We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houseboat Little Amstel
Ranked #47 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights in Amsterdam and stayed at the delightful Little Amstel Houseboat B&B. This offered an independent, charming, unique, option to more traditional lodgings. I found the place fairly easily and was really pleased when I got inside. I stayed in the smallest of 3 rooms and it was perfect for me. Clean, neat and new with nice touches such as coffee and tea, a refrigerator, TV, outside picnic table and a great view of the water. The owner, Mirjam delivered abundant breakfast each morning and was helpful with local information.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adhphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 168 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose to stay at Little Amstel based upon all the reviews from others who have stayed here and we were not the least bit disappointed. For six nights (last week of June 2013), We had the deluxe room and the basic room (for our daughters), which worked out quite well for the four of us. The location is quiet with a beautiful view of the river with many boaters going by. We would gather in the deluxe room, where you have a dining and living area for breakfast and evenings. Mirjam delivered breakfast every morning which consisted of different kinds of breads, meats, cheese, Greek yogurt, cereal, butter, jelly and orange juice. One day we rode bikes to Amsterdam Noord and brought for lunch leftover rolls, cheese, OJ, etc. It was perfect! Mirjam is a wonderful young lady who wants to make sure your stay on the houseboat is pleasant. Being that we are an adventurous family and this houseboat is in great condition, it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: If three couples are traveling together, reserve all three rooms (two couples reserve the Deluxe and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Mirjam's B&B Little Amstel houseboat, after a rather bad glitch the first night of what was expected to be a 3-night stay. We arrived late (around 9pm) after a long train trip, and discovered that the key to the room was not in the little lock box. We were invited in to the large room by a nice American family and we tried calling, texting and emailing Mirjam over the span of over an hour, but received no response. We ended up checking into a nearby (extremely expensive) hotel that night. Mirjam finally called back around 11:45 pm, after we'd checked in elsewhere, and was extremely apologetic; she said that the person who comes in to clean is supposed to make sure the key is in the box, but obviously there was a slip-up. Next morning, she made sure the key was there, and we stayed the final two nights at the houseboat. Mirjam felt so bad about the snafu that she refunded the full amount we had prepaid for our 3-night stay. We protested that this was way more than we expected of her, but she was insistent.

To go on to the more positive aspects of our experience, we absolutely loved the room, the location, and the whole idea of staying on a houseboat. As a couple, we liked the corner standard room very much, and were impressed with the facilities in the large "family" room as well. We've stayed in other B&B's in other locations in Amsterdam, and know the city and transportation system pretty well. We chose this place based in part on location, as my husband was going to a conference at the University of Amsterdam. We had not previously stayed in or explored this neighborhood, and were happy to have the chance to do so. I do think the location is slightly "peripheral" and for someone new to the city, it might be a bit of a learning experience to figure out locations of sights and the transportation system. However, it's really close to a lot, if not by walking then within a few tram stops. We would certainly recommend the place to anyone visiting Amsterdam who's the least bit adventurous and who doesn't need an on-site manager/concierge/owner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As charming as it gets, Imagine waking up in the morning to boats flowing past you with people waving out. Little Amstel is a charming charming boat-house in the centre of Amsterdam. Superbly done interiors, a good breakfast and a very polite nice lady who runs the boat-house. Internet is super-fast.

Some of the minuses are the following: It could be a little tough to find, but this is temporary owing to the area undergoing some development. I had some issues with there being no cutlery with my breakfast, a wrong lock-code and a Nespresso machine which wasn't working. The place is a little expensive but if you're in Amsterdam for a short while - its well worth it.

Room Tip: Take the Standard Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhirsyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

just stayed at the little amstel house boat for a week - had a fantastic stay
we stayed in the deluxe room - which was perfect
spacious, comfortable, and amazing views of the river amstel!
location is good - just a short tram ride to the centre of amsterdam yet the houseboat is situated in a peaceful area - best of both worlds

if you are travelling as a couple then i definitely recommend - we will be staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 442Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed on this beautiful houseboat beginning of May. We'd travelled with friends who have previously visited Amsterdam. Wonderful views, breakfast was outstanding. I enjoyed just looking out of the window at night, as you were going to sleep, watching the water. (And the ducks!!) Everything is im easy reach, and you can walk if you prefer. We would love to come back here, what a wonderful experience!! Charmaine and Simon UK

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles_H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the Basic Room. Very compact but there is everything you need. Mirjam was very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast sat outside in the sunshine. Breakfast included bread rolls, various spreads and juice. Coffee and tea is provided in the room. We used the coffee machine and it was very acceptable coffee.
The houseboat is situated in a quiet area but there is a tram stop 5 minutes away and there is also the metro about 10 minutes. We purchased a 72 hour GVB ticket that is valid on the trams and metro (I think the buses also) and we managed to get around fine.
Friends stayed in the corner Standard Room and seemed to love it. They enjoyed waking up and seeing the view across the river.
This was my first time on a house boat and I would definately repeat the experience.

Room Tip: Corner Standard Room has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizskippyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 343 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Angeline
Hotelboat Angeline
#22 of 343 in Amsterdam
96 reviews
Centrum
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#97 of 343 in Amsterdam
45 reviews
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#75 of 343 in Amsterdam
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houseboat Little Amstel

Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houseboat Little Amstel is situated along the Amstel River, in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The boat offers two rooms, the Basic-room and the Standard-room. Each room has it's own private entrance, en-suite bathroom and is suitable for maximum two persons, couples or singles. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay nice and easy. Luxurious beds, coffee- and tea making facilities, a fridge, a flatscreen TV, free WiFi, bluetooth speaker and a complete bathroom with towels and soap. Public transport is just around the corner, just as a lot of popular restaurants and bars. Its convenient location makes that all of Amsterdam's finest attractions and sights are within striking distance. For breakfast there are a number of nice spots very close to the houseboat and the bio supermarket sells fresh bread, croissants and jus d'orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing