We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houseboat Little Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houseboat Little Amstel
Ranked #34 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC Metro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

W spent three nights in the small room on Mirjam's houseboat and absolutely loved it. Although the room is small, it is very well designed & laid out to make you feel comfortable. THE VIEW!!... It makes breakfast so enjoyable...especially when the ducks come up and ask for some of the bread you were given at breakfast.

Location is great since it is in a quiet area, so it's not overly touristy but close to get you to everything in the city, and what a great city to stay in (especially on a houseboat). Would definitely come again and stay on the Little Amstel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffJackieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
102
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In those little rooms, we have a wonderful view on a one a the numerous river of Amsterdam. The location is good with metro or tramway stations and a big theatre with restaurants around.

The room itself is simply gorgeous. A little small but very well accomodated, it faces east and the sunrise. Having ducks and other birds a few meters from you while breafasting is great.

The breakfast itself, as long as the warm welcome and the availability of Mirjam made that experience a must-go for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have never stayed on a houseboat before and was pleasantly suprised to find how clean & cosy this place is. We were also extremely greatful for the central heating! We opted out of the breakfast each morning which meant we never got the chance to meet Mirjam; it was nice being left to our own devices but as we couldn't get one of the radiators to work and we ran out of toilet paper, we were disappointed when the mobile number let for us always went to voicemail. We would have appreciated a little more service but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was a wonderful stay. Mirjam is really kind.
The breakfast is great for two, it's almost a lunch.
To stay in a house boat it's an experience that we recomend to every couple that goes to Amsterdam. And the Little Amstel is a pretty house boat, with all comfort of a good hotel, privacy and the sight of Amstel river.
It's an experience that I'will never forget.
I hope that we can stay in Little Amstel again!

Room Tip: The first suite in the corner has a beautiful view. I recomend you to schedule first, because if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed from 16th Nov to the 18th, During this time Santa Claus or in amsterdam Sinterklaus arrives in amsterdam, its a big holiday there and as he comes up the river on a massive steamboat with his elves he passes by your window, which is not something you see everyday!! Mirjam even offered to take us along with her and her family on their boat to be part of the celebrations which goes above and beyond that of a B&B owner, Lovely breakfast and a really lovely stay x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Little Amstel from Oct 8/Oct 13 and didn't wanna leave :( there was something about little amstel that made us feel like home. The amazing view, great location and the awesome hospitality that Mirjam gave us made our stay really special. I used to get really excited every morning when our breakfast basket was brought to the bedroom and see was new and delicious items we would get and even got some bread left to feed the ducks. I would totally recommend Little Amstel and looking forward to stay there in our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iaz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed the houseboat. Our corner room was quiet small....but adequate. Clean bathroom, great beds and really good breakfast delivered each morning. We did walk from the train station....it was about a 20 mn walk with packs...and the directions weren't super clear....but we found it! It is really quiet considering all the surrounding construction. Lovely view!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ernst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#82 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Bed Breakfast Boat
Bed Breakfast Boat
#38 of 216 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houseboat under the Mill
#75 of 216 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#118 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Jordaan
Ark16
Ark16
#126 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houseboat Little Amstel

Property: Houseboat Little Amstel
Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houseboat Little Amstel is moored along the Amstel River, in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The boat offers two rooms, the Basic-room and the Standard-room. Each room has it's own private entrance, en-suite bathroom and is suitable for maximum two persons, couples or singles. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay nice and easy. Luxurious beds, coffee- and tea making facilities, a fridge, a flatscreen TV, free WiFi, bluetooth speaker and a complete bathroom with towels and soap. Public transport is just around the corner, just as a lot of popular restaurants and bars. Its convenient location makes that all of Amsterdam's finest attractions and sights are within striking distance. For breakfast there are a number of nice spots very close to the houseboat and the bio supermarket sells fresh bread, croissants and jus d'orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing