We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria La Piazza

Pizzeria La Piazza
Ranked #2,934 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely little place just at the side of the Royal Palace. We sat upstairs, staff were friendly and efficient. I had a mushroom pizza, which was delicious (E9.50) & my partner had Spaghetti Bolognese (E11). We shared a litre of red wine which was E18. Would return & recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheilz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    61
    50
    27
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
225 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I ate lunch in this restourant.Completely Italian cuisine. Taste of food is not bad. But i am not very impressed. I like special vegetable soup .i should go there one . Classic , ordinary restaurant . love it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burak E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Avoid like a plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I broke my number one rule while travelling. I gave into hunger and went into what looked like a cosy restaurant. The price looked reasonable. However the food was appalling, I wish I could give it no stars. The garlic bread had a piece of cheese on it. Really!? My calamari and chips were huge, but the only taste I could discern was the salad. The chips tasted like cardboard, the battered calamari tasted like circular cardboard. If you blindfold me I would not be able to tell you what the dish was. I absolutely hate wasting food, but could only eat half of it. I tried my partner's seafood spaghetti, and honestly ? I made much better pasta. At least I knew what al dente meant. The spaghetti was boiled to death and covered in a bland tomato sauce. It really spoiled my evening. I just wish I checked tripadvisor before I entered.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

After having a few nice beers in the area my colleagues and naturally started to feel hungry. Nearby, this place or a couple of Steakhouses. We decided to toss a coin. Unfortunately this place won.

Dreadful rushed meal. A tourist trap. Eaten some good and bad italian but this is the worst. Since when is bruschetta a bap sliced in two with a piece of tomato on top.

Like a previous review our mains (fresh from the microwave no doubt) came before we finished our starter but we just wanted out.

Waiters arrogant.

Avoid, there are much better places in this city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Minestrone don't make laugh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I happened upon this restaurant on our first night in Amsterdam. Big mistake for starter I ordered minestrone soup. Horrible watery gruel, no sign of tomatoes or pasta or basil which a good minestrone should have. Main course pizza was just OK although my wife thought it had too much cheese. Wine was poor quality poured from a large container into carafe. Absolute worst house white I have ever tasted. If you like Italian food avoid this place at all costs. Also didn't like the idea of a cat wandering freely around the restaurant. I don't think any of the staff have ever been to Italy. Used trip advisor the next two nights and had two fantastic meals. Be warned.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria La Piazza also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pizzeria La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing