We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 Star B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Ranked #43 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Ocala, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5 Star B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have spent time in some of the best hotels & B&B's in the US & Europe. We can not say enough good things about Petra & Joop & their home. Unless it were in a houseboat on the Herengraacht, we would not consider staying anywhere else.The executive garden apartment is spacious & well appointed. Although the weather did not allow us to use the garden seating area, it did give one the sense of much more space.

The neighborhood is a wonderful collection of late 1800's homes & apartments, close to the #2 tram which will quickly get you downtown & the Vondelpark if you want to get your exercise & walk to the museums. We walked to the Jordan in less than 1 hr. When in Amsterdam....

There are good restaurants nearby, such as Bond, Cafe Grand Willempark, or Blauw. Why stay in downtown Amsterdam?

But the real reason for staying in a B&B is to be closer to the people. You will not find & more caring, friendly, or entertaining family than Petra & Joop. Silk plants & flowers? We had fresh tulips, the reason we went to Holland in April!

We have 2 wishes: 1.) the Petra & Joop continue to receive the Tripadvisor Travellers Choice award which they deserve: 2.) that they open up a southern branch in France.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrm128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
77
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the loft in April and we couldn't have had a better stay. The room was perfect and they had thought of everything you could possibly need. Petra was a great hostess and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriawatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the Prince Henry and are very happy that we stayed there. It was clean & comfortable with a good bathroom, it was everything that we needed. It was a little further out than was ideal so we used trams for travel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in the garden suite for 4 nights on a recent trip. This accommodation was the highlight of our all the places we stayed. Very friendly and helpful owners. Spacious and relaxing room and brilliant bathroom. The breakfast was superb indeed. As for location, there are some excellent restaurants to choose from within a 5-10min easy stroll from here. Tram very close and the walk through the Vondelpark into the city is a delight and we think a better option to start and end the day exploring Amsterdam. We would not hesitate to recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clippedwings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Perfect, discreet, professional, high-quality service. Breakfast and drinks spot on. Warm welcome from owners, Joop and Petra. High standard and tasteful decor. Spacious, comfortable room with excellent facilities. Perfect cross between up-market self-catering apartment, elite Bed & Breakfast, and mid-range hotel, representing excellent value for money. Fantastic elegant residence in excellent attractive residential location, not far from the centre of town. Walking distance of the Van Gogh Museum, Riks Museum and Leidesplein - easy reach of the RAI. Very close to regular, convenient, tram connection to town centre & main railway station. Can't recommend highly enough. Owners are perfect hosts, providing useful information and local knowledge on what to do, where to go and where to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed it very much. The home is located in a quiet neighborhood but is convenient to the tram which allows you to go anywhere in Amsterdam. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic and well presented. We would return here if we ever return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendriklaan, Owner at Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
This guest has been staying a number of times in the suite qualified by other visitors as 'reasonably good', and we thank him for his review which is based on several visits. We already communicated to the reviewer of 'reasonably good etc.' that there IS floor heating, but maybe the system is a tad complicated. However, what kept intriguing us was the matter of the problematic i-Pod connection. Turns out that these machines have some sort of universal connection to provide for the different types of i-pod launched by Apple and that the owners of the i-pad get a little gizmo with their machine that would fit on this adapter. In order to assist our customers we will now command a truckload of the gizmo's (:- so that they can indeed use their i-phone and i-pod on our machines, because that is what they were made for.
Petra van Niftrik & Joop Klinkhamer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gruenwald, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is just a perfect place to stay. The room was bigger than expected, so was the bathroom. Our room had a small patio with a table and chairs which was perfect for the kids to run around. I pay a lot of attention to details when it comes to hotels and I have to say our room was extremely clean, well decorated, the beds were very comfortable and the ipod docking station is very thoughtful! The breakfast was plenty and delicious. We had to leave early in the morning and Petra not only made our breakfast earlier than usual, but she also packed food for us to take. Very nice hosts. I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#268 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#92 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
B&B Petit Paris
#122 of 221 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#8 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens

Property: Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens
Address: Prins Hendriklaan 8, 1075 BB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Henry, Private Suites and Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed spacious (30m2-40m2) non-smoking Suites with designer bathrooms in the luxury residential Vondelpark (Amsterdam-Zuid) area. Strategically located between the PC Hooftstraat fashion shops (Prada, Dior, Vuiton Chanel...0, The main museums, but still only a 15 minutes walk from the 'Leidseplein' where the old city begins. Excellent hide out for lovers, especially if they love art and culture; walk to your favorite museum and the Concertgebouw. We have two suites with an extra sofa bed. (Excutive and Apartment suite). The area has plenty of excellent restaurants, brasseries, bars and so on. We provide you with information about these. We make a delicious breakfast for you. (€ 14,50 P.P) In the morning we will prepare this with fresh orange juice, freshly made fruit salad, ham and cheese and homemade confiture (jams) from our property in France. (Petra is a chef and a caterer). We have a special little oven for our rolls and croissants. And we bake gluten free and low carb bread ourselves. At the desired hour (from 8 o'clock onwards), she will put it on a tray outside your door. For the early morning hours she will prepare you something the night before, which you can also take along with you to the airport. We don't knock on doors (except for housekeeping between 12.00 And 15.00 Hours) so you are not going to be disturbed. Our home is your castle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing