterdam Centre contains 446 luxurious rooms and suites, 8 state-of-the-art meeting rooms, sauna and fitness facilities, solarium, 300 indoor parking spaces and a spectacular restaurant & skybar on the 17th floor; Floor17! The hotel is ideally situated next to the Amsterdam ring road, with a perfect connection to Schiphol International Airport as well as Amsterdam city centre.All of the meeting rooms have natural daylight and a magnificent view; 5 Sky Lounges on the top floor (18th floor) and 3 meeting rooms on the ground floor.The newest hotspot in town is Skybar Floor17! Richard Matulessy, former Executive Chef of the well-known Amstel Hotel, is in charge of the kitchen team. Enjoy Food Entertainment on the 'highest' level, while enjoying the staggering 360-view on Amsterdam and surroundings. An open kitchen, trendy staff and good music are the perfect combination for a great night out. Drink - Dance - Dine on Friday and Saturday night with DJ's, drinks and bites; the ideal start of your weekend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing