We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel JL No76

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel JL No76
Ranked #32 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

JL 76 is a very nice boutique hotel (approx. 50 rooms) in the museum district of Amsterdam, therefore not in the busy center, but not far (walking distance or tramway).

The only problem we had was that the room that was given to us in the first place was basically ..in the basement. Therefore : only a small window at the ground level, with no view, impossible to see the sky. We were very unhappy and asked to have another room. The staff felt sorry for us, but couldn't do anything as the hotel was fully booked. However, the promised to give us another room the day after for our 2nd night. We just had to pack our luggage and leave it in the room in the morning, it would be transferred by them to our new room. Which was done: we had a room on the highest floor and even had a free bottle of white wine with a handwritten apology note.

For me, service is the most precious point in luxury, and the way they dealt with all this was perfect.

Otherwise, the hotel is very nicely decorated, the bed is comfortable, the bathrooms are nice, the breakfast is very good (buffet + possibility to order a lot of other meals for free).

I just think that no hotel of that level and price should have rooms in at the -1 level...
that's why my mark is 4/5 and not 5.

Many thanks to the staff if they read this note !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    272
    57
    17
    11
See reviews for
76
508
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I spend a very enjoyable 7 days at the JL 76 in early March. I was immediately impressed with the decor and the modern conveniences of this remodeled old building. Very cool. I booked an Executive Room (as it was all that was available). It had everything I needed for my week stay.

The room I was given was on floor 2 and faced the back of the hotel. It was very quiet and I never heard another guest during my entire stay, although I know the hotel was quite booked.
The bed and bedding were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a fantastic overhead rain shower head that really felt great. I found everything I needed as both a business traveler and a vacationer. In room safe, coffee maker, two tv's, great wifi internet.

It should noted that the staff at the JL 76 is extremely friendly and helpful. Anytime I had questions or required assistance. The front desk was more like a concierge desk. Outstanding!

Two other fantastic options with this hotel. First the honor bar. It is a small area that let's you come in and relax with a drink anytime. This was incredibly convenient with the odd hours I was keeping during this trip. This was a major plus.

Also, the small restaurant made the most incredible pancakes (and other items) in the morning. Lots of different options, my favorite were the banana pancakes! The food was top notch. I didn't try for any other meals but ate a wonderful breakfast here every morning I stayed. Look for packages that include breakfast for additional savings.

Overall, I'm going back to the JL 76. In fact, I have a trip booked next month (April) and I'm staying another week at this fantastic home away from home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_S_Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very friendly and competent staff, beautiful room, comfy bed, thoroughly enjoyed the bathtub with tv!
The only reason I am not giving an excellent is that one of the 3 nights there was no hot water.
Will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HildeSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this easily accesible hotel. If you like small intimate & out of the hustle but within easy walking distance of all attractions this is for you.Used Avios points which made this very affordable with excellent breakfasts.
Bus no 197 takes you close to the hotel from the airport & @ 8euros for 2 is far cheaper than the hotel shuttle bus or a taxi just ask @ info desk @ Schipnol they are very helpful.
Beds are extremely comfortable & although room 102 was small it was very functional with flat screen TV ,Nespresso coffee & selection of premium tea
Vondel park & Van Gogh museum on the door step together with designer shops.Staff very helpful if you need any info or refills for room

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

1- I request to stay in good view room but my room was at -1 floor!!! and no view!!!

2- I made my reservation early but when i check out hotel tries to take regular price which is 40 euro different than my reservation!!!

3- We want to rent hotel bike; first day we asked price to the reception boy and decided to postpone. second day we still want to try and asked the price again but it was %50 above than the previous day!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cihat173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We found this hotel via i-escapes website and liked the look of it as was near museums and good transport links back into main central part of Amsterdam. The room was lovely - with a view out to the street, tv in bathroom, comfortable bed.. couldn't fault it. Service was very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were great with lots of different options to have. The hotel was modern but comfortable and very good value. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay in the same hotel next time we visit - we only had a short trip of 2 nights booked, but keen to go back sooner rather than later. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor, overlooking street out front. It was quiet even with windows open at night. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 3 days at this hotel and found it to be very comfortable, breakfast was excellant, and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend this Hotel to everyone, as it is clost to everything and near to bus stops and tram stopes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneB446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#88 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JL No76? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JL No76

Property: Hotel JL No76
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 76, 1071 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JL No76 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel JL No76 is located in two 18th-century mansions in the heart of Amsterdam, right in the middle of the museum & fashion district. Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Concert Hall and its two sister hotels, Hotel Vondel and Hotel Roemer are a stone's throw away. Hotel JL No76 has 39 luxurious rooms, a lounge, honesty bar, restaurant and a private inner garden. The honesty bar allows guests to make or serve a drink or bite at any convenient time. The hotel is decorated in boutique style with the use of high quality materials and has a large collection of art on display. Barbara Broekman, a well-known Dutch artist, has designed a special range of wallpaper for each of the 39 rooms. This wallpaper is based on details enlargement of originally embroidered artworks. The rooms are decorated in 5 ambiances and are equipped with modern facilities like free use of iPad, wireless internet, iPod dock station, Nespresso coffee machine, Flat Screen TV, DVD player and DVD library. All executive rooms have a Jacuzzi with built-in TVs. The comfortable COCO-MAT beds in all rooms ensure a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel JL No76 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing