We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stylish and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Stylish and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had booked a 1 night stay for €110, which seemed pretty good value by Amsterdam standards. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to an executive room on the 2nd floor for €140 including breakfast which we accepted, The executive room wasn't especially large (few things are in Amsterdam!) but was cleverly designed and equipped with a Nespresso, jacuzzi and tv in the bathroom, Breakfast was good with bread fresh from the oven and a good spread of other items, We took an early night and enjoyed a (very reasonably priced) last drink in the hotel - it felt like being left alone in the very nice house of a friend:-) The staff were helpful, though I never got the WiFi working correctly on my iPhone:-(.

The location was good: on a quiet elegant street tucked in between the 3 big museums and the upscale shops of PC Hoofstraat. Trams will take you most other places and the 197 bus goes directly to Schiphol airport.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are nice and bright but still quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    253
    49
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
468
39
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location is at a quiet street in the museum area, it is 5 minutes by walking from the hotel to Van gogh museum. Generally speaking, the room is clean and modern. I am not sure whether the holiday season caused the high price(over 200 Euro per night), and then low value of the budget hotel, because basically the everything in this hotel is compact rather than a design hotel claimed on the booking introduction. But if you can get a reasonable price, the hotel will be a perfect stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Take the tram No 2or No5from the train station to the museum area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over the marathon weekend. We booked an executive room and were initially given a room in the basement. The room itself was nice enough but the floor felt like the service area of the hotel and there was no view at all so we asked to move. For a small fee we upgraded to an executive deluxe room on the 3rd floor which was lovely. Lots of storage space, Nespresso machine, kettle, safe, hairdryer, and the bathroom had a deep jacuzzi bath with tv and separate rain shower. What let the room down however was the bed which was too firm for us, and the foam filled lumpy pillows and polyester filled duvet seemed surprisingly cheap given the quality of the rest of the hotel.

The location of the hotel was great, within walking distance to museums, shops, the canals and Vondelpark but on a quiet street which was a nice retreat at the end of a busy day's sightseeing.

The hotel has bikes and a moped for hire and is within walking distance to buses and trams. We got a taxi from the airport to the hotel which cost €45, but when we realised how close the airport bus stop (no. 197) was to the hotel we took the bus back at a cost of €4 each and it took the same time so would recommend doing that.

The reception staff were incredibly helpful and helped to make our stay really enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Loved the staff! So kind and helpful in every way. The hotel is placed in a very nice area, with short walk to Vondel, Gogh, Reijks and expensive shopping street-Room high up, facing the backyard. Room was great. Everything we needed and really comfy bed.

Loved the breakfast and breakfast area. Enjoyed Amsterdam by feet. Lots of walking to different "want-to-see" in Amsterdam. And the hotel was a great place to come "home" to late in the evening. We enjoyed it and recommend it :)

Jørn and Hilde

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 682Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This boutique hotel is in a great location as the quiet little road its on is just a stones throw from the Museumplein. Also quite a few restaurants in easy reach. Its also parallel to P C Hoofstraat, which is THE shopping street if you want all the big labels - nice to window shop anyway!
Amsterdam is easy to walk round so there's not much need for public transport but buses and trams are all close, and the hotel has bikes for hire.
Breakfast is hot and cold buffet, with excellent selection. Omelettes and pancakes made to order.
Staff were all helpful, and as with everyone in Amsterdam, all spoke excellent English. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner, but it looked nice.
Rooms are a decent size and well appointed with coffee machine as well as kettle. Ipod docking station and dvd player. Lots of storage and towelling robes. We were offered an upgrade for 20 euros on arrival, we refused and really the basic room was everything you would need.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Any, really -just book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I think it would make sense to rate this hotel based on its price. I booked the hotel on booking dot come for about 129 euros. At that rate, I would give it 4 stars. However, I don't think that is that average rate of the hotel -- and therefore, it loses one star.

Location: on a street parallel to pc hooftstraat (where all the designer shops are: chanel, valentino, etc). Also about a 7 to 10 minute stroll to shops like h&m.

Bed: other reviewers have mentioned an unbelievable comfortable bed. For me, it was good but not great.

Room: got a room in the basement -- which was a shame. I could hear footsteps and people banging their car doors shut at night and early in the morning. It didn't create a relaxing atmosphere.

One thing weird was the height of everything. I'm 5'5" (165 cm) and the mirror in front of the sink was placed so high I could only see the top half of my face. Also the peephole to see who is knocking -- I couldn't look through because it was above my head.

Ambiance: was just okay. The pictures on the website make it look brand new. The room and bathroom was a little worn.

Service/Amenities: I only interacted with the check in staff. I had trouble connecting to the internet with the Internet code she gave me. Also, there is only one elevator -- and the 17 hours I was checked into the hotel -- the elevator was locked twice. Couldn't use it and had to wait or walk the stairs. Felt a little unsafe.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. It's not a hotel I would say you must stay at. Although at a discounted rate, it's okay.

Room Tip: Do not get room in basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodietree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We made the decision to stay here from other reviews so many things we'd like to say have been covered so here are the things we'd like to share.

To get to the hotel from Schiphol airport we took the #197 bus and got off at the Rijksmuseum. From there it's just a short two block walk to the hotel. Cost for 3 people 12 euro and took about 30 minutes.

The hotel was on a nice quiet street that was much appreciated after spending the day in the busy part of town.

We enjoyed walking a few blocks to Vondelpark for our morning run.

We didn't have the breakfast at the hotel during our stay. We walked over to the bakery just around the corner on Van Baerlestraat for a quick meal before heading out for the day.

The rooms were nice and modern, which is what we like. The bathroom included a rain shower and television set inside the wall by the tub.

We had a very enjoyable stay and would stay here again or recommend to anyone else going.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#55 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#26 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing