We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #27 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Very conveniently located close to the museum area, rooms are pretty, clean, large and well furnished. We spent one night in Amsterdam and enjoyed the stay a lot. The staff is young and caring. I strongly recomend it expecially rooms on the upper floors.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Massimo A,

Dear,
We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL no.76.

It is also very nice to hear that you liked the service of our staff so much. Thank you very much for your great review on this website.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back when you are in Amsterdam again.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL76,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    319
    62
    18
    12
See reviews for
96
620
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is not Canal House, let's make sure that this is clear. However, the value is very good here. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and really go the extra mile to help you--and it seems genuine. The location is actually excellent--a welcome break from the crowds in the canal belt, yet just a few minutes away from the city center by tram (which stops 1 block from the hotel). Also, 1 block from Museumplein. Great garden in back. The price is excellent for Amsterdam. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badmash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear annusd66,

Thank you very much for the great review you wrote and that you gave us such a great score on Tripadvisor. Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our location in the museum district close to everything that you might need.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again when you plan to come back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Team Hotel JL No 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a find! Wonderful staff. Very cozy on a quiet street one block from Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh. All the tourist pleasures are here -- canal boats, bars, high end shopping -- but it's one block away down a quiet street. Honor bar offers beer, wine, cheese and desserts. Best place I've stayed in Amsterdam -- wish i could clone this in Paris and new York! Very comfortable staying here as a solo woman traveler

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G94549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear G94549,

We are very glad to hear that you find our hotel so cozy and wonderful, and we kindly thank you for sharing these impressions on TripAdvisor with a "five dot review".

What a great complement that you would like to clone our hotel in Paris and New York. We hope that we may welcome you back in our hotel when you are in Amsterdam again!

Best regards,

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The initial impression is of a very stylish hotel with helpful staff.
The room we had was similarly impressive with TV to watch from the Jacuzzi bath, decent sized shower and a balcony.
The hotel is excellently located for the museums and local park and has a good selection of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. It is also very close to tram stops to take you into the central areas in the city, railway station and close to the bus for the airport.
We would definitely return to the hotel and would certainly recommend it to friends

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titus_Twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear, Titus_Twinkle

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. And what a review it is, a "five dot review". We are very pleased that you like out hotel and our so much.

Also our location is something that we are very proud of and it is very nice to read that you also think that the hotel is excellently located.

Your kind recommendation is highly appreciated and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is as good, if not better than alot of hotels we have stayed in. the staff were so helpful, the location is perfect, right in the meusum area, a short walk to the tram stop and only 5min walk to the main bar and eating area. My wife doesnt drink milk and they even went out and bought soya milk for her. The room was very large and spotless clean, the room was quite and you could hear any of the other guest. Well recommened and thanks to the staff again.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for the Dueluz suite, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MScoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear MScoyne,

Thank you very much for your fantastic "5 dot review" on Tripadvisor! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this. Also it is good to hear that you liked our location in the museum district and our rooms of course.

We hope your wife liked the soya milk, and if you are planning to come back to Amsterdam we would be happy get some more soya milk for her!

Thank you for your lovely words on behalf of the staff.

Best regards,

The Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My father and I were traveling to Amsterdam on vacation and Hotel JL No76 suited our needs perfectly! The rooms were comfortable, not outrageously large but not too small either. The location couldn't have been better; Amsterdam is a fairly raucous city, especially on weekends, and being tucked back in a beautiful quiet street was a precious respite from the hustle and bustle. It is located close to a set of great museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum) and Vondelpark.

Likely the most notable feature of this hotel is the kindness and graciousness of the staff. Flexible and accommodating in many ways, I almost felt like I became friends with several of them as we were able to relax and watch a World Cup match (Holland beat Costa Rica!) and chat about a number of things.

Could not have been more pleased and I recommend Hotel JL No76 thoroughly!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Beck D,

First of all, we hope you had a save trip back to USA. We enjoyed it very much that you stayed with us!

We are absolutely delighted to read that you have had such a great stay at Hotel JL No 76 and thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on this website! We are very pleased with the "five dot rating" that you gave us.

When you planning to come back to Amsterdam we hope to welcome you back in Hotel JL No 76.

We wish you all the best.
Kind regards,

The Hotel JL 76 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Arrived a little early for check in to be offered rooms at another hotel (sister hotel but a long way from JL location) we were told this was due to a mix up with bookings. We booked through Expedia early in the year so was a little surprised.We declined the offer and ended up with two rooms, one on the ground floor next to the lift and stairs and one on the second floor in the same position. This meant quite a bit of noise from people using the small, hard floor stairs. Also lots of noise from the room above, so in hindsight I would request an upper floor room, not next to stairs. The room itself was fine, two single bed pushed together, did request a double but not a big issue that this request was not applied.
Location was really good and we enjoyed the walk into and back from the centre. Helpful staff on the reception, every question or request was dealt with and storage of our bags on our final day was a great help.

Room Tip: Upper floor/away from stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_VH, Hotel Team at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jack2902,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. We are very pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and our staff of course!

We are sorry to hear that you had quite a bit of noise from the stair and from the room above. But we can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and we are going to look in to this problem!

We would like to thank you for the "four dot rating" that you gave us.
When you are planning to visit Amsterdam again we hope that you think about the JL No 76 Hotel.

Best regards,
Team JL 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
818 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing