We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fab stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Houseboat Little Amstel
Ranked #49 of 332 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another fab stay”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed from 16th Nov to the 18th, During this time Santa Claus or in amsterdam Sinterklaus arrives in amsterdam, its a big holiday there and as he comes up the river on a massive steamboat with his elves he passes by your window, which is not something you see everyday!! Mirjam even offered to take us along with her and her family on their boat to be part of the celebrations which goes above and beyond that of a B&B owner, Lovely breakfast and a really lovely stay x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    39
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Little Amstel from Oct 8/Oct 13 and didn't wanna leave :( there was something about little amstel that made us feel like home. The amazing view, great location and the awesome hospitality that Mirjam gave us made our stay really special. I used to get really excited every morning when our breakfast basket was brought to the bedroom and see was new and delicious items we would get and even got some bread left to feed the ducks. I would totally recommend Little Amstel and looking forward to stay there in our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed the houseboat. Our corner room was quiet small....but adequate. Clean bathroom, great beds and really good breakfast delivered each morning. We did walk from the train station....it was about a 20 mn walk with packs...and the directions weren't super clear....but we found it! It is really quiet considering all the surrounding construction. Lovely view!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ernst-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Little Amstel is a great experience. We stayed 2 nights in the corner room of the houseboat which was a most tranquil retreat after sightseeing around Amsterdam.

Mirjam was a brilliant host, supplying us with a plentiful breakfast each morning, and was most helpful with advice on locations to visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woosha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you look for a special place for your stay in Amsterdam, Little Amstel is really great. It's a great atmosphere looking right to the water when you awake. The ducks came to share our breakfast in the morning. The room was small, but clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast war excellent inculding orange juice, croissants etc.My dauhgter and I enjoyed the personal contact with Mirjam und her flexibility bringing the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uta187412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the family room (largest room) of the Little Amstel houseboat in Amsterdam and it was such a unique experience! I've never even been on a houseboat before and when we arrived on Saturday afternoon it was great to see people passing by our houseboat for Saturday evening cocktails on their boats. Originally we had requested one of the smaller rooms, but since there was a double booking, Mirjam (the owner), gave us the Family Room for the same price, which was great. We had our own kitchen and we were able to cook in one night, which helped the budget.

I loved the modern feel of the apartment and it was very clean. It only had a full size bed, which was different for us since we are used to a King, but it was very comfortable. We had also signed up to rent two bikes from Mirjam, which was very fitting with Amsterdam since everyone rides bikes.

And here is where the one disappointing factor came in. We had arrived on Saturday around 4pm. Even though we had step by step instructions on how to get there by foot after getting off at the Metro stop, we still got lost trying to find the place. I think the problem was that the directions said the houseboat would be on the right side of the bridge, when it was actually on the left. Also upon arriving, there was no welcome note or map of the city or directions on how to access the bikes or wireless (internet was our only form of communication while there), or how we were going to get the breakfast promised with the place. Even though we paid to use the bikes, we weren't able to unlock them until the next day when Mirjam stopped by to bring us breakfast and the wireless code. It would have been very helpful for there to be some sort of instructions upon arriving. That was my only complaint - otherwise the place was great and within biking distance of any major attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a fantastic three night stay on the Little Amstel Houseboat.

We stayed in the corner room, which was light, clean, comfortable and had great views of the river. The room had everything you needed for a short city break.

Mirjam was very welcoming, and she brought us a great breakfast each morning.

We hired the bikes for a couple of days, which were perfect for getting around Amsterdam on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
The Guest-Houseboat
The Guest-Houseboat
#80 of 332 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
Minties
#64 of 332 in Amsterdam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Ark16
Ark16
#90 of 332 in Amsterdam
45 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Bed Breakfast Boat
Bed Breakfast Boat
#46 of 229 in Amsterdam
71 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 332 in Amsterdam
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houseboat Little Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houseboat Little Amstel

Property: Houseboat Little Amstel
Address: Amsteldijk 700, 1074 JH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houseboat Little Amstel is moored along the Amstel River, in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The boat offers two rooms, the Basic-room and the Standard-room. Each room has it's own private entrance, en-suite bathroom and is suitable for maximum two persons, couples or singles. Although the rooms are small, they are comfortable and equipped with everything you can think of to make your stay nice and easy. Luxurious beds, coffee- and tea making facilities, a fridge, a flatscreen TV, free WiFi, bluetooth speaker and a complete bathroom with towels and soap. Public transport is just around the corner, just as a lot of popular restaurants and bars. Its convenient location makes that all of Amsterdam's finest attractions and sights are within striking distance. For breakfast there are a number of nice spots very close to the houseboat and the bio supermarket sells fresh bread, croissants and jus d'orange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Houseboat Little Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing