We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Ranked #49 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Prince Henry was referred to me by two trusted friends, and it is easy to see why. The Prince Henry is an old brownstone in a refined part of Amsterdam (think: Upper East Side of Manhattan). The location is steps from the tram, and walking distance from good food, shops, and the major museums. The owners - Petra and Joop - are lovely people who live on the top floor of the property, and take great pride in building, as it is their home as well as their business. They are cordial, helpful but non-intrusive, and maintain and spotless environment. I would definitely stay here again.

Hint - travel off-season! Shorter lines, more peaceful experience. But bring a warm raincoat with a hood!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aclstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Arriving from Atlanta the Prince Henry was a terrific place to stay for my wife and me. We had the downstairs "executive suite", a large, comfortable, and airy room with a private courtyard and huge bath area with separate tub and showers. Very comfortable, and quite near the tram stop, making it a great base of operations for your visit to Amsterdam. Located very near Vondelpark, you will be happy to be in a very upscale area out of the most congested part of the city, but only a few minutes from museums, restaurants and shops, and only a few minutes more to the heart of the city.

Our hosts, Joop and Petra, were friendly and very helpful, pointing out nearby restaurants and attractions. Petra's breakfast was one of the best we had on our entire European trip.

This is a wonderful B&B. I don't believe you could do better in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelAck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Prince Henry from October 4-6th. I was traveling alone and stayed in the Loft on the top floor. What a charming, elegant and beautiful inn! Don't look any further if you're reading this review, and make a reservation. It is a delightful inn with wonderful owners. True, it is a bit "far" from the typical, touristy parts of town, but "far" is a relative word. The gorgeous Vondelpark is a wonderful setting for walking to other areas, and the Number 2 tram stops minutes up the road. The Loft was extremely spacious, especially for a European accommodation and it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and clean, as well, with very modern amenities. I am glad I got to experience (albeit, for 36 hours) this part of Amsterdam, as I had been there once before (in 1999) and only saw the Red Light District and Centraal Station areas. The Prince Henry is situated in what seems to be quite an upscale area, and the two nights I was there, I walked back in the darkness and never felt unsafe. Petra and Joop are very welcoming and my gosh, the home-made food is incredible. They really make you feel like you're part of the house. They are so helpful and also aren't intrusive whatsoever. The perfect balance of accommodating and hands-off (if that makes sense). Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did. I plan to be back in Amsterdam and will definitely check first with the Prince Henry for availability before looking anywhere else!

Room Tip: The Loft was a perfect location for a solo traveler - lots of privacy and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent B& B in quite area near Vondelpark and tram stops, convenient for the major museums. Very welcoming and high standard of food from profeessional caterer. Hosts had good recommendations for restaurants in the vicinity and were very helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Prince Henry was a delightful stop for us, just off the red-eye from Los Angeles. Everything about the place and their people was great - we looked out on a quiet street, the furnishings were elegant in a generous-sized room, the bathroom was super up-to-date (best we enjoyed during several weeks in NL, France and Italy), the location allowed us a pleasant walk to the museum district. We had to catch an early train the next morning, so the staff set up a cab for us and packed breakfasts for us as well! Plus, there was active communication back and forth before our visit, and on site. Joop & Petra put a lot of positive energy into us, even though it was only a one-night stay - would that every B&B/hotel was as great as this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

"Amsterdam is prettier than Paris," said our 4-yr old son when we opened the French doors to the garden at the Prince Henry.

Breakfast every morning on the patio was the highlight of our 4-night stay in Amsterdam. Petra kindly prepared breakfast to-go for our early morning departure on the final day.

Conveniently located in a lovely neighborhood next to the Vondelpark. And nearby Williemspark Way is lined with chic restaurants and cafes.

We would have taken the tram more often if everything was not so walkable in Amsterdam.

Highly recommended for a special stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Married_w_toddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful B&B with our 2 young daughters, and cannot recommend it highly enough. Petra is a host beyond compare, and makes the experience so home like. Our daughters didn't want to leave Amsterdam! From the beginning, Petra ensured we got the best room suited to our needs (the executive suites on the ground floor, which had an outdoor area for our girls to play), made sumptuous breakfasts, such as pancakes for our fussy little misses (complete with smiley faces) and fruit pots with jaunty umbrellas. Moreover, she bought color pencils for our girls to draw, took them on a walk with her so they could play with Bubbels (her dog) and on top of all that, packed us a full breakfast to take with us to the airport. We were touched beyond words. Petra had also arranged a wonderful young lady to babysit our girls, so we could take full advantage of the nightlife Amsterdam has to offer. The location is also excellent -- close to Vondelpark, but just a short tram ride away from the tourist areas and museums. The room itself was large, spotlessly clean. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If traveling with young children, and/or have heavy bags, request the ground floor executive suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harriedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#272 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#119 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#66 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#7 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Property: Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 224 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing