We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tasty food at a really keen price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lalla Rookh

Lalla Rookh
Ranked #1,549 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Suriname restaurant
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tasty food at a really keen price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a great find, this restaurant looks nothing from the outside but the food is great, the meal is in Dutch but the waitress easily translated it for us. The food comes with a roti with lots of variation in meats .. watch out some of them are very hot !! ... they also give you hot sauce on the side if you are brave enough. We ordered a bottle of wine with the meal which the waitress kept in her fridge as they don't do ice buckets. a word of warning, they do close early so don't expect to get in if you arrive after 1030.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious surinamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't go to lalla rookh if you're expecting starched tablecloths and sparkling glassware. It's a homely cafe serving delicious authentic surinamese food at cafe prices. We had traditional roti, with lamb and chicken. We sat outside on the pavement which was very pleasant indeed as it was a warm evening. To be recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Found this gem thanks to TA reviews whilst staying at a hotel around the corner. I've never had this South American cuisine before, but the food was fantastic and great value! I found it quite similar to some Indian/Sri Lankan food I've had before. I had the goat roti too, might be a little spicy for some, but gorgeous! As others have mentioned it is small; we did get seated right away, but it might be worth making a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank romeshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Far from the tourist track, small, not easy to notice, but the cooking is very good, the prices fair, and the young lady serving tabels is ready to help those who are not familiar with Asian cuisine. Only problem for non-dutch customers: as practically everywhere, not only is there no tablecloth (not even a paper one) but the tables are a bit sticky and greasy. Why not give a quick swish with a sponge and detergent, from time to time ?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank silviaNovara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Quite a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stumbled on this retaurant when walking back to our hotel from Muiderpoort station. Was full of people so thought that was good sign, as it proved to be. Only seats small number of people so it's quite cosy and only one person serves on so have to wait for your turn when it's busy. Having said that, service was excellent. Menu all in Dutch so needed guidance and we had a lamb and a chicken goti (you could have a mixture if you wanted). Food was very nice and was the most reasonably priced out of all the restaurants we used in Amsterdam (the groot option is more than a man-sized meal!). Overall we would recommend as a nice and good value place to eat, but it is a bit out of the centre.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalla Rookh also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lalla Rookh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing