We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houseboat Little Amstel
Ranked #52 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a fantastic place. A little bit of a walk to most things but it was nice being in a quiet location. Breakfast is brought right to your door and you can enjoy the water views while having a coffee or tea, which is provided in the room. Rooms were exceptionally clean and we felt quite comfortable. Would have loved to stay longer and we will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andyt1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    39
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfort, France
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights on march 2014. Great view and well located. Small room with everything U need, even free wifi (absolutely needed for our first trip to amsterdam). The only bad point is that it's a little bit noisy by night because of the location next to a bridge. every morning some ducks came to share our big breakfast, very pleasant. Breakfast is big and well composed, but i'd hoped much variousness along the days... and it comes a little bit late (8.30AM), so U leave the houseboat near 10AM... soap is ok, but no shampoo, take your own :)
great welcomed by Mirjam, very friendly.
We try the new rental bike offer/partnership. 10€/bike/day It was very convenient to take/leave the bike next to the houseboat.
Great experience, try it, you won't regret it !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Small but nice, modern and clean room with really everything you need (even free WiFi). We were there in February and room as well as bathroom have a heating - no freezing at all. Good location near Metro station, nice view, lovely ducks swimming around you and watching you during breakfast. Price ok. I'd come again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Thanks to Mirjam for this wonderful location. We slept very well.

It was our first overnight on a boat and it was fantastic! A beautiful view on the river Amstel, very central located to the hotspots in Amsterdam and a tasty and huge breakfast in the morning.
The room is modern with chosen materials and styles. Everything is very practical located in this room.

We'll take the boat defintely on our following visit in Amsterdam! Much beter and warmer than an unpersonal hotel!

Kind regards

S+D

Room Tip: We had he basic, which was almost suffisent for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in November. We are regular visitors to Amsterdam from the UK and had decided to try a houseboat rather than a hotel for a change on this trip. We were welcomed by a huge heron who was standing guard by our door way! We were in the far right room (with a beautiful corner view looking either way up the Ij).Really clever use of space - wardrobe and shelving, big comfy bed, table and chairs plus a fridge and cutlery. The bathroom is compact but with a walk in shower so plenty of space. The real bonus is the view - we could hardly believe it when we opened the blinds on the first morning. A relaxing retreat right in the city. We stayed in winter and were very snug, but i imagine the summer time is lovely as there is a decked area to sit on at the front. Mirjiam is a lovely lady, very friendly and helpful. She delivered rolls, juice cheese and spreads each day...and you will find new friends outside your window each morning to get their share! We usually found 4 ducks and a swan waiting patiently every day!
The location is superb - the Pjip is a great area for eating and people watching, and is just a block or two away. We love to walk, but I'd recommend getting a tram or taxi from Central Station if you have heavy bags.
We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed in the "Basic Room". Very good use of space and extremely clean and modern. Mirjam, the host, was very accessible throughout our stay and helped arrange for bike rentals and taxi to airport and made sure we had everything we needed. It's situated on the Amstel River in the De Pijp neighborhood which is well-worth exploring. There are great restaurants and cafes and the Albert Cuypmarkt, a huge open-air market, is also nearby. Breakfast is substantial and delicious. Highly recommend. Will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaden1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This houseboat was not quite as central as we thought and the neighbourhood has nothing special but what an incredible little gem! Fantastic view, very charming, extremely clean and well maintained. Breakfast very good too and brought in the morning by a very friendly host. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathieuUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#82 of 335 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Houseboat Southern Comfort
Houseboat Southern Comfort
#114 of 335 in Amsterdam
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Minties
#61 of 335 in Amsterdam
82 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#20 of 335 in Amsterdam
152 reviews
Houseboat under the Mill
#105 of 229 in Amsterdam
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houseboat Little Amstel

Property: Houseboat Little Amstel
Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houseboat Little Amstel is moored along the Amstel River, in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The boat offers two rooms, the Basic-room and the Standard-room. Each room has it's own private entrance, en-suite bathroom and is suitable for maximum two persons, couples or singles. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay nice and easy. Luxurious beds, coffee- and tea making facilities, a fridge, a flatscreen TV, free WiFi, bluetooth speaker and a complete bathroom with towels and soap. Public transport is just around the corner, just as a lot of popular restaurants and bars. Its convenient location makes that all of Amsterdam's finest attractions and sights are within striking distance. For breakfast there are a number of nice spots very close to the houseboat and the bio supermarket sells fresh bread, croissants and jus d'orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing