We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #30 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel JL is a nice, boutique hotel. Like many other boutique hotels I've found on TripAdvisor and stayed at, the building that houses this hotel was not built to be a hotel, but someone's very large home. Personally, I find that charming but I can see how some others may prefer larger rooms and in a 'proper' hotel building. Our room faced the street and we were lucky to get a room that wasn't near the staircase or the lift. After a trip to Dublin for a friend's wedding, we decided to stop by Amsterdam to check out a few museums. We stayed at JL for two, wonderful nights and am happy with it's location in the Musuemplein as we wanted to stay away from the Red-Light district and the tourist traps.

Although we were not able to rent the bicycles that JL provides, a bit of swift planning ahead will ensure there's one reserved for you the next day. The front desk ranged from being excellent one day to slightly abrasive/impatient the next (different staff). Not sure if we just caught the clerk on a bad day or what, but one bad encounter didn't sour the rest of our trip. We had a great time! Although the rooms were small, we found that it had everything we needed to rest and recharge. Will most likely return on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms that are away from the lift and staircase offer more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear NHYL,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. I am proud to learn you enjoyed the location and the warm boutique atmosphere of our hotel.

It surprises me that you experienced some of our staff to be impatient, since they are always most appreciated by our guests. I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel in order to improve this for a future stay!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    248
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
70
453
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very comfortable clean bedroom with spacious bathroom, hairdryer etc.
Nice quiet locality near museums with tram stop into town nearby.
Staff helpful.Will be returning to Amsterdam later this year and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review. It pleases us that you appreciate our rooms and bathroom so much, since we have chosen to offer the highest quality. All members of our team are motivated to deliver the highest possible service to our guests and I will make sure to share your positive feedback with them. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Hotel JL no 76.

Kind regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Someone lived at 76 Jan Luijkenstraat once upon a time. Someone wealthy, I would assume. And then that one went away and many years later a great big house got turned into a nifty boutique hotel; and what a hotel.

JL No. 76 is not a fancy hotel in the traditional sense of the word. There is no doorman, there is no fancy lobby. If that's what you're looking for, you need to look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a great location, and a excellent, well-designed, and handsomely appointed place to base yourself while in Amsterdam, you need to give this joint a look.

The rooms are very well set up, but not well, roomy. You wouldn't expect roomy in central Amsterdam. That said, they have everything and they even throw in a nice Nespresso machine and all the coffee capsules you can consume.

They also include very good WiFi, a great big plus. The beds are comfy, the desk is functional, the service is friendly and unstuffy, and the location (2 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum) cannot be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benja764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Benja764,

Thank you for your great review on this website. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! The location is indeed perfect for visiting Amsterdam and the museums. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our rooms with Nespresso machines & wifi that much. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope that we may welcome you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam next time.

Warm regards, Team Hotel JL no 76
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We found Hotel JL no76 in a fluk. Frankly, we made plans late in the season and many hotels were already booked. It was meant to be. JL No76 was delightful. The location was perfect, in an upscale residential neighborhood, right next to Vondelpark and the museums. Also, situated adjacent to 3 local schools that provided the delight of beautiful school children and their yuppy parents riding them to school on their bicycles. Often 3 children at a time along with the family dog. A site to be seen! Hotel JL No76 is beautifully decorated and has friendly employees. The room was gorgeous. Also the location was central, and perfectly distanced from tourist craziness. We walked everywhere. Loved Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear lwsimon,

Thank you very much for your nice words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel Hotel JL No 76! It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this! Also nice to hear you experienced ´the Dutch bicycle culture´ so close to our hotel:)

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Eline Postma - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found everyone was really friendly. Perfectly located for culture and 20 walk for more city centre delights. They found out it was my birthday and gave me a card and a bottle of wine. Nice touch. Good clean rooms, comfy beds and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollie_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and the time you took to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed you stay with us and highly recommend our staff member’s friendliness. It is good to hear you appreciated the little birthday gift.

Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had an excellent experience with Hotel JL no 76. As we arrived early, we were offered a room at their sister hotel, Hotel Vondel. This would have been an upgrade from a standard to executive room, but after seeing the room at Hotel Vondel we felt that JL had more character (though Vondel seemed lovely too!)
On our first night we were upgraded to an executive family room, which was lovely. On our second night we were upgraded to an executive deluxe room on the top floor - this was superb. We had wonderful views across the city and a huge bed. The jacuzzi bath and bathside tv were an added bonus!
Great location, close to Vondelpark and the museums. Also very easy to get to from the airport by bus- it only took us 40 minutes.
It was an absolute pleasure to stay here and I can't wait to return. My only slight quibble would be the bedding and towels - I think something of better quality would go a long way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you very much for choosing Hotel JL No 76 as your preferred place to stay for this visit! I am proud to learn you enjoyed your stay in the museum quarter of Amsterdam and that we were able to be a part of this. It is also very nice to hear that you appreciated the upgrade to the room with jacuzzi & tv in the bathroom. Regarding the towels: we are changing all our bathtowels this week for new & better ones, just to let you know we are busy with this! I will make sure your comments are shared throughout the hotel; since it serves as a great motivational tool for all of us!

We look forward to welcome you back in the hotel on your next trip.
Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We researched hotels in Amsterdam for a couple of months before booking this and as a result feel very disappointed with the treatment we were given.

Although we booked 4 months in advance I definitely felt that we were given the only room they had left when we checked in at 11pm. When I questioned if it was a 'superior deluxe' room they assured me it was, and as they were full we couldn't upgrade anyway. However by the time we returned from a few drinks out they had found a slightly better room, moved our luggage and offered us a drink from the bar as a way of apology.
The second room was located on the ground floor, underneath the stairs, (and not overlooking the street as described) it was really noisy from people using the stairs, the jacuzzi bath didn't work, the room was not serviced, no fresh towels offered, and no bath robes supplied.
Given all this we persevered and found the staff very helpful with arranging tickets and providing various information during our stay. In my opinion this is a 3/4 star hotel at best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DominicP722, Hotel Manager at Hotel JL No76, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences, your feedback is of the outmost important for me and for the team of Hotel JL No 76. My sincere apologies your stay was not what is should have been.

We tried to give you a more spacious room as you requested at check-in, but indeed this was a souterrain room with less view. Of course I will contacted different departments to get to know exactly what happened with the towels & bathrobes, and most important, make sure this never happens again. Did you also asked for our help with the jacuzzi? We would have been more than happy to explain you how it works.

I do hope that you will give us a second chance to prove we can deliver the service that you may expect from us. Please let me know when you’re in Amsterdam again, I’ll make sure we will provide a nice room for you. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any service.

Best regards,
Eline Postma – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#20 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#70 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#64 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing