We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The "Mother" of All Stroopwafels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanskroon

Lanskroon
Ranked #6 of 39 Bakeries in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
299 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“The "Mother" of All Stroopwafels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The honey stroopwafel at Lanskroon is in a class by itself. Bearing only the slightest resemblance to all of the store-bought stroopwafels i had eaten in the past, this confection is two freshly baked, thin cookies with a honey filling. Simple? Yes, but the execution was superb. On a cold, early winter's day, the stroopwafel with a hot cup of coffee was a real treat. One member of our party had a slice of a berry pie/tart and it was also excellent - especially with heavy cream/schlag sahne. The bakery is small, but the staff is friendly and efficient and turn-over of tables is rapid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    59
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stroopwafel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was recommended that we try stroopwafel and came across this bakery when wandering along the canals. I had a huge mug of hot chocolate and a honey stroopwafel. Both were mighty delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Level Contributor
447 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Delicious....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely small bakery with friendly service.
Had a great breakfast.Loved the cinnamon croissants.
Tried to return but was always full.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angelo65Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcome respite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

What's better on a rainy, chilly day exploring Amsterdam than a warm, cozy bakery filled with friendly people, hot coffee, and tasty baked goods with a history? Yeah...I can't think of anything either. Luck guided me past Lanskroon on a four hour layover at Schiphol. The pastries are beautiful and equally tasty, the coffee is fresh, and the people-watching is delightful.

Thank you for sharing your hospitality with me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JadaJoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Chocolate cream cookies to die for! Plus, cats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

First of all, there was a cat in this bakery, just sitting on a chair being adorable. Only minutes after we arrived, a black cat came strolling up the street right into the bakery and onto another chair. Seemed very popular with the cats, and that was just fine by me since I'm an animal lover. MY boyfriend and I stopped in for a quick snack and ordered a chocolate cream cookie (I think that's what it was called) to share. It was SO GOOD, we had to order a second. It didn't look like much, but man it was heavenly. I would 100% recommend this place and I want to go back so bad. I would travel to Amsterdam purely for another cookie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melissarose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanskroon also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lanskroon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing