We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job!”
Review of Margot B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Margot B&B
Ranked #127 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the job!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This B&B is in the perfect location for everything, close to all the action but still quiet and easy walking distance from Central Station. Choose Margot's home for a proper Dutch experience, her house has character! She will make you feel welcome and is very accommodating and helpful. Yes, the stairs are very steep but they are authentic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and it's a charming place to stay and Margot is a wonderful host. The room we were in overlooked the canal and it was so nice to open the windows. We did share a bathroom with other's but this was no problem. Margot keeps the place immaculate and there is even a cat that will come visit you lol Warning as in most places in Amsterdam the stairs are pretty steep lol In fact with a bad knee they were a little difficult for me to maneuver with my suitcase but Margot was kind enough to take it upstairs for me. The Location is perfect and walking distance to many sites, restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. i would not hesitate to stay here and again and thank Margot for her hospitality. Oh and the breakfast was AMAZING...fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, bread and eggs etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at Margot's B and B last weekend and found it to be such a charming place. Her home is very comfortable and we immediately felt right at home. Margot asks when you prefer breakfast and she has everything ready for the time you choose. She was a fantastic hostess. We were so comfortable in her home that we didn't even close our door when going out for the day. She was great to talk to for ideas of things to add to our trip. She is located directly on the canal so the view from the rooms could not be any better. We thoroughly appreciate her hospitality, it made our trip that much better.

Room Tip: There are two rooms available, you cannot go wrong. Both rooms offer perfect canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSRMandeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Margot's bed and breakfast was a perfect place for us during our time in Amsterdam. Her home is clean, warm, in a fabulous location, and has great views of the canal! Margot was a terrific host - she had a delicious breakfast ready at the time we preferred, cooked eggs just the way we like, and was extremely trust-worthy of us being in her home. We cannot thank her enough for opening her home to us!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbuisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were 2 couples and stayed 2 nights. Great location, great breakfast, very clean. It was a pleasure to talk to Margot about her country and she was most accommodating. We would not hesitate to recommend the Bed and Breakfast to any of our Canadian family and friends! Margot made our stay in your home very pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireBill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,507 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

.. so don't get me wrong (in giving a very good) but we stayed as a group of four which presents difficulties that may be do not present when you stay as a couple. The obvious one being the shared bathroom when we had breakfast together. It was also assumed that we only wanted one key per room and whilst Margot did provide one extra front door key for part of our stay, it did mean that at times we had to return to the B&B to let another in. It seems geared up to short stays as no wardrobes in either room (and only hangers for a hat stand on the lower one) mean that everything is put on the limited shelf space.

Having said this, the location is perfect; the breakfast is first class as is the host. And yes, I would stay here again but thought it worthwhile mentioning the above - given the previous comments which failed to mention some aspects - that others are aware of potential problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our two days at the Margot B&B were fantastic. It is located within minutes by walk from everything you want to visit. We didn't know about the Gay Pride Parade, which was mainly a few canals from the B&B so that kept the location quiet. The rooms and bathroom were clean, the breakfast is excellent and the hospitality of Margot is great. We recommend Margot B&B for its location, hospitality, and great value for money. Finally, although my girlfriend is allergic to cats, she didn't have any trouble since the B&B is kept very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#175 of 368 in Amsterdam
439 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Jewel
Amsterdam Jewel
#46 of 229 in Amsterdam
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margot B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot B&B

Property: Margot B&B
Address: 129 Singel, 1012 VH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing