We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Still the best place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Ranked #38 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Montreal
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still the best place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you want to stay outside of the tourist crowds, this is the best place to stay. Access to the tourist area is very easy by the nearby tramway. This place is exceptional (clean, quiet, etc.). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden room gives easy access to a nice little garden where you can sit down and enjoy a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YUL_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Prince Henry is the perfect accommodation for those who like to experience all that Amsterdam has to offer but like to stay away from the hustle and bustle in a very quiet, up-scale neighbourhood. It is located beside Vondelpark and it is easy to walk or take tram #2 (it runs every 10 minutes) into town. Joop and Petra are extremely accomodating, fantastic hosts. The breakfasts are amazing - don't skip them! The treats that Petra left out every day were also very much appreciated. The wifi was also excellent. Our ground floor suite with the garden area was perfect for our family of four. I would highly recommend it and would absolutely stay here next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Executive garden on the main floor has its own large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154933Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

With it being such a brilliant place, I'm not too sure where to start... I could begin with telling you just how amazing the home cooked and baked breakfast is, about how great it is to start you day in such a relaxing manner (it is delivered to your room at the time you require) and about the quality of every ingredient. I could start by telling you about the hosts, Joop and Petra; they have thought of everything to make your stay as smooth and as enjoyable as possible. I could tell you about how accommodating they are. We travelled with our 5 month old boy and they could not do enough to ensure all of our happiness - providing baby baths, sterilizers and even his own breakfast.

I could, of course, start by telling you about those little touches that make the big difference. Quality toiletries in the bathroom, beautifully furnished rooms, coffee machine in the room, a 24 hour 'honesty bar' for cold drinks ( the cava comes highly recommended!) , the continual supply of free snacks, or even the home made baking that would regularly appear! I could start by telling you any of this.

I could start by telling you about the lovely area the suites are in. A delightful park a minutes walk away, quiet at night with a tram stop a 2 minute walk away to take you into the centre of Amsterdam.

However, I think I will actually start by explaining just how kind and thoughtful Joop and Petra were to us. A change in our circumstances meant we had to cancel our initial trip and change dates. They were incredibly kind and considerate and did all they could to accommodate us.
Simply, this place could not come more highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Udith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Traveling in a unfamiliar country is sometimes stressful, especially when choosing your living quarters. From the time we checked in to checked out, Joop and Petra made sure we were taken care of. We had to change our travel plans and they were very accommodating, allowing us to stay another night. We always looked forward to our morning breakfast which was left outside our door and having snacks were available. The location is safe and relaxing as you stroll through the Vondelpark or choose to take the tram #2, which is a short distance away. I would recommend this B&B to family or friends. We have shared our experience with our travel agent for future travelers to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great hotel comfortable rooms right in the centre of the city.great big rooms. Fantastic breakfast. A good base from which to explore the city. Prices reasonable good fast wifi. We really enjoyed our stay and would happily visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are, of course, very much flattered by this review but we would like to point out that where we are located ('old-south' Vondelpark Area) is not technically the center of town, that is the historical city with the canals. A twenty minute walk through the Vondelpark or a 10 minute tram ride will take you there. If you like to have a quiet nights' sleep to be better prepared the next day for what Amsterdam has to offer nearby, we might be the place for you. If you want to be in the thick of it all you might find the location (and maybe even ourselves!) a bit dull. We want to be a hide-out for people looking for privacy and calm amidst the hustle and bustle of a very dynamic city.
Joop & Petra, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canning, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It is a very quiet hotel with beautiful huge rooms, located next to the Vondelpark at a residential zone. The service is excellent. Petra´s breakfast is delicious and Joop´s hospitality is great. I strongly recommend it.

Transportation to Amsterdam center is very simple using the tram #2.

Room Tip: Don't miss the home made breakfast !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisRF2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Really lovely room, beautiful bathroom. Petra and Joop (the owners) made us feel very welcome, and even offered up free cake/ chocolates depending on what was going that day. It's about 1 minute walk from the number 2 tram (into the centre), roughly 10-15 min walk to Van Gogh museum. About 1 minute from Vondelpark - highly recommend a walk around there. I booked after seeing 5 star review, can understand why. Just one point - because it's suites over 3 floors, you can sometimes hear movement from upstairs residents. However, that is just what happens in apartments, and in no way disrupted sleep or comfort! The centre and red light district can be really tacky, so I Really highly recommended to see beautiful side of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#268 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#84 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
#45 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Vondelpark
Citypark Apartment Suites
Citypark Apartment Suites
#146 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Property: Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing